We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really 5 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Savoy Hotel
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not really 5 star”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed at The Royal Savoy four weeks ago as a hotel guest in what seems a predominantly timeshare property. The timeshare suites seemed to be a better standard of the hotel rooms which at best would be described as four star. The hotels check in area is quite small, more akin to an apartment block and the staff less knowledgeable of any five star hotel I have been in. The daily newspaper ordered stopped after the first day and again had to be re-ordered receiving the same look up to the sky from the reception staff. Indeed, most requests for information were met with dumb looks and a search for someone who knew an answer. The Tour Operator guides were to be found, after a search, seven floors below reception on a table in a corridor, not at reception or even in the library. The hotel room itself was dated with a flat screen TV occupying the very large cabinet that had at sometime held a large older television. The door on the fridge would not close properly due to a bracket hanging off, the front of a drawer fell off and had to be hammered back on with a shoe, the soap/shampoo in the bathroom was of the wall dispenser type and the single block of soap at the bidet was used every day but never replaced in 7 days. The room, on arrival, had a kettle, tea bags and coffee sachets the latter two of which were never replaced for the whole week without a daily request. Most of the guests were mature which was surprising when the hotel is situated on a hill affectionately nicknamed by one guest as "heart attack hill", indeed it was the only road I have come across with handrails on the pavement. Breakfast was a quiet affair, most of the guests seemingly time sharers who did not appear and breakfast was never "ready" at the appointed starting time either the outside tables were not set or the lady who cooked the eggs had not appeared or both. The poolside snack bar was limited and expensive for what it was, with the external restaurants a better option. Evening entertainment was quiet and adequate for the clientele. The hotel is clean but somewhat dated and to describe it as "a five star hotel" is stretching it somewhat, perhaps the timeshares are this standard but the hotel overall is a fairly good four star hotel with service that often dipped to a three star or less level. Overall experience was disappointing. As a footnote, I spent some time in my career as a mystery guest for five star hotels and would be happy to be challenged by the hotel. At present Funchal harbour is a building site undergoing reconstruction which will not be completed until 2014 and most of the restaurants in the town itself are average.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 89Mikey89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    160
    47
    8
    10
See reviews for
154
426
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed one week in January 2013 Lovely views over the sea. Walking distance to town.
We went self catering but enjoyed hotel theme nights.Swimming pools warm even in January
Visit the spa brilliant massage.
Would return Brilliant

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0303VJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have stayed in Royal Savoy Funchal for two weeks now, and it is a real pleasure to be a guest. The good service in every level does the stay so good. The friendly and helpful staff in every level make us feel very welcome.
We choosed some days to make our meals in the room, and some days we used our meal voychers in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. The meals have very good options for every taste. So this hotel is certainly a hotel to come back to next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lemongstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

After checking in confirming my name and room number Istill had to wait 3hrs for my bags, only when I demanded to see the manager did the bags turn up, stil waiting for the manager!Provisions ordered weeks ago not delivered. Staff on the reception desk not realy interested about anything.Notices to tell you do not reserve sun beds or wear the hotel robes in public areas totally ignored. Standards are slipping but still a beautifull resort and Island

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Parky1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed for one week at the five-star Royal Savoy in a Presidential Suite on the top floor. Sumptuous barely begins to describe the surroundings.

The suite was immaculate; a large living-dining room, with a good-size kitchen attached and a cloakroom; the bedroom was generous and connected to the main bathroom via a walk-through wardrobe. Both bedroom and living room opened on to the large balcony which overlooked the hotel terrace, nine floors below, and, beyond that, the vastness of the Atlantic. The kitchen was well-equipped, although we didn’t use it much, eating out most of the time.

Free wi-fi was available in the lounge and on the terrace, and guest services were very useful for booking excursions and restaurants. Standards of housekeeping were excellent, and little details like the Easter egg provided for us on Easter Sunday showed thought and care.

The location was excellent, provided you were happy with a short walk (5-10 minutes) into the centre of town. We certainly didn’t feel any need to be closer than we were. As you would expect in this kind of hotel, room service and drinks at the bar were quite expensive compared to eating and drinking out on the island, but no more so than in similar five-star hotels.

Room Tip: We stayed in a presidential suite on the top floor of the hotel... when you come in to the hotel, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdanBdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed in a timeshare apartment which was one of the largest apartments we have ever stayed in. Probably too large for only 2 people in truth but very comfortable and well appointed. Excellent service at bars. Did not use the restaurant as because we are timeshare the cost was excessive when there are a myriad of excellent restaurants nearby. We would definitely recommend staying here. The interior is a little old school with the nearby Pestana chain being more modern in styling although I think more expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munro888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I find it very difficult to sum up just how bad the Royal Savoy, Funchal is, how ridiculously overpriced the rooms are, or how unfriendly and unprofessional the staff are.

We visit Madeira several times a year as my fiance's family are from the island, so we decided we wanted to get married in Funchal. Knowing a little about the top rated hotels on the island, we contacted the Royal Savoy hoping to get some information about whether they could host a reception.

Three emails and more than two weeks later, we stil had no reply from the Royal Savoy, yet managed to get replies from every single other hotel in Madeira we had contacted (including the top hotels on the island such as Reids Palace, Cliff Bay, Vidamar, Casa Velha etc.). As we were keen to explore all our options, we went to the expense of phoning the Royal Savoy from the UK, only to encounter an unbelievably rude and obnoxious young man who insisted absolutely no information could be provided in advance and we would have to visit the hotel directly if we wanted to discuss this. Apparently "that is not how it works in Madeira"!

Persevering, we did indeed visit the hotel directly on our recent visit to Madeira, only again to encounter an unbelievably unfriendly and unhelpful receptionist who, despite the hotel lobby being completely devoid of guests, insisted that all staff were far too busy to show us the facilities but, if we were so inclined, we could have a wander around the facilities.

So we did, and my God were they disappointing. The whole place feels like a mediocre package holiday resort without even the vaguest hint of the luxury you would expect from the Savoy brand.

The biggest joke of the whole thing is the price of the rooms... an absolute abomination especially when you compare them to the vastly superior rooms and far better value rooms available at the likes of the Cliff Bay, Reids Palace and Jardins Do Lago.

In summary, you would be absolutely MAD to stay here. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mark_d1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,709 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 87 in Funchal
2,146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
814 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Savoy Hotel

Property: Royal Savoy Hotel
Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy Hotel  is situated in a privileged oceanfront location overlooking the harbour of Funchal. The city's fascinating historic and cultural centre are close by. Funchal's Old Town district, the bustling Marina, beautiful city gardens, Municipal Theatre, city squares adored with outdoor cafes & esplanades, Shopping Centres, Museums and many more interesting places to visit are just a stone's throw away.  This Hotel offers 12 spacious standard rooms, 101 junior suites plus 59 superior suites with one or two bedrooms, each elegantly decorated providing the utmost quality and comfort whilst creating a unique exotic atmosphere. All rooms have an ample furnished balcony and enjoy magnificent ocean views. All junior suites have their own kitchenette, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, cable and interactive flat screen TV, DVD player, Internet, electronic room safe and a full bathroom with separate shower, hairdryer and bathrobes. The superior suites have 1 or 2 bedrooms, kitchen, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, interactive cable, flat screen TV, DVD surround sound system, electronic room safe and 2 or 3 bathrooms (master-bathroom equipped with bathtub and separate shower), hair dryer and bathrobes. All rooms have free internet wireless system. This stunning complex is architecturally designed to allow you to appreciate to the full extent the beautiful breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the wide variety of both on-site and off-site leisure facilities and entertainment services, including heated indoor pool; gymnasium; a luxury spa where you can enjoy the free use of the sauna, steam room and tropical shower; games room; hairdresser, free internet wireless system, fine a-la-carte and buffet restaurant, piano bar with nightly live musical entertainment and pool snack bar, 2 outdoor sea-water swimming pools (one heated), jacuzzi, and children's splash pool. We also feature a spacious sundeck and terrace coupled with shady and lush sub-tropical gardens, which are further adorned with a barbecue area, a short seaside promenade, fountains and water cascades, private sea access and outdoor games area - all providing maximum holiday ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Funchal
Savoy Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Funchal
Royal Savoy Resort Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing