We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Week of Madieran Comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Savoy Hotel
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Week of Madieran Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2008

My Wife and I stayed at the Royal Savoy Madiera for a week 16th /23rd June this year (2008) and, contrary to what some reviewers say we had a superbly enjoyable time. yes, it is a bit old fashioned I suppose but this added to its charm.It was a cnge to get away from the over hyped glitzy palaces tha some hotels like to portray. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, which is a olus in any hotel, the rooms were clean and comfortable with the linen and towells changed every day.The inside of the hotel was also clean and pleasant with loads of space to either wader around or just sit and relax. The outside with its swimming pools and beautifully landscaped gardens were a joy to unwind inBreakfast was excellent and large as I am sure that everyone staying at this hotel woll agree. It is a pity that the pool bar and library cafe closed at six oclock, leaving just the main restruant open for dinner but there were numerous places to go out for a meal all around where the hotel was. It is only a short walk in to Funchal town with pretty parks along the way,which makes the Royal Savoy the Ideal place to stay.

  • Liked — Geat room with super views
  • Disliked — everything was fine
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alfie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    158
    47
    8
    10
See reviews for
153
423
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

This was our second time at the Savoy Resort Hotel, we had stayed at the Classic Savoy about two years ago and used the facilities of the Royal Savoy. This time around we stayed at the Royal and were delighted with our choice.

We travelled with our 4 year old daughter and 9 month old baby girl, the accommodation was good and they provided us with a cot. The kitchenette was also very handy for sterilising bottles and making little snacks. All the staff were very good with regards to service and friendlyness. Word of warning - gentlemen must wear long trousers in the evening to be served around the bar area otherwise they will not serve you.

The swimming pools temperatures are rather odd, from warm to freezing, they are clean and there are plenty of sun loungers to choose from. No need to get them early.

We did find the hotel restaurants rather dull and not great value. We did however find a little restaurant called Casa Penha, which was worth the money. To get to it, use the garden exit from the Classic Savoy, turn right and it is next to a Irish Pub.

If you do want to wander into town, it is about a 10min walk down a steep hill which will lead you into the port, that is from the Royal Savoy exit. The Classic Savoy exit is much prettier and there are gardens you can wander into. La Dolce Vita is the new shopping mall in town.

All in all, a wonderful relaxing holiday and looking forward to going back. There was a lot of people going on tours with regards to buying timeshare, we never got asked or hassled in any way.

  • Liked — Accommodation and friendlyness of staff
  • Disliked — Temperature of the pools
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank montydogStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2008

We stayed here for £125 for the week on the condition that we attended a presentation by the Royal Savoy Vacation Club.

The studio rooms were spacious, well furnished and very comfortable. The bathroom had seperate shower / bath and was of a high standard. The balcony had good views of the pools and sea. The studio was definitely of a 5 star standard but I wouldn't pay the rack rate.

We found the pool facilities to be excellent and the staff throughout were helpful. The public areas are also very spacious, luxurious and comfortable with plenty of artwork on display. The restaurants were good but I would recommend using the local restaurants instead as they are more authentic, less formal, better value and have more atmosphere.

We had an excellent stay at the Royal Savoy but we weren't paying anything like the normal rates. This place exists so that it can sell through its Vacation Club. The presentation lasted 2 hours and wasn't too bad.They are looking to sell you 24 years worth of holiday accomodation. I can understand how some people would like the quality of accomodation and feeling of exclusivity.It could work if you like to holiday in the same resort every year. I am not that type of person and wouldn't pay for my next 24 years of holiday's up front !

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here but I would book a hotel that is committed to being a hotel if I was paying full price.

  • Liked — The spacious accomodation and public areas.
  • Disliked — Nothing at the price we paid !
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TimeTraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2007

We have recently returned from a week at the Royal Savoy and had great weather in the middle of November which I am told is unusual.

Our junior suite was very roomy, pleasantly decorated and with all the facilities you would wish for, including kitchenette etc. The cleaning etc was good, as you would expect. Outside the hotel, the idea of having three pools at different temperatures was interesting and seemed to work well, especially the indoor pool which was almost hot. The facilities were not overused and there was plenty of room.

Everything about the rest of the hotel was "OK" but with no great enthusiasm. There seemed to be something missing between the staff and the guests which made the whole thing a bit inpersonal and cold. This must have been particularly relevant to the small minority of people below the age of say 25 who must have thought they had wandered into a retirement home (as a retiree I can make that comment!)

The hotel is seen as a resort together with the linked Savoy "classic" hotel. Having walked through the "classic" a number of times I would imagine that the top item on every board agenda for the owners would be "when to close the thing down and start the refurbishment?" It seemed old fashioned but not in a "classic" way. This will invariably appeal to some but not to people who wish to use the "putting green" or the "miniature golf", both of which barely justified the description.

Funchal itself looked like a useful city to live in. Modern shops, busy main roads and a tourist business which, if the number of cranes involved in hotel construction to the west is anything to go by, seems to be booming. From a tourist point of view Funchal is a typical modern city with no more than a normal quota of charm which is more than offset for guests of tha Savoy "resort" by having to walk along the aformentioned main roads for some distance before reaching the Centre. The charm of Madeira is elsewhere.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank sjck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2007

I stayed a week at Royal Savoy in early November, in one of the bottom floor studios. I paid €250 for seven days -this was a flybuy offer, i.e. I had to promise in advance to take part in a time share presentation. The presentation took some 3 hours, and I didn't buy a timeshare (basically because time share contracts turned out to be for 25 years only, meaning that you actually don't own a time share, you just pay 25 years of hotel bills in advance).

The Royal Savoy is of high standard, pool area is splendid and well-kept but saunas are almost cold, small and disappointing. Reception staff is not overtly friendly, at check-in I was given key cards that did not work and had to return to the reception and ask for new, and staff did not apologise. Rooms are nicely decorated, and cleaning service is of high standard. Bathroom was spacious, and of five star class. There was a kitchenette with dishwasher in my room and kitchen utensils, but there are plenty of reasonably priced restaurants around. The hotel does not offer wireless internet anywhere, and guests are referred to the lobby of old Hotel Savoy where free wireless is available (as well as in the pub of the neigbouring Carlton Hotel). In November, all the other guests seemed to be retired couples, mostly from UK and the Nordic countries, very few kids. The ambience was very quiet and calm, and perfect for a relaxing holiday. The bar and lobby area on bottom and first floor are cozy, with live piano music. However, the dress code was a bit too formal for me, for men some kind jacket was expected for dinner.

Most of the property is time shares, and even more rooms have now been diverted from the hotel business to time shares. The ongoing business with an endless stream of couples being shown the premises by time share salespeople is a bit disturbing.

Location is very good, immediately by the sea, and 15-20 min walk from city centre. Airport bus (€5) stops by the hotel. Even in november the temperature was pleasant, good for leveda hiking, and I had to days of good sunshine.

The stay was definitely worth the price I paid, but I wouldn't pay the official rate, which was said to be €250 per night.

  • Liked — The seaside location
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank ForBusinessAndFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2007

This was simply the best holiday we have had. The hotel was classy and relaxed, excellent bar areas and swimming pools and the room was fantastic. The room maids tidied the room at last twice a day and really looked after us. Madeira whilst full of retired people is not the saga holiday that we were led to believe. There was a great levada walk, modern and high class shops and more eating places than you could visit in a month. It also helped that the weather was outstanding-70s-80s every day in mid October. Completely recommend the place, the hotel and the people.

  • Liked — Modern, clean, spacious and luxurious by our standards
  • Disliked — Having to check out early on final day-be prepared to leave room by 12 midday
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SuperKav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2007

Just returned from a week at the Royal Savoy, Madeira and would rate the whole experience as rather underwhelming. The alarm bells should have rung when I was asked to pay in full when bvooking, somewhat surprising. They got louder when after checking in we were given cards to hand in to get our pool towels and they began to be deafening when we realised that the majority of the hotel was sold as time shares. Having said that the room was excellent as was the breakfast but the staff were extremely variable as if they knew they really didn't have to try very hard.Our return flight did not leave until the evening and the hotel were unable or unwilling to offer a late check out or day room.
All in all a fairly average 4 star package holiday hotel and with the continuing pushing of time shares this hotel is not going to get better. I am sure that better value can be obtained elsewhere probably at Reids

  • Liked — room had a fridge and terrace so we could lunch there
  • Disliked — hotel is a glorified time share complex
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank RICHARD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1.5 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Savoy Hotel

Property: Royal Savoy Hotel
Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy Hotel  is situated in a privileged oceanfront location overlooking the harbour of Funchal. The city's fascinating historic and cultural centre are close by. Funchal's Old Town district, the bustling Marina, beautiful city gardens, Municipal Theatre, city squares adored with outdoor cafes & esplanades, Shopping Centres, Museums and many more interesting places to visit are just a stone's throw away.  This Hotel offers 12 spacious standard rooms, 101 junior suites plus 59 superior suites with one or two bedrooms, each elegantly decorated providing the utmost quality and comfort whilst creating a unique exotic atmosphere. All rooms have an ample furnished balcony and enjoy magnificent ocean views. All junior suites have their own kitchenette, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, cable and interactive flat screen TV, DVD player, Internet, electronic room safe and a full bathroom with separate shower, hairdryer and bathrobes. The superior suites have 1 or 2 bedrooms, kitchen, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, interactive cable, flat screen TV, DVD surround sound system, electronic room safe and 2 or 3 bathrooms (master-bathroom equipped with bathtub and separate shower), hair dryer and bathrobes. All rooms have free internet wireless system. This stunning complex is architecturally designed to allow you to appreciate to the full extent the beautiful breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the wide variety of both on-site and off-site leisure facilities and entertainment services, including heated indoor pool; gymnasium; a luxury spa where you can enjoy the free use of the sauna, steam room and tropical shower; games room; hairdresser, free internet wireless system, fine a-la-carte and buffet restaurant, piano bar with nightly live musical entertainment and pool snack bar, 2 outdoor sea-water swimming pools (one heated), jacuzzi, and children's splash pool. We also feature a spacious sundeck and terrace coupled with shady and lush sub-tropical gardens, which are further adorned with a barbecue area, a short seaside promenade, fountains and water cascades, private sea access and outdoor games area - all providing maximum holiday ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, ACCOR, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and Holiday Gems so you can book your Royal Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Funchal
Savoy Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Funchal
Royal Savoy Resort Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing