We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort, great location and a lovely island”
Review of Royal Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Savoy Hotel
Ranked #13 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2008

We have a timeshare and exchanged our week in orlando for a week in The Royal Savoy Madeira.

When we arrived the doorman took care of our luggage and later brought it up to our room. We went to check in (4 hours early!) and our room was ready within 30mins. The staff all spoke perfect English and were very helpful.

The raccomodation was a 1bed studio style room and was equiped with everything you would need. A plasma TV, Bath and power shower, robes and slipers, lovely king size bed, kitchen fridge and dishwasher, balcony over looking the pool and sea and a safe. What more could you need.

The hotel is situated right on the sea front with amazing veiws. If you walk down the street to the right you come to the dock and then the marina. There you will find lots of restuarants and if you walk up the side streets you will come to the city centre.

The sister hotel The classic Savoy allows you yo use all there facilities and vice versa. If you go to the 9th floor there is a bridge over into the Classis Savoy garden which holds the minature golf, shuffle board, fuseball and a full size snooker table. All free to use.

The bar and restuarant in the Royal Savoy has a dress code which we were a little annoyed at. It was warm in the evenings and the men had to wear long trousers and shirts even in the bar area. If you dont mind this then the price may put you off. It was 40 euros for a dinner buffett each.

We found the best places to eat were just right of the Classic Savoy. If you walk down the little street you will come to lots of nice eataries includng 2 Michalen Guide restuarants which are very reasonable and excellent quality. Our favourite was Casal Da Phenha. the Madeiran Beef Kebabs are a must.

I am a vegetarian and found no difficulty in finding food.

My no.1 must do is swimming in the private sea area in the hotel. Take a snorkle and dont worry if the water feels cold as it gets much warmer in the middle.

If you need any boat trip tickets are anything like that then ask reception and they do it all for you.

Overall we were extreamly pleased with our stay at The Royal Savoy and cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
There are newer reviews for Royal Savoy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2008

We chose this hotel as it was rewarded the best hotel resort in the world. Why we do not understand. There must be millions nicer hotels in the world than this. We were very disappointed as we traded our Marriott resort in Malaga for Royal Savoy. World of difference in quality and service.
We booked an information meeting about the island, restaurants etc before we arrived. Were reminded by a phone call of the meeting 30 min before it started-very professional. Stood in line to talk to an assigned person for about 15 min. only to be informed that another person had been assigned to us so we could meet other people form our country-yeah right that is why we travel.., so we said all we want is information as per agreement, and then we were informed this was not an information meeting after all- they were only interested to book a new meeting to sell more time share weeks... Bad sales technic. So stay away from the information meeting-100 people in line for nothing.
The rooms should all have see view. We stayed at the 1.floor and had a view over the childrens pool and could barely spot the see. The ground floor did not even have balconies and a see view. The decor is a bit dated, but as the average age of the guests are 70 - I guess it is ok for their target group. The ground floor and 1 floor both have strong damp from the indoor swimmingpool. Housekeeping keep using stinking air-fresheners-though you are asked to think of the environment by using your towels more than once... We got dirty sheets with a lot of stains. The pillows were not comfortable.
The reception was very helpful with restaurant bookings, 50% of the staff did not look like they were more than 12-14 years old, and had probably never eaten at any of the restaurant they should recommend to their guests. But it worked.
Outside pool area was very nice and clean.
The location of the hotel is great.
Easy walk from the hotel to the old city along the beach promenade, and to the other direction, West Funchal were all of the nice restaurants are like Villa Cipriani and O Barqueiro.

Stayed: June 2008
2  Thank Flyfille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2008

My Wife and I stayed at the Royal Savoy Madiera for a week 16th /23rd June this year (2008) and, contrary to what some reviewers say we had a superbly enjoyable time. yes, it is a bit old fashioned I suppose but this added to its charm.It was a cnge to get away from the over hyped glitzy palaces tha some hotels like to portray. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, which is a olus in any hotel, the rooms were clean and comfortable with the linen and towells changed every day.The inside of the hotel was also clean and pleasant with loads of space to either wader around or just sit and relax. The outside with its swimming pools and beautifully landscaped gardens were a joy to unwind inBreakfast was excellent and large as I am sure that everyone staying at this hotel woll agree. It is a pity that the pool bar and library cafe closed at six oclock, leaving just the main restruant open for dinner but there were numerous places to go out for a meal all around where the hotel was. It is only a short walk in to Funchal town with pretty parks along the way,which makes the Royal Savoy the Ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank alfie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

This was our second time at the Savoy Resort Hotel, we had stayed at the Classic Savoy about two years ago and used the facilities of the Royal Savoy. This time around we stayed at the Royal and were delighted with our choice.

We travelled with our 4 year old daughter and 9 month old baby girl, the accommodation was good and they provided us with a cot. The kitchenette was also very handy for sterilising bottles and making little snacks. All the staff were very good with regards to service and friendlyness. Word of warning - gentlemen must wear long trousers in the evening to be served around the bar area otherwise they will not serve you.

The swimming pools temperatures are rather odd, from warm to freezing, they are clean and there are plenty of sun loungers to choose from. No need to get them early.

We did find the hotel restaurants rather dull and not great value. We did however find a little restaurant called Casa Penha, which was worth the money. To get to it, use the garden exit from the Classic Savoy, turn right and it is next to a Irish Pub.

If you do want to wander into town, it is about a 10min walk down a steep hill which will lead you into the port, that is from the Royal Savoy exit. The Classic Savoy exit is much prettier and there are gardens you can wander into. La Dolce Vita is the new shopping mall in town.

All in all, a wonderful relaxing holiday and looking forward to going back. There was a lot of people going on tours with regards to buying timeshare, we never got asked or hassled in any way.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank montydogStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2008

We stayed here for £125 for the week on the condition that we attended a presentation by the Royal Savoy Vacation Club.

The studio rooms were spacious, well furnished and very comfortable. The bathroom had seperate shower / bath and was of a high standard. The balcony had good views of the pools and sea. The studio was definitely of a 5 star standard but I wouldn't pay the rack rate.

We found the pool facilities to be excellent and the staff throughout were helpful. The public areas are also very spacious, luxurious and comfortable with plenty of artwork on display. The restaurants were good but I would recommend using the local restaurants instead as they are more authentic, less formal, better value and have more atmosphere.

We had an excellent stay at the Royal Savoy but we weren't paying anything like the normal rates. This place exists so that it can sell through its Vacation Club. The presentation lasted 2 hours and wasn't too bad.They are looking to sell you 24 years worth of holiday accomodation. I can understand how some people would like the quality of accomodation and feeling of exclusivity.It could work if you like to holiday in the same resort every year. I am not that type of person and wouldn't pay for my next 24 years of holiday's up front !

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here but I would book a hotel that is committed to being a hotel if I was paying full price.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TimeTraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2007

We have recently returned from a week at the Royal Savoy and had great weather in the middle of November which I am told is unusual.

Our junior suite was very roomy, pleasantly decorated and with all the facilities you would wish for, including kitchenette etc. The cleaning etc was good, as you would expect. Outside the hotel, the idea of having three pools at different temperatures was interesting and seemed to work well, especially the indoor pool which was almost hot. The facilities were not overused and there was plenty of room.

Everything about the rest of the hotel was "OK" but with no great enthusiasm. There seemed to be something missing between the staff and the guests which made the whole thing a bit inpersonal and cold. This must have been particularly relevant to the small minority of people below the age of say 25 who must have thought they had wandered into a retirement home (as a retiree I can make that comment!)

The hotel is seen as a resort together with the linked Savoy "classic" hotel. Having walked through the "classic" a number of times I would imagine that the top item on every board agenda for the owners would be "when to close the thing down and start the refurbishment?" It seemed old fashioned but not in a "classic" way. This will invariably appeal to some but not to people who wish to use the "putting green" or the "miniature golf", both of which barely justified the description.

Funchal itself looked like a useful city to live in. Modern shops, busy main roads and a tourist business which, if the number of cranes involved in hotel construction to the west is anything to go by, seems to be booming. From a tourist point of view Funchal is a typical modern city with no more than a normal quota of charm which is more than offset for guests of tha Savoy "resort" by having to walk along the aformentioned main roads for some distance before reaching the Centre. The charm of Madeira is elsewhere.

Stayed: November 2007
6  Thank sjck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2007

I stayed a week at Royal Savoy in early November, in one of the bottom floor studios. I paid €250 for seven days -this was a flybuy offer, i.e. I had to promise in advance to take part in a time share presentation. The presentation took some 3 hours, and I didn't buy a timeshare (basically because time share contracts turned out to be for 25 years only, meaning that you actually don't own a time share, you just pay 25 years of hotel bills in advance).

The Royal Savoy is of high standard, pool area is splendid and well-kept but saunas are almost cold, small and disappointing. Reception staff is not overtly friendly, at check-in I was given key cards that did not work and had to return to the reception and ask for new, and staff did not apologise. Rooms are nicely decorated, and cleaning service is of high standard. Bathroom was spacious, and of five star class. There was a kitchenette with dishwasher in my room and kitchen utensils, but there are plenty of reasonably priced restaurants around. The hotel does not offer wireless internet anywhere, and guests are referred to the lobby of old Hotel Savoy where free wireless is available (as well as in the pub of the neigbouring Carlton Hotel). In November, all the other guests seemed to be retired couples, mostly from UK and the Nordic countries, very few kids. The ambience was very quiet and calm, and perfect for a relaxing holiday. The bar and lobby area on bottom and first floor are cozy, with live piano music. However, the dress code was a bit too formal for me, for men some kind jacket was expected for dinner.

Most of the property is time shares, and even more rooms have now been diverted from the hotel business to time shares. The ongoing business with an endless stream of couples being shown the premises by time share salespeople is a bit disturbing.

Location is very good, immediately by the sea, and 15-20 min walk from city centre. Airport bus (€5) stops by the hotel. Even in november the temperature was pleasant, good for leveda hiking, and I had to days of good sunshine.

The stay was definitely worth the price I paid, but I wouldn't pay the official rate, which was said to be €250 per night.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Kristian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,932 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,315 reviews
0.5 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
906 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Savoy Hotel

Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £216 - £888 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy Hotel  is situated in a privileged oceanfront location overlooking the harbour of Funchal. The city's fascinating historic and cultural centre are close by. Funchal's Old Town district, the bustling Marina, beautiful city gardens, Municipal Theatre, city squares adored with outdoor cafes & esplanades, Shopping Centres, Museums and many more interesting places to visit are just a stone's throw away.  This Hotel offers 12 spacious standard rooms, 101 junior suites plus 59 superior suites with one or two bedrooms, each elegantly decorated providing the utmost quality and comfort whilst creating a unique exotic atmosphere. All rooms have an ample furnished balcony and enjoy magnificent ocean views. All junior suites have their own kitchenette, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, cable and interactive flat screen TV, DVD player, Internet, electronic room safe and a full bathroom with separate shower, hairdryer and bathrobes. The superior suites have 1 or 2 bedrooms, kitchen, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, interactive cable, flat screen TV, DVD surround sound system, electronic room safe and 2 or 3 bathrooms (master-bathroom equipped with bathtub and separate shower), hair dryer and bathrobes. All rooms have free internet wireless system. This stunning complex is architecturally designed to allow you to appreciate to the full extent the beautiful breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the wide variety of both on-site and off-site leisure facilities and entertainment services, including heated indoor pool; gymnasium; a luxury spa where you can enjoy the free use of the sauna, steam room and tropical shower; games room; hairdresser, free internet wireless system, fine a-la-carte and buffet restaurant, piano bar with nightly live musical entertainment and pool snack bar, 2 outdoor sea-water swimming pools (one heated), jacuzzi, and children's splash pool. We also feature a spacious sundeck and terrace coupled with shady and lush sub-tropical gardens, which are further adorned with a barbecue area, a short seaside promenade, fountains and water cascades, private sea access and outdoor games area - all providing maximum holiday ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Funchal
Savoy Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Funchal
Royal Savoy Resort Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing