We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Updating”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Savoy Hotel
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Updating”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We have been visiting this hotel for many & we always enjoy our selves, however we are starting to notice that parts of hotel are looking tired & carpets in several places need to be replaced.
The ladies who service the rooms work very hard & are efficient,cheerful,kind.& helpful but seem to have too much to do.Perhaps more help is needed!
It is wonderful to have both indoor & outdoor pools which are kept in good condition.
Restaurants are good but it is time to review menus
All these niggles aside we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Only corner rooms are not quite as good as rest as they do not seem to get sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June445040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your continued loyalty. We are very pleased to read your positive comments as well as your kind words of praise towards our staff members. I concur wholeheartedly that our staff are an asset to the company.
We are sorry to hear that you found parts of the hotel looking tired and I will address your comments relating to the carpets with our maintenance team, so action can be taken .
Your kind words of praise will be shared with all our staff members
Once again, our sincere thanks.
Kind regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    162
    47
    8
    10
See reviews for
156
426
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I really liked the room view overlooking the ocean with the balcony it is very quiet and peaceful in the evening. The hotel has a great location with less than 5 minutes drive to the center of the island. There is also 2 restaurants only 3 minutes walk from the hotel and a grocery store just behind them where you will find anything you need!

Unfortunately our room did not have wifi so we had to go to the lobby area to use it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rahy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you ever so much for such positive comments on the hotel and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us
We are now pleased to inform you that very recently, mid-December, we we are in the process of makeing alterations in our system in order to install a winder a wider wi-if coverage, including not only the public areas but also in the comfort of guest-rooms.
Your kind words of praise will be shared with all our staff members
Once again thank you for your review
Kind regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I really do feel that tt288's review should be investigated, and then withdrawn. I was at the Royal Savoy when the damage described took place. It was 12 days before their visit, not 12 months as in the review. Also I can state quite catagorically that I and my wife have never been bitten by mosquitoes and we have been there every year, at this time, since the place was built.
The 'browning' of the trees was also the result of being battered by 20/25 foot waves. If tt288 took a glance at the property next door(Regency Club) they would have seen the utter demoliton of their concrete quay, quite a substantial stucture which was completely destroyed by the storm. While I agree that reviews should ''tell it as it is'' unfortunately this review IS worthless, due to their misunderstanding of the facts.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, being below the road level, but just a few only get sun up to around 1pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The staff was friendly and polite with a happy smile. Especilally the doormen (*****) !! Superb location! Marvellous seaview. BUT! Very bad WiFi. In the rooms randomly on and off. Very slow. One had to go down to the bar in order to take care of email, read news etc. A lot of furniture everywhere, too much. The room and public areas very dark. (interior design, but not in my taste) Several disabled toilets available, but no disabled shower in the entire building!!! Not suitable for disabled persons.

Room Tip: Every room have a very nice seaview!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karppa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This hotel was very comfortable but also formal too , very plush interiors and places to sit in different levels around the foyer, with music in the main foyer and entertainment at night including jazz music and vocal music. Table service in bar area. The hotel has 2 amazing pools with amazing lighting at night throughout the hotel. The rooms are equipped with Bosch appliances and high spec bathroom shower with amenities.

The Hotel also has a very good gym and indoor swimming pool which is great to use in the evening , located close to the Sauna & Steam room. Hotel has a expensive dining in place to eat. Internet is erratic and only available in the lobby area.

Be careful when sitting in the lobby area if you have exposed legs, best to get some lotion on them to prevent itching... possible midges or mosquitoes.

Staff are excellent.

Room Tip: top floor facing ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GurdeepSinghSaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Good points first - excellent position at sea level, lovely outlook from the sun beds if you can get the front row on the rocks, sea access for brave swimmers onto rocks though red flag usually flies, lovely sound of crashing waves from the rooms and balcony if patio type door left open and if you have a sea view. Library lounge excellent with books in many languages, two other lounges very nice but a little formal, Christmas trees decorated beautifully, lovely views from external glass lift and panoramic views from top floor. Handy bridge links 8th floor reception side door to a garden path, to key operated private gate onto street with access to main road and descent into town centre via park and fountains. A main direct road access to the harbour, cruise ships and town from the front door along harbour front. Outdoor pools warm but very public. Gardens and separations negligible. Palm trees lovely against sunsets and sunrises, but look a little wind swept brown and uncared for. Christmas lights outdoors organised at last minute on 22nd December. Negligible flowers. Timeshare room has kitchenette, tv, pots, pans etc king bed, 2 chairs, sofa bed, and bathroom with large bath, bidet, separate shower, hairdryer and polished floors. Bad points, "killer hill" street access up to 8th floor reception and main door, hiked in 72 degrees with many stops, no courtesy bus to town so quite a walk, food shopping for timeshare owners hauled up the hill, room smells musty and dirty ceiling vent in claustrophobic partitioned bedroom, if you open the patio door for fresh air and sounds of the sea, be prepared to be bitten to bits by mosquitoes and bugs at night. I heard someone complaining about whatever the sheets had been washed in that didn't agree with him? Around 10 pictures in the small room, hark back to ancient times, fish portraits, and classical vases, dark splodges, rather depressing. Shower black mould around top frame. Furniture dark and pseudo-antique reproduction pretending to be something it isn't - in my home it would be despatched to the junk shop or recycled on wood burner. Three large mirrors in a small space to give the illusion of light and largeness - I prefer the real thing. Disclaimer in room inspires no confidence - something about management accepting no responsibility for personal losses from the safe!! or the room, so kept all my valuables about me at all times, hauling them around town and on tours. TV remote control no good and took 2 days to replace it so watching TV difficult but not insurmountable! Confirmed a twin bed long before arriving as I went with a friend, but still given a king sized bed. Took until 6 pm to change it after many requests, the maid said they 'sometimes forget' and usually do. Ended up with 2 single beds, one pushed into a corner against the wall and two enormous pictures- I sleep better at home for free. Maid worked until 6 pm and occasionally overlooked tidying towels or setting dishwasher going, understandable, which never smelled good and wasn't clean all the time. Had to sleep with light on all night to stop mosquitoes emerging from the dark recesses, of which there are many dark recesses, and biting us to death with great wealds. Some sofas and cushions quite shabby and grubby in lounges and reception - overall a tired look. I accept no responsibility for the accuracy of this statement, but someone in the timeshare business told me the establishment was bankrupt. I am not a member there. No water in the main pool and jacuzzi, said to have been damaged twelve months previously by water crashing over from the sea, for which there is an apology in the room- but 12 months is a loonnng time for a repair! Overall, a nice art nouveau establishment where Maggie Thatcher once stayed, but which has seen better days. I prefer 4 star modernity with value for money pricing, and more importantly than ever, a courtesy bus into town. Sorry to say all this - we have to tell it as it is or a review is worthless. Others love it..

Room Tip: Confirm what you want in writing by email before going and keep the reply. A third floor room has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timetravel288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

As always great stay, great staff, wonderful place, our fifth year. Plenty of local eating houses.we have stayed several times. Bruno and bar staff make the stay first class.two hundred characters is an unnecessary requirement all one wants to say is great. On minus side airport is total crap poor facilities and rude security staff. But will anything be done about it,No! These people are the same the world over.

Room Tip: Buy a time share
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,711 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 87 in Funchal
2,146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
816 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Savoy Hotel

Property: Royal Savoy Hotel
Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy Hotel  is situated in a privileged oceanfront location overlooking the harbour of Funchal. The city's fascinating historic and cultural centre are close by. Funchal's Old Town district, the bustling Marina, beautiful city gardens, Municipal Theatre, city squares adored with outdoor cafes & esplanades, Shopping Centres, Museums and many more interesting places to visit are just a stone's throw away.  This Hotel offers 12 spacious standard rooms, 101 junior suites plus 59 superior suites with one or two bedrooms, each elegantly decorated providing the utmost quality and comfort whilst creating a unique exotic atmosphere. All rooms have an ample furnished balcony and enjoy magnificent ocean views. All junior suites have their own kitchenette, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, cable and interactive flat screen TV, DVD player, Internet, electronic room safe and a full bathroom with separate shower, hairdryer and bathrobes. The superior suites have 1 or 2 bedrooms, kitchen, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, interactive cable, flat screen TV, DVD surround sound system, electronic room safe and 2 or 3 bathrooms (master-bathroom equipped with bathtub and separate shower), hair dryer and bathrobes. All rooms have free internet wireless system. This stunning complex is architecturally designed to allow you to appreciate to the full extent the beautiful breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the wide variety of both on-site and off-site leisure facilities and entertainment services, including heated indoor pool; gymnasium; a luxury spa where you can enjoy the free use of the sauna, steam room and tropical shower; games room; hairdresser, free internet wireless system, fine a-la-carte and buffet restaurant, piano bar with nightly live musical entertainment and pool snack bar, 2 outdoor sea-water swimming pools (one heated), jacuzzi, and children's splash pool. We also feature a spacious sundeck and terrace coupled with shady and lush sub-tropical gardens, which are further adorned with a barbecue area, a short seaside promenade, fountains and water cascades, private sea access and outdoor games area - all providing maximum holiday ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Funchal
Savoy Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Funchal
Royal Savoy Resort Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing