We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time after time a wonderful stay”
Review of Royal Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Savoy Hotel
Ranked #13 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We have been staying at this hotel since becoming timeshare owners back in 2003. The hotel has continued to retain its charm despite its age and the public areas and pool side are well maintained. The rooms are spacious, clean and the addition of wi-fi in each room is a definite bonus in this modern day and age. The restaurant offered excellent food and very efficient staff although it is a little bit pricey, particularly with so many other fine dining experiences to be found close by. The hotel is situated very close to port and the town so if you enjoy watching the cruise ships come in, you won't be disappointed. The sheltered bay means this is an ideal spot during the milder months but I imagine it can be stiflingly hot during peak season. Still, it must be pointed out that this hotel is not really suited to families as the average age of the clientele are 65plus and as such the facilities are good for them. It might also be worth mentioning that the lifts must be used all the times to get to and from your accommodation so it probably isn't suitable for those with claustrophobia. There is a supermarket close by and three good restaurants within spitting distance if your inclined to stay close. I would definitely recommend you stay if you need a relaxing home from home experience.

Room Tip: One on the front of the carousel is great if you'd like to see the bars, pools and get full sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Delia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest,
We are always very pleased to read such positive reviews. Thank you ever so much for posting your feedback on your experience with us. We were delighted to read that you, like many of our discerning guests, enjoy the hotel's prime and stunning sea front location and also on this particular occasion you found the recent addition of wider wi-fi coverage, which also covers our guest-rooms, an added value to your stay. We take this opportunity to inform you that in the peak family holiday season (Easter and Summer school-holiday period), we also enjoy the custom of many families, who also find the hotel's numerous spacious facilities most appealing.
We look forward to having the pleasure to welcome you back to stay with us again and thank you for your continued loyalty, we are always most grateful.
Kind regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

This hotel is not for children, but a perfect resort for a relaxing get away in the sun for the adults. The average age is over 60 and we was there celebrating a 40th, however due to the beautiful suite we was in, the beautiful views from our balcony and general location of the hotel, the difference in age was irrelevant.
Excellent holiday, lovely clean hotel with very friendly and helpful staff, we would all definatley stay again at the Royal Savoy.

Room Tip: level 8, over looking the sea and the harbour!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank _xXElleXx_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and review on your stay. We were so pleased to read that you had an excellent holiday with us, enjoyed the hotel's fantastic ocean front location and found our staff members friendly and helpful, which will be shared with everyone here.
On this opportunity, we inform you that on Madeira Island we are very fortunate to enjoy year round tourism; in the Winter months our clientele is mainly composed of mature guests, generally northern Europeans; in the Summer period Madeira attracts slightly younger clientele of diverse nationalities as well as families with children during the Easter and Summer school-holiday period.
We hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you back to our hotel again. As the Island is a year round destination, why not return to experience Madeira at a different time of year.
Kind regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We did a timeshare exchange through Interval International and were delighted with our accommodation. We felt that the resort was well managed and spotless. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, and we loved the sunny balcony. It is an easy walk down to the Port and there is an excellent small grocery store close by. It was a great week weather wise and such a pleasure to leave the English rain behind!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review. We were particularly pleased to read that you had "A very relaxing week" with us, and also your kind comments towards the notable service from our staff members will be shared with the them, too. As the Royal Savoy hotel enjoys a privileged ocean front location, all the guest-rooms are sea facing and enhanced by a wonderful "suntrap" balcony - we were glad to know that you enjoyed this feature, too.
We hope we can welcome you back the Royal Savoy Hotel again, sometime soon.
Kind regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Our holidays in the savoy and then as owners of 2 apartments at the royal savoy are too numerous to count. So it goes without saying that this is a favourite destination of ours, and also family and friends. But, in recent years and with the demolishing of the old savoy hotel, the 5 star standard has gone downhill. We no longer have the facilities of the old hotel, especially the choice of restaurants and the tennis courts. When we bought into the timeshare of the royal savoy, all the extra facilities of the old savoy were part of the deal. Now it looks as if it will never be replaced. Even the royal savoy being 13 or 14 years old is beginning to look a little worn in places. TVs for instance are tiny and situated in a huge cupboard, totally unnecessary. Hardly any uk channels. This doesn't matter if the weather is warm but we usually come in uk winter and quite often have small children with us. Also they need to bring themselves up to date with entertainment and menus in the restaurant to appeal to younger people. Think of all the grannies and grandads who come with grandchildren.
Having said all that, the staff are marvellous. Helpful without exception and that's worth a lot and it's what keeps us coming back!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
8  Thank lovelunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our 4th one week stay (timeshare owners) in 8 yrs. Although it retains it's five star majesty in terms of reputation, location and high quality accommodation, outside solarium and facilities we both felt that the hotel complex looked a bit 'tired' in relation to the exterior paintwork and in our apartment. Whilst our apartment was maintained to a high standard on a daily basis (thank you once again Marcia!), the room ambience was unchanged from our 1st stay in 2008; i.e. the same pictures on the walls (why four framed prints of what looks like the exact same fish?), the same colour decor and the same carpet rug in the dining area. The laminate flooring was scuffed and marked in 2008 and these marks appear to have progressed further in the ensuing years. Our round balcony table had a plastic-covered foam cushion around its edge but this had become detached in places and looked rather shabby. We found the reception desk staff to be rather aloof, lacking warmth, congeniality and falling short of what a paying customer/client in a five star resort should reasonably expect. In contrast we stayed in a nearby four star hotel for 3 nights prior to checking into the Royal Savoy and we have to say that the reception staff at the four star hotel treated us and other guests (we noted) with great respect, congeniality and warmth and nothing was too much trouble - enough said!
Although the buffet breakfast menu was well prepared and displayed and varied, including healthy options, the 'hot' breakfast food was barely Luke warm. This problem was compounded by the fact that the plates stacked in what purported to be a plate-warming rack, were in fact cool rather than warm or very warm which rendered the food cold when taken to the table.
We booked a table at the restaurant on our last evening for an Italian Buffet which we both enjoyed very much but once again the hot food plates needed to be warmer, not hot just warmer. The restaurant staff themselves were, as before, always polite and efficient
It continues to surprise us that the hotel does not provide a complimentary shuttle bus/taxi service into Funchal especially given that some owners/clients have physical limitations - other 4 & 5 star hotels provide this service, why not Royal Savoy?
It was pleasing to find that Wi Fi access was now available in the rooms/apartments for the first time although access frustratingly times-out after a few minutes if not in constant use which means having to log on repeatedly?
We also feel that all apartments should have a modest Welcome Pack for guests on arrival, such as complimentary tea, coffee, sugar, milk, fruit, (Madeira) wine/cake & flowers; this sort of thing seems to be the norm in other 5 star resort hotels we have stayed in, so why not here?

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review further to your recent stay.
Overall we are pleased to read that you had a good stay, continued to enjoy our high quality accommodation and facilities and your kind comments towards the notable service from our housekeeping and restaurant will be shared with our staff members.
We are sorry to read that on this particular visit you found your apartment a little "tired" in certain areas and have addressed your comments relating to the paintwork, carpet and furniture with our maintenance team for immediate action and improvement. On this opportunity, we inform you that the hotel has an ongoing general maintenance and furniture-upholstery programme, which is carried out year-round and floor-by-floor.
Your attentive observations in various areas is much appreciated and we will use your helpful feedback to focus on improving and re-training where necessary.
Thank you most sincerely for your continued custom and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We have been visiting this hotel for many & we always enjoy our selves, however we are starting to notice that parts of hotel are looking tired & carpets in several places need to be replaced.
The ladies who service the rooms work very hard & are efficient,cheerful,kind.& helpful but seem to have too much to do.Perhaps more help is needed!
It is wonderful to have both indoor & outdoor pools which are kept in good condition.
Restaurants are good but it is time to review menus
All these niggles aside we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Only corner rooms are not quite as good as rest as they do not seem to get sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank June445040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your continued loyalty. We are very pleased to read your positive comments as well as your kind words of praise towards our staff members. I concur wholeheartedly that our staff are an asset to the company.
We are sorry to hear that you found parts of the hotel looking tired and I will address your comments relating to the carpets with our maintenance team, so action can be taken .
Your kind words of praise will be shared with all our staff members
Once again, our sincere thanks.
Kind regards
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I really liked the room view overlooking the ocean with the balcony it is very quiet and peaceful in the evening. The hotel has a great location with less than 5 minutes drive to the center of the island. There is also 2 restaurants only 3 minutes walk from the hotel and a grocery store just behind them where you will find anything you need!

Unfortunately our room did not have wifi so we had to go to the lobby area to use it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rahy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you ever so much for such positive comments on the hotel and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us
We are now pleased to inform you that very recently, mid-December, we we are in the process of makeing alterations in our system in order to install a winder a wider wi-if coverage, including not only the public areas but also in the comfort of guest-rooms.
Your kind words of praise will be shared with all our staff members
Once again thank you for your review
Kind regards
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,073 reviews
1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.4 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.9 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Savoy Hotel

Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £160 - £635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy Hotel is situated in a privileged oceanfront location overlooking the harbour of Funchal. The city's fascinating historic and cultural centre are close by. Funchal's Old Town district, the bustling Marina, beautiful city gardens, Municipal Theatre, city squares adored with outdoor cafes & esplanades, Shopping Centres, Museums and many more interesting places to visit are just a stone's throw away. This Hotel offers 12 spacious standard rooms, 101 junior suites plus 59 superior suites with one or two bedrooms, each elegantly decorated providing the utmost quality and comfort whilst creating a unique exotic atmosphere. All rooms have an ample furnished balcony and enjoy magnificent ocean views. All junior suites have their own kitchenette, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, cable and interactive flat screen TV, DVD player, Internet, electronic room safe and a full bathroom with separate shower, hairdryer and bathrobes. The superior suites have 1 or 2 bedrooms, kitchen, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, interactive cable, flat screen TV, DVD surround sound system, electronic room safe and 2 or 3 bathrooms (master-bathroom equipped with bathtub and separate shower), hair dryer and bathrobes. All rooms have free internet wireless system. This stunning complex is architecturally designed to allow you to appreciate to the full extent the beautiful breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the wide variety of both on-site and off-site leisure facilities and entertainment services, including heated indoor pool; gymnasium; a luxury spa where you can enjoy the free use of the sauna, steam room and tropical shower; games room; hairdresser, free internet wireless system, fine a-la-carte and buffet restaurant, piano bar with nightly live musical entertainment and pool snack bar, 2 outdoor sea-water swimming pools (one heated), jacuzzi, and children's splash pool. We also feature a spacious sundeck and terrace coupled with shady and lush sub-tropical gardens, which are further adorned with a barbecue area, a short seaside promenade, fountains and water cascades, private sea access and outdoor games area - all providing maximum holiday ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Funchal
Savoy Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Funchal
Royal Savoy Resort Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing