We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Savoy Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Madeira(Funchal)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pestana Palms(Funchal)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Suite Hotel Eden Mar(Funchal)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (825)
Filter reviews
825 results
Traveller rating
577
178
50
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
178
50
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharearmada restaurantpool areajunior suitetimeshare ownersvacation clubpiano barexcellent hotelsalt waterwell equipped kitchenself cateringsea waterold townfive star hotelevery eveninglocal restaurantsocean view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
512 - 517 of 825 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Really enjoy the Royal Savoy and find the whole experience outstanding. But there is a but.One thing that is clear is that the bar areas and restaurant are so under used by residents. The prices of tea, coffee, beer and wine is just too high. We for sure would be happy to have stayed within the hotel more if it was not about double the price of pretty decent alternatives near by. Would be interested in your comments on this.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EastLothianGannet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for the recent visit to the Royal Savoy Hotel and your comments. Indeed, we were very pleased to read that your overall experience was outstanding. Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, in fact we welcome and encourage guests to advise us of any constructive and helpful comments. We are therefore, very pleased to add that since mid-January this year we have introduced new reduced bar prices on several drinks namely coffees, beers, soft drinks etc. In addition, we are further delighted to announce that we now offer new and varied meal options at best-value for money in our restaurant and pool snack-bar. Already, many guests have expressed their appreciation for these new value added benefits. Our prices are on par with the other five-star establishments in Funchal, which naturally are adjusted to our prime location, service quality, ambience and live musical entertainment offered on a nightly basis.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and hopefully you too, will take advantage of our valued added offers available to all guests.

With best regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We are frequent visitors to Madeira and had visited the hotel's bar with friends on previous stays so we decided to stay one week to experience it ourselves. From the initial greeting by the most professional doorman to the goodbye at the end of our stay everything was first class!
Our studio was fabulous with a huge terrace balcony. The studio was extremely comfortable and had everything we needed...and more...for our week stay. The view over the pool area was lovely and the facilities are first class. The whole hotel is kept immaculate with very helpful, polite and most professional staff. The interiors are of high quality and kept immaculate.
We fell in love with the hotel and will be returning as soon as we can. Highly recommended!


Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 289rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Your preference as well as the trust placed in us is indeed appreciated. We are flattered by your comments – indeed, a great stimulus to continue to commit ourselves to deliver unforgettable experiences to our discerning guests.

We were so pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and hope we can welcome you back on many more occasions.

Thank you ever so much for the strong recommendation.

With kind regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband and I spent part of our Christmas holidays at the Royal Savoy, with our two kids (2.5 years and 9 months).

The facilities are really great, with heated indoors pool and kids pool and the restaurant menu offers plenty of choices for the little ones. The rooms were also well equipped and we loved having our little kitchen area, invaluable when you have children.

The only negative is that our room was on the second floor and the children were woken every night by the live entertainment going on downstairs, whichever we found a little annoying.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valeria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay. We were very pleased to know that you too, enjoyed your family holiday with us - it is always encouraging to read such positive feedback from our guests. We offer our guests live musical entertainment on a nightly basis in the Piano Bar, which continues until no later than 23H30. We are sorry though, to learn that with having small children you found this disturbing. On a future visit, please contact us in advance and we will allocate you in a room away from the bar area.
Once again our sincere thanks and hope we can welcome you back again as a family on a future return visit to Funchal.
Kind regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a marvellous time at this hotel for four days off with our two teen-agers. We were upgraded to an amazing apartment and were happy despite so-so weather for two days. We made use of the gym, the indoor pool and the outdoor facilities when the weather changed. Fabulous views and grounds and the service was impeccable. We also benefited from the hair-salon and 3 of us had hair cuts and styling.

The apartment was so spacious and allowed us to spend time indoors playing cards and just watching tv as a family. Room service was great, as was device in the restaurant. Definitely a place we want to return to.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elisro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,
We are so pleased to read your review titled 'fabulous Hotel'. Thank you ever so much for such positive comments on the hotel's facilities and services and delighted that we were able to offer you quality family time during your recent stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back as a family again in the near future.
Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was our fifth stay at the Royal Savoy and it now really feels like home! It has a feeling quite unlike any other hotel in the area. The staff are so friendly particularly at the door, bars and restaurant. The interior features African works of art with lots of quiet areas in which you can relax or check on your emails without being disturbed. The wi if is available in the room and seems to have settled down since a recent upgrade. The outside pool and eating area is fantastic with views directly over the Atlantic. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your positive review on our hotel. It is always most gratifying for us all, here to read such encouraging comments on our facilities and especially for mentioning the notable service from our staff members. We are particularly pleased to learn that you feel at home with us - our motto is in fact "Home away from Home".
We thank you for your continued loyalty over these past years and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back "home", very soon.
Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews