We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Savoy Hotel
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Another great visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have been coming to Madeira for some 16 years, Used to stay in the old Savoy (now a hole in the ground unfortunately) so transferred to the Royal Savoy some years ago. It is basically Time Share with some Hotel Guest (and they are two different beasts) So the Restaurant, Bar etc are not used as much as if it were a conventional Hotel.

Having said that the rooms are fine, the food good, the bar prices can be pricey (not so bad during happy hour from 6.00 to 8.30!) However the staffing levels have been reduced over the years in the restaurant, doorman and pool area - more trainees than full time staff - the financial drain from the hole in the ground is beginning to have an effect. This needs to be reversed

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busyaccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Firstly, thank you for your continued patronage in making The Royal Savoy Hotel your preference and we were ever so pleased to read that you had "another great visit" with us. Guest feedback from our loyal guests like yourself is important us as we feel this is a great tool of ascertaining if our high quality standards meet the developing needs of our discerning guests. From your regular past visits you are aware that it is a common practice in Madeira for hotels and restaurants to collaborate with the regional hotel catering and professional schools by offering the young professionals training opportunities in the hospitality business. This practice is also part of our ongoing Sustainable Management Initiatives and by no means should this be looked upon as a reduction in full-time staff or a decrease in our service quality.
We look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions.
With kind regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    162
    47
    8
    10
See reviews for
157
431
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Fantastic pool, lovely mini suite, comfortable bed, shady balcony with sea view over pool. If you could improve one thing, make it the live music. For British tastes, lower the volume - we only want background music, not a star performer, and I'm afraid none of them were star performers. Also, the repertoire seems to have been handed on from year to year since 1950. I'm a pensioner, and my parents would have recognised all the songs.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at The Royal Savoy Hotel. We were sorry to read that the music was not to your liking and rest assured will use your feedback in a constructive manner. On this opportunity in inform that we commission a varied range of talented local musicians for our week-long live entertainment programme with the objective to cater for all tastes. Nevertheless, we were very happy to note that you were impressed with your accommodation as well as our prime ocean front tropical pool area.
We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Kind regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were able to check in, wind down and chill out within 15 minutes of arriving. We were continually reminded how helpful the staff were when we had any need. The cheerfully booked our evening meals at various Funchal resturants and gave us great culinary advice. The whole hotel is beautifully appointed with antiques and classic pieces. Food was excellent as were the drinks. Have decided to purchase a Timeshare on the strength of our recent holiday. Were here 4 times previous and have never been dissapointed

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting such a nice review on your recent return visit to The Royal Savoy Hotel. Everyone here strives to consistently deliver high levels of service so we were very pleased to read that you found the staff helpful and friendly and you found your stay to be everything you hoped for.
We all look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions.
With kind regards and Muito Obrigado!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This resort is suitable for anybody who enjoys the finer things in life, beautiful food, excellent service, a real home from home where nothing is a probably and everything is a pleasure, meet old friends or make some new ones - its a real gem in the Atlantic ocean.

Room Tip: all rooms are good - we stayed in a studio which is big enough for 4 ! the higher the room the bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wood2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,
What a fantastic review and indeed a great stimulus to continue to commit ourselves to deliver unforgettable experiences to all our guests.
Thank you for visiting us and we look forward to having the pleasure of your return visit for another relaxing and memorable stay at your "home away from home", The Royal Savoy Hotel.
With kind regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

arrived on time. hotel room ready. sun deck as welcoming as always. participated in activities this time. Aqua Aerobics certainly exercised some of my muscles. Dinner was enjoyable. Breakfast, great choices. We did have to change rooms, but were given an equally lovely room.

Room Tip: try to ask for a room on a higher floor, fabulous views over the Atlantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judiglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your renewed preference and it was a pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel. At the Royal Savoy Hotel we always aim to deliver the highest standards and endeavour to make you feel as though we are your "home away from home".
We look forward to your return visit next time you are in Madeira.
With best regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Wonderful hotel, a bit quiet for younger people but they would love the hospitality and friendship of all the staff.Funchal is undergoing major seafront alterations but still everything else is just wonderful ,the flowers are amazing and if you can book you would love the Flower Festival.there is always something happening most weeks and lots to do and see. The weather can be cloudy but it is still warm.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view,the higher the better .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you ever so much for posting a review on your stay at The Royal Savoy Hotel on this website. We were so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and couldn't agree with you more, Madeira has in fact a wonderful calendar of year-round festivities - a number of exciting events take place practically every month of the year, all to complement your visit on our beautiful Island.
We very much hope to see you back again to enjoy more of Madeiran hospitality.
With kind regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Lovely hotel and amenities. Staff generally friendly but a couple of unhelpful ones. It is a hotel that caters mainly for older people in that there wasn't anything for children and the entertainment was more for older people too.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne-Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor following your visit to The Royal Savoy Hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the amenities on offer at our hotel and appreciate your kind comments relative to our staff. It's of utmost importance to us that each and every staff member delivers a welcoming and attentive service. Our ongoing staff training programme also focuses in this area. So, you can imagine we were surprised and disappointed to note that you found a member of our team unhelpful. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel manager at manager.rs@savoyresort.com, as we would be happy to discuss this further directly with you. On this opportunity, we inform that on Madeira Island we enjoy year round tourism; in the Winter months our clientele is mainly composed of mature guests, generally northern Europeans; in the Summer period Madeira attracts slightly younger guests of diverse nationalities as well as families with children during the Easter and Summer school-holiday period, when we provide a dedicated activities programme for our younger guests.
With renewed thanks for sharing your holiday experience - your feedback is important to us in our efforts in attaining our main objective in total guest satisfaction.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future
Kind regards
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,719 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.4 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Savoy Hotel

Property: Royal Savoy Hotel
Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy Hotel  is situated in a privileged oceanfront location overlooking the harbour of Funchal. The city's fascinating historic and cultural centre are close by. Funchal's Old Town district, the bustling Marina, beautiful city gardens, Municipal Theatre, city squares adored with outdoor cafes & esplanades, Shopping Centres, Museums and many more interesting places to visit are just a stone's throw away.  This Hotel offers 12 spacious standard rooms, 101 junior suites plus 59 superior suites with one or two bedrooms, each elegantly decorated providing the utmost quality and comfort whilst creating a unique exotic atmosphere. All rooms have an ample furnished balcony and enjoy magnificent ocean views. All junior suites have their own kitchenette, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, cable and interactive flat screen TV, DVD player, Internet, electronic room safe and a full bathroom with separate shower, hairdryer and bathrobes. The superior suites have 1 or 2 bedrooms, kitchen, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, interactive cable, flat screen TV, DVD surround sound system, electronic room safe and 2 or 3 bathrooms (master-bathroom equipped with bathtub and separate shower), hair dryer and bathrobes. All rooms have free internet wireless system. This stunning complex is architecturally designed to allow you to appreciate to the full extent the beautiful breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the wide variety of both on-site and off-site leisure facilities and entertainment services, including heated indoor pool; gymnasium; a luxury spa where you can enjoy the free use of the sauna, steam room and tropical shower; games room; hairdresser, free internet wireless system, fine a-la-carte and buffet restaurant, piano bar with nightly live musical entertainment and pool snack bar, 2 outdoor sea-water swimming pools (one heated), jacuzzi, and children's splash pool. We also feature a spacious sundeck and terrace coupled with shady and lush sub-tropical gardens, which are further adorned with a barbecue area, a short seaside promenade, fountains and water cascades, private sea access and outdoor games area - all providing maximum holiday ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Funchal
Savoy Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Funchal
Royal Savoy Resort Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing