We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much Royal about my reception”
Review of Royal Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Savoy Hotel
Ranked #13 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just returned from an Interval International timeshare exchange. Although in many ways it did live up to it's "Savoy" reputation in others it did not. eg I arrived around 7pm feeling tired after a long day travelling to be greeted with a cold reception and the statement that the half board vouchers I wished to purchase were no longer available and had been discontinued that day. I showed the receptionist a copy of an email dated three weeks before my arrival which stated that I would be able to buy the half board food package from reception on my arrival. He again repeated that this had been stopped that day and was substituted by a pay up front credit package which went up in increments from 200 to 400 euros etc. I was very annoyed about this and asked why I had not been contacted to inform me of the changes to the system. He asked me if I wished to see the Duty Manager and called her for me. She explained how much better off I was going to be (did not work out that way) under the new system. She talked to the receptionist the whole time in Portuguese which I of course do not understand and in the end agreed with him that I could buy 300euros of food credit. She made some notes on an information sheet on the Portuguese written pages and did not inform me at the time that if I had any credit left at the end of my stay that this would be non returnable. The menu's on their speciality nights still showed a supplement of ex amount of euros for half board guests and the information about the resort shown on the tv did tell you about the new food purchase system but still said that you could buy half board vouchers from reception. Not what one would have expected from an International Hotel chain of such renown.
The waiting, housekeeping and all other staff I encountered could not be praised enough for their professional, pleasant and helpful attitude and service. The usual welcome to the hotel message on the tv actually welcomed a Mr David somebody and not me...I am a female!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. Firstly, please accept our apologies for the service shortfall and the discomfort you experienced. We have in fact very recently introduced the New Cash Advance Discount Vouchers offering our guests and members additional discounts on all the food and beverages options on offer at the hotel. We are very sorry that we failed to communicate the new system to you prior to your arrival and regret very much to learn that you felt this was not advantageous to you in particular, unlike what the vast majority of our guests have commented. Nevertheless, we are grateful for your feedback as this will allow us to continually monitor our guests' needs and work on improving in areas of concern.
On the other hand, we were very pleased to learn that our renowned level of hospitality and professionalism in the other hotel service areas meet with your total expectations.
We hope this unfortunate incident will not deter you from returning in the near future and we look forward to welcome you back again to provided you with an overall positive experience.
Our best wishes and Muito Obrigado !
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
There are newer reviews for Royal Savoy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We always enjoy our regular visit to the Royal Savoy, Funchal. As ever the hotel is very pleasing in many respects and we always look forward to staying there. The pools and apartments are spotlessly clean and the staff are very keen to please.

However it is very noticeable that there is a distinct lack of "management" presence especially over the weekend. We had need to speak to a Duty Manager on two occasions (over the same weekend period) during our stay. On both occasions the duty manager was not available??? and the reception staff wanted to deal with us instead. There is always a notice on the reception desk to say who the Duty Manager is that day, but we did not see him/her personally on either occasion. We can only assume that the Duty Manager was unaware that we had asked to see them (and that the reception staff had dealt with our problem in their absence) because the Duty Manager did not extend the courtesy to see if our problems had been dealt with effectively and/or efficiently - which is what we would expect from a Duty Manager at such a highly rated establishment.

Furthermore - another management niggle - is that there are clearly displayed signs by the pool area that quite clearly state that sun beds are not allowed to be reserved (which indeed they are and in large numbers) and that only 1 towel per person is allowed (which is not the case for a certain few). It is very sad to see that some guests at the Royal Savoy feel the need to treat the wonderful Royal Savoy like a 3 star hotel by reserving sun beds for hours on end before they decide to show up - this did not use to happen and it is a great shame that it is happening now.

There are also some guests that consider that one leather sun bed mattress is not enough and they need to have two per bed. Some guests feel that they need four towels while they lie on their sun bed, one guest had one rolled up underneath her head as a pillow while she lay on at least two others!

Most of the guests staying at the Royal Savoy are timeshare owners and return year after year and sadly have to observe those guests who abuse their quota of facilities. The majority of guests adhere to the signs purely out of respect for the Royal Savoy and the many other guests who have also paid to use the same fabulous facilities.

So Duty Managers, do your stuff please - have a presence all around the Royal Savoy (not just behind reception) and make yourselves available to your guests at all times. Please sort out the rules to either stop those guests who use the facilities with contempt or alternatively take down your signs so every guest can have as many towels as they wish - it has to be one or the other surely?

Many of us will be back again - same dates next year - and we will be keen to to see if the Royal Savoy management is pro-active enough to deal with these issues efficiently and effectively.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous and the higher rooms overlook the sea
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Gustables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experiences and views of your recent stay with us. We do value our guests' comments and their concerns are of great importance to us, so please rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration in order to ensure that our service is constantly kept to the highest levels meeting our guests’ expectations and needs at all times.
Your continued preference and good intentions for the Royal Savoy Hotel is much appreciated. We all look forward to serving you again and to provide you with a more positive experience on your next return visit
Warm wishes and Muito Obrigado !
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We got free upgrade from Savoy Garden to Royal Savoy. The hotel and service is someting on the level we have never seen before. Breakfast buffe also great. 1 heated 1 not heated pool. Beach on location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mario H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Royal Savoy Hotel and for your kind words about the hotel, the service, food offerings and our stunning ocean front location.
Your kind feedback is very much appreciated and we all look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
warm wishes and Muito Obrigado !
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed a week at this lovely hotel with stunning views. An older crowd staying here which gave it a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. There were some families with children but they were all so well behaved you didn't even know they were there. I like a bit of life in the evening and enjoyed the nightly entertainment in the Piano bar and made some wonderful friends. Food was very good in the hotel but also so many great restaurants and bars close by. Shopping is only a short 10 min walk from the hotel and plenty of organised trips if you feel like exploring the Island, but note there are some quite steep hills to climb certainly on your way back to the hotel from the town centre.

Room Tip: Higher the room the better the view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Cancuner8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Royal Savoy Hotel on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed the experience staying with us and we thank you for your kind words about our stunning location, food offerings and nightly entertainment.
We all hope it will not be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another relaxing holiday.
With kind regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I went to the R S again and returned last Thursday . My sister in law and myself had another wonderful holiday . This year we had free wifi in all rooms which was really appreciated .
The staff at this hotel are amazing . They all make you feel very special . The meals in the dining room are really 5 star. The choice for breakfast is excellent and the evening meals have so many options. You can have a bar meal ,chefs specials , or A la carte and they have wonderful special evenings , Wok night , Italian evening , romantic evenings etc. We were there for the Murder Mystery evening which was excellent . We enjoyed the meals at the RS so much that out of 10 days we only ate out once . The restaurant staff are ace !
The rooms are still as good as ever . Bedding changed regularly and clean towels as required .
The bar staff are always so professional and always make the holiday special. The pool areas are spotlessly clean. I didn't use the spa facilities this time but they also are very good .
If we needed any advice on where to go or what to see , the guest relations dept or reception will always help you .
My only complaint would be that the voucher system and the half board options are quite confusing trying to work out whether we were better off using our breakfast or dinner vouchers or signing and using our advance credit . I understand that they are finishing with this two tier system this month and that there are other incentives .
We have had timeshare here for 10 years and each time we return we meet old friends who also go at the same time and new friends as we did this year . To be so near the sea , with wonderful surroundings , excellent service and warm temperatures , what more can you ask for !!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to post such a generous review of The Royal Savoy Hotel and particularly for your outstanding praises of the service we provide. We are incredibly proud of our staff and our prime location and were delighted that this stood out for you, too. Your kind comments were hugely appreciated and we will be sharing your charming words with the entire team here. With regard to the voucher system, we are pleased to annouce you that we now have implemented a simpler advance credit system offering our guests more benefits on the food and drink consumption at the hotel.
We very much look forward to your return visit and to provide you with another wonderful stay with us.
Warm regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A superb Hotel that is extremely well managed.The manager and her team are excellent and understand the importance of detail and quality standards. We start our third week on Monday and I recommend this hotel without reservation.The rooms are superb but it can be noisy in the evening near the indoor pool and table tennis table.It was developing into a youth club culture but it was successfully challenged by the Deputy Manager who rightly put the onus on their parents - we applauded from our balcony !! Superb venue including a magnificent location - moving to the seventh floor and the delights of the cruise ships next week. A must to visit.

Room Tip: Keep away from the tennis table and indoor pool area
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank George647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to post such a positive review of the Royal Savoy Hotel whilst still staying with us. It's very rewarding to know that our effort in maintaining the renowned Royal Savoy quality standards is recognised by our guests. We are very happy to know that you are enjoying you current stay - from your room, our fantastic ocean front location to the premium facilities on offer at the hotel. We thank you also for your strong recommendation for our hotel and we all look forward to your return visit and to be able to provide you with another great hotel experience.
Continue to enjoy your days with us and Muito Obrigado !
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We went here for a calm getaway in November last year
The hotel, staff and rooms are absolutely lovely and the view spectacular. All the pools and possibility for swimming in the ocean are clean and well taken care of.

The food in the "pool bar" is not worth the money, the salads are boring and too simple to be that expensive. We found other places to have lunch that were better and cheaper.

We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ateland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback. We appreciate your kind comments on our fabulous ocean front swimming pool facilities, our attentive and polite staff as well as our spacious rooms.
With regard to your comments on our food and beverage prices, we have taken good note of your observations and same will be discussed at our next food and beverage meeting for further action. We are confident that on your return visit you will find some adjustments and improvements to your benefit, which we hope you will take advantage of.
We thank you for your excellent rating on our hotel and look forward very much to welcome you back to The Royal Savoy Hotel in the near future.
Warm regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,318 reviews
0.5 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
906 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Savoy Hotel

Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £215 - £888 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy Hotel  is situated in a privileged oceanfront location overlooking the harbour of Funchal. The city's fascinating historic and cultural centre are close by. Funchal's Old Town district, the bustling Marina, beautiful city gardens, Municipal Theatre, city squares adored with outdoor cafes & esplanades, Shopping Centres, Museums and many more interesting places to visit are just a stone's throw away.  This Hotel offers 12 spacious standard rooms, 101 junior suites plus 59 superior suites with one or two bedrooms, each elegantly decorated providing the utmost quality and comfort whilst creating a unique exotic atmosphere. All rooms have an ample furnished balcony and enjoy magnificent ocean views. All junior suites have their own kitchenette, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, cable and interactive flat screen TV, DVD player, Internet, electronic room safe and a full bathroom with separate shower, hairdryer and bathrobes. The superior suites have 1 or 2 bedrooms, kitchen, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, interactive cable, flat screen TV, DVD surround sound system, electronic room safe and 2 or 3 bathrooms (master-bathroom equipped with bathtub and separate shower), hair dryer and bathrobes. All rooms have free internet wireless system. This stunning complex is architecturally designed to allow you to appreciate to the full extent the beautiful breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the wide variety of both on-site and off-site leisure facilities and entertainment services, including heated indoor pool; gymnasium; a luxury spa where you can enjoy the free use of the sauna, steam room and tropical shower; games room; hairdresser, free internet wireless system, fine a-la-carte and buffet restaurant, piano bar with nightly live musical entertainment and pool snack bar, 2 outdoor sea-water swimming pools (one heated), jacuzzi, and children's splash pool. We also feature a spacious sundeck and terrace coupled with shady and lush sub-tropical gardens, which are further adorned with a barbecue area, a short seaside promenade, fountains and water cascades, private sea access and outdoor games area - all providing maximum holiday ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Funchal
Savoy Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Funchal
Royal Savoy Resort Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing