We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and quality of an exceptional level”
Review of Royal Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Savoy Hotel
Ranked #13 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We stayed for our second year at the Royal Savoy. Guests are mainly of an age where gentile surroundings are appropriate and seek old fashioned courtesies and excellent service combined with the calm, relaxed, spacious accommodation that is on offer.

This is a very good resort where the food is also of an exceptional standard but at a price although this year they have introduced a three or five day eat in ticket for breakfasy and dinner for about 37 euro per person per day. It is good value if you want to eat in.
Eating out is a pleasure for the palate and the wallet.

The area behind the resort has some splendid restaurants, Don Amelia. Casa Don Velha to name but two.

It is a short stroll downhill yo the old town, you can get a bus back, the buses are regular and inexpensive, walk in the opposite direction towards and past Reids and you pass other large hotels and restaurants arriving at the Lido, carry on walking along the main road and you come very soon to a lovely cafe/bar with a terrace overlooking the sea that is wholesome and inexpensive for Madeira It is called Casbah.

Taxi transfer on arrival is 31 e and you may get a better deal prebooking.

Currently Funchal seems less busy that on ourprevious visits and there are excellent deals on half day or full day trips and even in some restaurants.

A truly relaxing place if that is what you want but with lots to do, walks, gardens to visit, cable car rides, sea trips if you like that but not a holiday place I would recommend for young families

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank acerfOrmby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
There are newer reviews for Royal Savoy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2009

I have a Time Share at the Royal and both my wife and myself enjoy the hotel and have had superb service over the six years we have been visiting. We do not skimp and eat out and in the Royal as well as going "al fresco" on our balcony. I have to say the meals are somewhat on the pricey side, for example a simple toasted sandwhich can cost around 9 euros by the poolside yet walk a couple of hundred yards to the Red Lion and a similar meal will be around half the price. The Monday night Buffet is the best value in the hotel yet still costs 32 euros. The plus side is that now drinks (water and wine) are included. I love a good Cheeseboard and the Royal charges a whopping 12 euros for half a dozen grapes, some extrordinarily boring cheeses(4 types) accompanied by 3-4 cheese biscuits including of all things a Ryvita. Mediocrity can still be found in the 5star Royal. Do not hesitate to ask to speak to the Matre d, they will listen but whether they will change things is another matter. The bar is best described as "The Moon Bar", no atmosphere, and pricey. Better value meals can be had locally and there is a fantastic cake shop opposite Reids, Staff at the Royal Time Share office will tell you of good restaraunts nearby and will only give a personal reccomendation if they have dined there themselves so make use of them. In my experience all the staff at the Royal are excellent, I cannot fault them nor can I fault the Hotel...well...just a bit but I still intend to return, year after year after.....

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnruskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2009

We traded our Marriott time share for a week here and have generally been pleased. The room is spacious, with a separate living room area and efficiency kitchen. The pool area is as beautiful as the photos although the spa was not warm enough. Upkeep is generally good, although there are a few nicks, etc., that could benefit from repairs. The room is very clean, comfortable, and the bath is spacious, with marble and separate shower/tub combination. The hotel is very quiet this time of the year ... and perhaps also because of the economic situation. The guests that are here are mostly older folks from the UK but we came to tour the island ... not socialize with the other guests, so that's OK with us. The staff is helpful, but not overly friendly; the evening doorman though is a gem. The bar areas are quiet and not always open. There is no free internet which is a negative in my book. AT 10 Euro a day, its not even wireless. High tea at Reids was very chi-chi as was dinner at Vila Cipriana but both were very good. The best parts of this destination are the gardens and the western side of the island with scenery like I've never seen. Lots of uphill walking but well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WisconsinWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Spent week at this rather dull if clean and tidy resort. Staff tried hard except the night porter who was positively rude! Five star maybe for Madeira but don't expect five star British service and exclusivity. Turned over mainly to fractional ownership with the result that most stay in rooms to eat, drink, etc. Accordingly, public areas bereft of any atmosphere and conviviality. Equivalent to good three star or average four star but very much five star prices. Money much better spent at Reid's.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed-Scotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

Beautiful resort and hotel had everything you could wish for! my 1 year old had a great time as rooms were so spacious so he could run around lots.
Lovely spa area but gym is very small. obly about 4 exercise bikes and not much else
Hubby used sauna and said it was great but i never went so cant comment
Very lush and close by to everything
The playground was small but had everything in it to entertain a young child for hour or so

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Karmjeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Just back from this hotel having spent xmas week there, and wanted to 'throw my oar in'; Yes, its a lttle flabby in terms of decor (especially the dark hallways), and I'm sure it has seen better days, but I can't remember the last time I stayed in a hotel where staff were so professional, polite and 'old school'. Most of the staff have obviously an attachment to the place, in particular the men (of a certain age) serving breakfast are worth staying in the hotel for alone, for the fascinating lesson as observed in the genteel and genial manners displayed, where the guest is everything.The food though perfectly adequate, is secondary, this is the most incredible place to watch effortlesly courteous service at it's very best. Staying at The Savoy reminded me of how much service is sorely lacking in just so many other hotels.
We were one of the youngest couples staying there (by a considerable 20/30 years!), but still enjoyed it throughly. You can avail of all of the sister (considerably more modern) hotels' facilities a mere footbridge away, and between the leisure facilities, spa, libraries etc.
Maybe not the place for partying if you are up for that kind of night, but a perfect place to act as a base for exploring Funchal (brill location between hotel zone and proper city) and beyond......

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank youthquake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

My husband and I traded a Marriott one room week for a studio at the Royal Savoy. I was a little hesitant after reading some of the reviews, especially since we were coming all the way from the US and the cost of airfare and the dollar exchange was higher than costs for those who typically visit Madeira. Even with the long trip, the hotel was lovely, the people terrific, the exchange was advantageos (we got the better end of the bargain as to size and amentities). and there was no pressure to buy a week. The hotel is very large but extremely well situated with every room having a large balcony over looking the pools and the ocean. The smaller suites (that we had)have a separated bed and living areas, lots of closet and drawer space with a very well done kitchen area. The housekeeping staff comes daily. Better than we have with the Marriott resort in Florida. We loved Madeira. The island is beautifal. We didn't eat at the hotel. We thought the restaurants in the hotel zone catered particulaly to that crowd and prefered the restuarants in the old town. I do suggest you rent a car and see the other parts of the island. The roads are fine and easy to drive. The typography is beautiful and ever changing.
We are looking forward to our second trip next year.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,318 reviews
0.5 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
906 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Savoy Hotel

Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £215 - £888 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy Hotel  is situated in a privileged oceanfront location overlooking the harbour of Funchal. The city's fascinating historic and cultural centre are close by. Funchal's Old Town district, the bustling Marina, beautiful city gardens, Municipal Theatre, city squares adored with outdoor cafes & esplanades, Shopping Centres, Museums and many more interesting places to visit are just a stone's throw away.  This Hotel offers 12 spacious standard rooms, 101 junior suites plus 59 superior suites with one or two bedrooms, each elegantly decorated providing the utmost quality and comfort whilst creating a unique exotic atmosphere. All rooms have an ample furnished balcony and enjoy magnificent ocean views. All junior suites have their own kitchenette, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, cable and interactive flat screen TV, DVD player, Internet, electronic room safe and a full bathroom with separate shower, hairdryer and bathrobes. The superior suites have 1 or 2 bedrooms, kitchen, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, interactive cable, flat screen TV, DVD surround sound system, electronic room safe and 2 or 3 bathrooms (master-bathroom equipped with bathtub and separate shower), hair dryer and bathrobes. All rooms have free internet wireless system. This stunning complex is architecturally designed to allow you to appreciate to the full extent the beautiful breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the wide variety of both on-site and off-site leisure facilities and entertainment services, including heated indoor pool; gymnasium; a luxury spa where you can enjoy the free use of the sauna, steam room and tropical shower; games room; hairdresser, free internet wireless system, fine a-la-carte and buffet restaurant, piano bar with nightly live musical entertainment and pool snack bar, 2 outdoor sea-water swimming pools (one heated), jacuzzi, and children's splash pool. We also feature a spacious sundeck and terrace coupled with shady and lush sub-tropical gardens, which are further adorned with a barbecue area, a short seaside promenade, fountains and water cascades, private sea access and outdoor games area - all providing maximum holiday ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Funchal
Savoy Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Funchal
Royal Savoy Resort Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing