We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madeira Regency Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Madeira Regency Club
Ranked #44 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Madeira Regency Club, Funchal and couldn't be happier with the hotel & Low Cost Holidays who we booked it through.

The booking & payment was simple, the helpline staff were friendly & knowledgeable. The flights were great, we had a private mini bus waiting for us & the driver was polite, friendly & helpful.

The hotel was lovely, the rooms were perfect & the staff couldn't do enough for us! The rooms were a bit dated & needed a little TLC but they were cleaned every day, had a great shower & bathroom, nice beds & plenty of wardrobe space.

The whole experience for our party of 4 adults and 2 children under 4 was wonderful. We can't fault anything. We will certainly be booking this holiday & hotel with Low Cost Holidays again and would recommend to anyone for a cheap but great holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    184
    70
    24
    14
See reviews for
82
239
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

my studio was a decent size but the balcony was a tiny cheese wedge shape with the walls falling to bits and no view. The kitchen cupboards were very scruffy and the sofa looked like it was ready for the rubbish tip. I arrived about 9.30p.m., the information said there was a grocery store which there wasn't. The miserable man at the bar sold me a tea bag for nearly 2 euros, and a carton of milk which cost 3 times the price you would pay in a shop. Felt I was being exploited the moment I arrived.
Definitely not 4 star which saddens me as I am a very satisfied time share owner, this room (511) did not come up to scratch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valerie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

this was our third visit to the regency club and whilst there booked our next 2 weeks in the summer.

the prices are reasonable, the suites are spacious, the location is excellent, the staff are brilliant and breakfast is reasonably priced.

the kitchen in our suite, this time, was tiny. my wife did amazingly well to produce tasty meals including a roast chicken dinner and chicken curry. the kitchen needs a refurb as, for example, the veneer on a couple of the cupboards was hanging loose.

nothing detracts, however, from the overall comfort of the suites and the sea views are beautiful.

the hotel is currently offering a 4 week stay in a one bed suite, as an advance purchace, for 1650 euro. if we hadn't already bought 8 weeks forward we would be tempted.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clnwrgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have stayed at the Regency a number of times and we have always been satisfied.
The sea-view was fantastic. Breakfast at 9 Euro was excellent value. Close to Funchal centre.
Swimming in the sea is normally very good, but this year the pontoon was damaged in the winter storms.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was our 2nd visit to the regency and our son and his wife followed 2 weeks later. Great sea views from all apartments and ideally located for walking into Funchal and out to towards the Lido.
Accommodation spacious and well equipped, staff friendly and helpful. It would be nice if the pool was heated in January and the pool surrounds more foot friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms with double balconies are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We returned to The Regency having stayed there in 2013.

Very good value indeed and well located in the town.

Just one moan. The Reception desk staff (and one Receptionist in particular) who was on duty on our arrival. Very brusque and indeed unwelcoming on our arrival. We were allocated a room a little less well appointed than we had last year but nevertheless we had paid a very low price. On asking whether we could be upgraded were told that was what we had paid for and grudgingly informed that we could have better room with a sea view balcony for a price equal to that we had paid fro the room we had been allocated. Again on checking out no smile or wishing us a safe journey home or even a good bye.

What a pity that left a negative feeling about the hotel in spite of helpful and friendly service by restaurant o and other staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyWiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rakvere, Estonia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

In last December was my 15. visit to Funchal and 14 times have accommodated in the Madeira Regency club. This hotel situated in excellent position and it takes only about 10 minutes to walk into city center. The staff of hotel is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms by poolside are more separate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Avenue Park
0.1 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madeira Bright Star
Madeira Bright Star
#66 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#57 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Club

Property: Madeira Regency Club
Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo 9, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Club 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering panoramic views of the Madeiran coastline from its salt-water pool, the 4-star Regency Club features a restaurants and a health club. All air-conditioned apartments have a balcony and kitchenette. Spaciously laid out, all sunny apartments at Regency Club Madeira come with an LCD TV, seating area and modern bathroom. The majority of the apartments have ocean views. A breakfast buffet is served in the restaurant by the pool. The Yacht Bar Club overlooks the water and offers light meals for lunch and dinner. Guests have private sea access from the pool deck with its sun loungers. Apart from a sauna visit, guests can play squash or enjoy free transport to 2 of Madeira's golf courses. The centre of Funchal with its many bars and restaurants is 1 km away from Regency Club Madeira. This is our guests' favourite part of Funchal, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Madeira Regency Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Club Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Madeira
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Club Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing