We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Madeira Regency Club
Ranked #46 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We arrived at 11.50 on Monday 27th jan. We were greeted by Joel who was very helpful, he rang housekeeping to see if our apartment was ready, which it was. Lovely apartment on foor 8 overlooking pool and sea, very quiet just what we wanted. Clean and well equipt but could do with a bit of a make over. Can't fault it will go again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beverley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    192
    75
    25
    16
See reviews for
88
248
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We booked this via RCI Exchange as we normally stay at the Pestana Miramar just up the road. On arrival at around 11:50 on Monday 20 Jan we found the reception area deserted. Joel on the reception desk checked us in firstly with a demand for two weeks utility fees €100 which we were aware of. He gave us the room number but said it wouldn't be ready for some time, I went to investigate the location and found the maid just coming out so I went back to reception and he gave me the key. The room was a studio facing out of the back onto a large water tank and a private house. The balcony was a very small wedge which would struggle to seat two people. The rest of the room was very "tired" and the bathroom had a half size bath. The cooker in the kitchen was quite grubby. I went back to reception and politely requested a room change. I was told to return the following day after 10:00am. I did and was given another room in much better condition, facing out onto a church but you could see the sea. The carpets on the landings were water stained and there was a musty smell most of the time. There was no balcony. We stayed for two weeks with hardly any interaction from any of the staff. The seafront pool was quite nice and the Yacht Bar there served reasonable food. The location of the hotel is quite good for walking into Funchal but you face a very steep hill going the opposite way with no local bus stops. The on site shop no longer exists so you have an uphill walk to get the basics. On checking out I gave the room number, was told that there was a bill of €20 (we paid cash for drinks and food in the hotel)for the safe key, I paid this, and the receptionist then just walked away to serve someone else without another word, no "have you enjoyed your stay or have a safe journey home", very ignorant.
In my opinion this establishment does not rate as a 4 Star, only 3 Star at best.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room with a balcony in the central part, the side wings don't have balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ira J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Madeira Regency Club, Funchal and couldn't be happier with the hotel & Low Cost Holidays who we booked it through.

The booking & payment was simple, the helpline staff were friendly & knowledgeable. The flights were great, we had a private mini bus waiting for us & the driver was polite, friendly & helpful.

The hotel was lovely, the rooms were perfect & the staff couldn't do enough for us! The rooms were a bit dated & needed a little TLC but they were cleaned every day, had a great shower & bathroom, nice beds & plenty of wardrobe space.

The whole experience for our party of 4 adults and 2 children under 4 was wonderful. We can't fault anything. We will certainly be booking this holiday & hotel with Low Cost Holidays again and would recommend to anyone for a cheap but great holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

my studio was a decent size but the balcony was a tiny cheese wedge shape with the walls falling to bits and no view. The kitchen cupboards were very scruffy and the sofa looked like it was ready for the rubbish tip. I arrived about 9.30p.m., the information said there was a grocery store which there wasn't. The miserable man at the bar sold me a tea bag for nearly 2 euros, and a carton of milk which cost 3 times the price you would pay in a shop. Felt I was being exploited the moment I arrived.
Definitely not 4 star which saddens me as I am a very satisfied time share owner, this room (511) did not come up to scratch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valerie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

this was our third visit to the regency club and whilst there booked our next 2 weeks in the summer.

the prices are reasonable, the suites are spacious, the location is excellent, the staff are brilliant and breakfast is reasonably priced.

the kitchen in our suite, this time, was tiny. my wife did amazingly well to produce tasty meals including a roast chicken dinner and chicken curry. the kitchen needs a refurb as, for example, the veneer on a couple of the cupboards was hanging loose.

nothing detracts, however, from the overall comfort of the suites and the sea views are beautiful.

the hotel is currently offering a 4 week stay in a one bed suite, as an advance purchace, for 1650 euro. if we hadn't already bought 8 weeks forward we would be tempted.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clnwrgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have stayed at the Regency a number of times and we have always been satisfied.
The sea-view was fantastic. Breakfast at 9 Euro was excellent value. Close to Funchal centre.
Swimming in the sea is normally very good, but this year the pontoon was damaged in the winter storms.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was our 2nd visit to the regency and our son and his wife followed 2 weeks later. Great sea views from all apartments and ideally located for walking into Funchal and out to towards the Lido.
Accommodation spacious and well equipped, staff friendly and helpful. It would be nice if the pool was heated in January and the pool surrounds more foot friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms with double balconies are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madeira Bright Star
Madeira Bright Star
#67 of 86 in Funchal
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,116 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#25 of 86 in Funchal
947 reviews
0.7 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Club

Property: Madeira Regency Club
Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo 9, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Club 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering panoramic views of the Madeiran coastline from its salt-water pool, the 4-star Regency Club features a restaurants and a health club. All air-conditioned apartments have a balcony and kitchenette. Spaciously laid out, all sunny apartments at Regency Club Madeira come with an LCD TV, seating area and modern bathroom. The majority of the apartments have ocean views. A breakfast buffet is served in the restaurant by the pool. The Yacht Bar Club overlooks the water and offers light meals for lunch and dinner. Guests have private sea access from the pool deck with its sun loungers. Apart from a sauna visit, guests can play squash or enjoy free transport to 2 of Madeira's golf courses. The centre of Funchal with its many bars and restaurants is 1 km away from Regency Club Madeira. This is our guests' favourite part of Funchal, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Madeira Regency Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Club Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Madeira
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Club Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing