We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madeira Regency Club
Ranked #45 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 2 April 2014

First of all I think I have to say that I'm not sure why it warrants a 4* rating however having just stayed there for a week I can say that it was comfortable and I would stay there again.

Our room was comfortable and the kitchen area provides oven, hob, fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster, and coffee maker so for those who do want to do their own catering there was plenty of equipment.

Some of the rooms would have lovely views over the pool and sea although ours was at the back of the hotel and therefore didn't - it overlooked someone's yard. The hotel was clean and very well located, being close to the centre of Funchal. The pool area had plenty of sunbeds (and free towels) and the pool was nice and was located next to the see front.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Impressed_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent 2 weeks at the Regency Club on a first visit to Madeira and were delighted with our choice. We like comfort and versatility without paying for glitz. loved our room - actually a suite - overlooking the ocean and the ferry dock end of the harbour. We had a very private balcony and a useful small kitchen facility. The location is ideal for accessing the waterfront and downtown Funchal. It is closer to downtown than the newer glitzy hotels on the Monumental Ave. strip Good small restaurants nearby.

The facilities are not new but ar comfortable and for the most part have been very well maintained. The staff are professional and friendly.

Altogether we had a very enjoyable stay and would go back if we return to Madeira.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank forfarpec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just returned from the"club" after a nice relaxing week,in not always the warmest weather,but then it didn't rain!
We booked a break with "Easyjet Holidays" pleasant flight and a lovely room(not our normal timeshare apartment).Going to the same resort year after year may not be everyone's cup of tea, but it suits both of us.
Joel and his staff were as always friendly and helpful, the sunshine when it came meant hours by the pool being looked after by all the staff there, and the room
605 was spacious and comfortable,smiling maid service everyday and great views of the ocean and the cruise ships.
Thanks Madeira and all your lovely people and see you all again (11 weeks and 4 days) but who's counting!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank STEVE CLARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a Club where timeshare owners and their guests can enjoy the proximity of staying in self-catering apartments close to the city of Funchal. A short walk, downhill from the Club, brings you to museums, bus services sea-going attractions, shopping, restaurants and the cable car.

Room Tip: The best rooms for furnishings, and facilities are in the Main building and the upper floors; howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyelover_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We arrived at 11.50 on Monday 27th jan. We were greeted by Joel who was very helpful, he rang housekeeping to see if our apartment was ready, which it was. Lovely apartment on foor 8 overlooking pool and sea, very quiet just what we wanted. Clean and well equipt but could do with a bit of a make over. Can't fault it will go again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beverley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We booked this via RCI Exchange as we normally stay at the Pestana Miramar just up the road. On arrival at around 11:50 on Monday 20 Jan we found the reception area deserted. Joel on the reception desk checked us in firstly with a demand for two weeks utility fees €100 which we were aware of. He gave us the room number but said it wouldn't be ready for some time, I went to investigate the location and found the maid just coming out so I went back to reception and he gave me the key. The room was a studio facing out of the back onto a large water tank and a private house. The balcony was a very small wedge which would struggle to seat two people. The rest of the room was very "tired" and the bathroom had a half size bath. The cooker in the kitchen was quite grubby. I went back to reception and politely requested a room change. I was told to return the following day after 10:00am. I did and was given another room in much better condition, facing out onto a church but you could see the sea. The carpets on the landings were water stained and there was a musty smell most of the time. There was no balcony. We stayed for two weeks with hardly any interaction from any of the staff. The seafront pool was quite nice and the Yacht Bar there served reasonable food. The location of the hotel is quite good for walking into Funchal but you face a very steep hill going the opposite way with no local bus stops. The on site shop no longer exists so you have an uphill walk to get the basics. On checking out I gave the room number, was told that there was a bill of €20 (we paid cash for drinks and food in the hotel)for the safe key, I paid this, and the receptionist then just walked away to serve someone else without another word, no "have you enjoyed your stay or have a safe journey home", very ignorant.
In my opinion this establishment does not rate as a 4 Star, only 3 Star at best.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room with a balcony in the central part, the side wings don't have balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ira J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Madeira Regency Club, Funchal and couldn't be happier with the hotel & Low Cost Holidays who we booked it through.

The booking & payment was simple, the helpline staff were friendly & knowledgeable. The flights were great, we had a private mini bus waiting for us & the driver was polite, friendly & helpful.

The hotel was lovely, the rooms were perfect & the staff couldn't do enough for us! The rooms were a bit dated & needed a little TLC but they were cleaned every day, had a great shower & bathroom, nice beds & plenty of wardrobe space.

The whole experience for our party of 4 adults and 2 children under 4 was wonderful. We can't fault anything. We will certainly be booking this holiday & hotel with Low Cost Holidays again and would recommend to anyone for a cheap but great holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
3,063 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#31 of 88 in Funchal
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Village
Pestana Village
#28 of 88 in Funchal
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#30 of 88 in Funchal
530 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Club

Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo 9, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £59 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Club 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering panoramic views of the Madeiran coastline from its salt-water pool, the 4-star Regency Club features a restaurants and a health club. All air-conditioned apartments have a balcony and kitchenette. Spaciously laid out, all sunny apartments at Regency Club Madeira come with an LCD TV, seating area and modern bathroom. The majority of the apartments have ocean views. A breakfast buffet is served in the restaurant by the pool. The Yacht Bar Club overlooks the water and offers light meals for lunch and dinner. Guests have private sea access from the pool deck with its sun loungers. Apart from a sauna visit, guests can play squash or enjoy free transport to 2 of Madeira's golf courses. The centre of Funchal with its many bars and restaurants is 1 km away from Regency Club Madeira. This is our guests' favourite part of Funchal, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Madeira Regency Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Club Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Madeira
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Club Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing