We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madeira Regency Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Madeira Regency Club
Ranked #45 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Booked this hotel based on all excellent reviews for this hotel, that was a misstake. There is nothing in this hotel that is more than average. Service and smiles seems to be to be very hard to get in many places in Madeira and so also in this hotel.

Most staff seems to work really hard to avoid contact and any kind of service, was it not for the staff in the breakfast/pool bar it would be an even lower score.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fercen1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    185
    70
    24
    15
See reviews for
82
241
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NORTHOLT ENGLAND
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our annual summer stay at our second home,once again,most things were as normal,staff as always remarkably professional,polite and efficient.We used the sun beds most days apart from a trip, with our friends, for a full day around the west side of the island,the driver and very knowledgable guide,Rui,took us to the usual and not so usual stops,with lunch at Restaurant Orca in Porta Moniz a very pleasant day was had by all.
Looking forward to doing it all again very soon,

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank STEVE CLARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed on a self catering basis. We only wanted to make breakfast, hot drinks and sandwiches but we could have cooked a full meal if we had wanted with the equipment provided. Only criticism is that there were not enough power points in the kitchen so could only use 2 appliances (not counting the fridge) at one time. Two Spa shops within easy walking distance for shopping and an easy walk into town too.

The hotel staff were excellent and so was the restaurant when we chose to use it and not one near by.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our second year there will be going next year good staff great pool and access to swim in the sea. Rooms big and comfortable great views from balcony. Cleaned every day with clean towels left very good

Room Tip: Higher up the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paulette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Although the décor and furniture were a bit dated, the place was comfortable and clean, and there was plenty of storage space – which is not as common as it ought to be. Our apartment was on the eighth floor which gave excellent views over the Atlantic, the pool area across the road and the renowned Reid’s Hotel to the east. All of the rooms were spacious, the balcony was huge and the kitchen well-equipped. Nothing to fault, really.

Across the road – accessed by a foot bridge on the first floor followed a lift / staircase to level minus four – was the swimming pool and sundeck. Maybe the pool is a little on the small side (although adequate given the size of the establishment) and the surrounding area was exceptionally roomy, plus we were given complimentary tokens which we exchanged daily for clean towels. All very good: so why does my description sound lukewarm?

The negatives are not individually of great import, but add up. The staff were polite, but there was something lacking – which we understood completely when we heard that they were not being paid as regularly as they should and that there had in fact been strikes at the Hotel. The atmosphere was accordingly a bit subdued. The layout of the tiny car-park was awful and even the smallest cars would have difficulty manoeuvring in and out of the tiny spaces, although actually having a free car-park is something of a plus. The small jetty which should give access for sea-bathing lies broken into fragments and is fenced off. The area surrounding the pool is shown in photographs as being astroturf, but is in fact a nasty gravel surface which is impossible to walk on in bare feet. We didn’t eat or drink in the restaurant or bars, so I cannot comment on these.

The position of the Hotel is fabulous: 5 minutes walk to Sta Caterina park; 10 mins to the harbour; 15 mins to the Marina; 20 mins to the heart of town and 25 mins to the Old Town. I’ve given the place 4 Stars, but with a bit more effort and better treatment of its staff it could easily warrant the full five. I hope that the Regency Club manages to overcome whatever problems currently assail it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SemperteFallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay at Madeira Regency Club in a 2 bed unit, RCI exchange. Staff at reception did what they had to do checking us in and out but offered nothing further, not even a smile. Unit was ok, kitchen shabby with peeling units and a hob that only had 2 rings in use. Its ok if like us you don't really eat in except for breakfast. The unit was clean and functional but could do with a bit of an update. The beds and the pillows are the most uncomfortable ever and made by back ache really badly. The unit was cleaned daily to a good standard.
The swimming pool is nice, beside the sea and was always clean. The pool however closes at 6pm which is ridiculous as its the time when people come back from a day out and want to swim and relax with a drink by the pool.
While we were there we heard rumblings about financial problems and staff strikes which would explain most of the problems we encountered. A shame, this could be a lovely resort as its just a short stroll into Funchal town.

Room Tip: We were on floor 1. Higher up rooms would be better for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed in the Madeira Regency Club for one week in May 2014. We found the receptionist very unfriendly from the start. Our room was nice well laid out with a little kitchen and patio. However when I woke up the next morning I had no less than 8 mosquito ?? bites on my legs. The breakfast was just about adequate. The pool was small but nice, unfortunately we we not allowed to use it after 6pm nor could we use the surrounding area or sit in the loungers which is the only time that I like to sit in the sun. The worst part of our stay was when the domestic staff went on strike three days before our holiday was over. They had not been paid by the owners for two months. So now we had no pool attendants, no breakfast or food of any description no bar (no drink to console ourselves with) no clean towels no soap or other toiletries. We were eventually were told that if we asked at reception we would be given toilet rolls etc. We had breakfast down in Funchal and brought back the receipt only to be told it was not an official receipt. The story goes on. Our holiday was a very expensive one and thanks to that hotel was thoroughly and completely ruined. However rotten hotel aside Madeira is a most beautiful island.

Room Tip: Don't go near the Regency Club Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauragib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Avenue Park
0.1 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madeira Bright Star
Madeira Bright Star
#66 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#57 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Club

Property: Madeira Regency Club
Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo 9, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Club 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering panoramic views of the Madeiran coastline from its salt-water pool, the 4-star Regency Club features a restaurants and a health club. All air-conditioned apartments have a balcony and kitchenette. Spaciously laid out, all sunny apartments at Regency Club Madeira come with an LCD TV, seating area and modern bathroom. The majority of the apartments have ocean views. A breakfast buffet is served in the restaurant by the pool. The Yacht Bar Club overlooks the water and offers light meals for lunch and dinner. Guests have private sea access from the pool deck with its sun loungers. Apart from a sauna visit, guests can play squash or enjoy free transport to 2 of Madeira's golf courses. The centre of Funchal with its many bars and restaurants is 1 km away from Regency Club Madeira. This is our guests' favourite part of Funchal, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Madeira Regency Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Club Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Madeira
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Club Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing