We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too young for this one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Madeira Regency Club
Ranked #46 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 13 February 2010

Spent a week there make me feel young as average age must be over 60 traveling there. We arrived at 12.30 and was told the room would be ready by 14.00. They gave us the worst room possible there, at the back of the hotel, overlooking a dis-use pink hotel! I asked for a better room after a few days. We were given a room in front of the essential passage. We then found out we were the only one on that floor. The hotel was clean and not a lot else. We found staff were very cold. Bar staff were watching a movie although there was a football match 'Live' on the other channel. The weather was rubbish. Glad to be home.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alpinoUpminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
There are newer reviews for Madeira Regency Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2009

We became owners of a week here last year, and were looking forward to our first stay.
We were not dissapointed. I had read previous reviews, and I must say some were very harsh. We found the room very clean and we had all the kitchen requirements we felt we needed for a weeks stay. The pool area was very well staffed, and there was no 'fighting for beds'. The staff took their job very seriously. Joel, on reception couldn't have been more helpfull, especially as I had put the wrong date of our arrival!! and so to him, we were a day early, but he made it not problem at all. We can't wait to go back for a really relaxing and stress free holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trisha19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

A very nice place, the hotel and the city. Hotel is quite close to everything (the center and Lido). Easy to walk to everywhere. I was very happy when we found out that we have a balcony AND a terrace in our room. Little minus because the dock was under construction so there was no going to ocean. But a big plus to the small supermarket downstairs!

Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank SatuM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

The hotel is situated in between the centre of Funchal and the more popular Lido area of the town.

Our appartment was in a separate annex on the sea front. From the swimming pool area there is access to the sea via steps on a small breakwater. As with the rest of the island there is no sandy beach - just rocky outcrops and pebbles (perfect !)

This annex (The Yacht Club) contains a bar and reasonable restaurant.

However there is a good choice of restaurants to suite most tastes/budgets within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. There are even more in Funchal centre (about 20 mins walk) or the Lido area (about 15-30mins walk up an initial steepish slope).

My biggest complaint about hotel services is the cost of internet access. I don't find the "nominal" charge of 9EUR/hr at all reasonable and would expect complimentary internet from a hotel of this quality. (Free high-speed wifi access is available 5mins walk away !)

Funchal is a superb base from which to explore the island although a hire-car is essential to see it at its best. New road construction makes it easy and quick to access the southern coast and there are two separate routes to the north. If you have an aversion to tunnels however the new roads may not be a good idea !

Note that most of the old road network is still in-situ and has to be used to access some of the more remote areas. There are no dangers if you drive carefully and more slowly than the locals !

If you are thinking of driving on the island be warned that the most common car satnav systems such as TomTom do not include Madeira on their mapping systems. This is something that would be very useful as road signage is not alwys too helpful !

While there is a hotel garage for parking the access is limited and care is needed when parking. This wouldn't be so much of an issue if all guests parked in the marked bays !

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canarytops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

This is classed as four star, but in comparison to other really good four stars it was more a 3+. Facilities ok - buffet breakfast very nice, evening meals in Yacht Club ok but nothing to rave about. Pool quite small and unheated so uninviting out of season but I understand you can use indoor pool at sister hotel. Rooms based on self catering apartments - but do wish these places would provide even simple basics like washing up liquid, tea, coffee, sugar and salt because these end up adding to cost of holiday unecessarily. Staff attentive and helpful. Easy 10minute walking distance to Funchal and some very inviting restaurants at back of hotel. Don;t expect them to be cheap though - especially with pound being so bad against euro. If you take some meals at hotel - you can get 3 evening meals and 3 breakfasts for 85 euros per person.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddleAgedexpl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

This resort is for those people who are capable of entertaining themselves i.e. there is only a small amount of organised entertainment and most people appear to just want to relax and chill out.A quiet quality holiday.Having travelled extensively both for pleasure and for work,we just cant wait to get back to Madeira and especially "The Club".
The Garden Island is exactly what it is,the peace the tranquility,the people,what more do you want?

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STEVE CLARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Booked this hotel at last minute due to leaving an awful cruise.
Chose this hotel for its positive reviews on Trip Advisor and for its location.
The hotel is in a great location for shops and restaurants.
Paulo, on the main desk was extremely friendly and helpful in providing us with a gorgeous room with a sea view, separate living room and bed room and balcony. The room was spotlessly clean and the view from the balcony to die for.
This hotel has friendly helpful staff as well as being in a fabulous location. What more do you want.
When in Madeira stay here - you will love it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank airedale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,872 reviews
1.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 88 in Funchal
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Madeira Bright Star
Madeira Bright Star
#68 of 88 in Funchal
84 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 88 in Funchal
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Club

Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo 9, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £55 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Club 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering panoramic views of the Madeiran coastline from its salt-water pool, the 4-star Regency Club features a restaurants and a health club. All air-conditioned apartments have a balcony and kitchenette. Spaciously laid out, all sunny apartments at Regency Club Madeira come with an LCD TV, seating area and modern bathroom. The majority of the apartments have ocean views. A breakfast buffet is served in the restaurant by the pool. The Yacht Bar Club overlooks the water and offers light meals for lunch and dinner. Guests have private sea access from the pool deck with its sun loungers. Apart from a sauna visit, guests can play squash or enjoy free transport to 2 of Madeira's golf courses. The centre of Funchal with its many bars and restaurants is 1 km away from Regency Club Madeira. This is our guests' favourite part of Funchal, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Madeira Regency Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Club Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Madeira
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Club Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing