We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
Ranked #53 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 25 February 2012

It wont be your cheapest stay, but you get what you pay for!

What a delightful stay we had, excellent room with a balcony with city-view (they have garden-view rooms as well). And the view is only one of the cool details of this place, you see the whole city of Funchal as the hotel is located nicely on a hill overlooking the harbour, the coastline, the mountains... everything! So, it's not located around the big hotel strip down by the water, or close to the city centre, but instead away from the crowds. A shuttle is offered when leaving the hotel, this is really needed since outside the wall there's not much to do. We had a rental car (which solves that small inconvenience of being isolated), hotel parking is free.

If you stay in the hotel for dinner you can expect the best! Excellent staff, professional behaviour and the food is just fantastic. But again, you get what you pay for, not the cheapest meal around. And the breakfast, wow! The cold buffet is just perfect and many of the hot items are offered in a menu instead of keeping them in big pots on display. You have a great variety of eggs, hams, just about anything and it comes fresh like nothing else I've experienced. In fact, I rate the breakfast as best in the business, wow! And amazingly, special requests due allergies were nicely taken care of for the coming mornings, even when the staff had changed. Now, that's great service!

The spa is another pleasant experience. The pool is part indoors, part outdoors and you can swim 'through the wall'. You have the same great view of Funchal even when you're in the pool. They offer, of course, massage, steam bath, sauna and more. First class facility!

And, gladly to confirm, not only the hotel is five star, but the staff. From the reception to the restaurant, everyone was very polite, helpful, friendly, we had a feeling of being welcome. We stayed four nights at Quinta Das Vistas and we didn't experience anything but the best.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank berrahugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

As a normally critical reviewer I find myself unable to fault this hotel in any way. The staff, the catering and the general ambience were all first class. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, particularly for a shorter journey winter break.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good. A sea view costs extra.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We have just returned from from a 7 night stay at this hotel. This was our 3rd visit, together with friends, and we found that the warmth of our welcome and the high standards maintained by the staff to be unchanged. It was nice to be recognised by the staff from our previous visit. Our panaoramic sea view room was roomy and very comfortable. Excellent buffet breakfast included in our rate. Would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Panoramic rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

we stayed here the first week in july.we were quicklysorted out at reception by a very nice lady and were taken to our room,a junior suite by a member of staff who carried our suitcases to the room.
the suite was very spacious with a day room and a large bathroom and also a very large balcony with views of funchal and the sea.
the air con was very good and the room was nice and bright.
the swimming pools were small but adequate and were warm.
breakfast was included and the food was good with plenty of choice.
the main meals were very pricey so we went to funchal for our evening meals,and there are many good restaurants there with plenty of choice.
the hotel has a bus which will take you to town free but it stops about 1800hrs,after that there are plenty of taxis which cost about 7 euro.
overall we had a great holiday and all the staff were friendly.
i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonesthesmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I just returned from a 7 days trip to Funchal and I am very pleased to have chosen Quinta das Vistas Palace Gardens. The staff was absolutely lovely, polite and efficient. The Hotel is very well located, near to everything within a short taxi ride or by using the "carrinha" a transportation to and from Funchal center town. The restaurant is a must know and the chef is creative using the natural ingredients of the Madeira Island and the best of Portuguese and International cuisine. The Views that give name to the Quinta is superb, so is the swimming pool, the gardens, the room and the Spa. I dont recomend for children but I do recomend to people in need to rest or have a romantic or quiet pause. Beds are excelent, and I think all the staff is able to speak at least German, English, Portuguese and French. It is luxury at a Portuguese traditional level of hospitality. Free wi-fi Internet, a cumplimentary bottle of Madeira wine and Honey Cake, piano bar with a piano player. Transportation from and to the Airport avaiable. Wonderfull time I had.

Room Tip: Rooms to the garden are cheaper and just fine. There is plenty of natural light and no noise is hea...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Leflaneur14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Quinta Das Vista is a truly lovely hotel. We have just returned from a seven day stay and just cannot wait to go back to the same hotel in the spring. Staff are fantastic, the hotel is pristine, the pool and spa and hot tub are to die for, looking over the beautiful Madeira bay. We do not think this is a hotel for children (not much in the way of play areas) but for the more mature person who wants a quiet restful time, you cannot do much better. One small complaint, the courtesy bus does not run on Sundays, also, it could do with running a little later in the evening to Funchal. Also, tea/coffee making facilities would be nice in the room. Madeira is a lovely clean island, no graffiti or litter, no lager louts, as I said, we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandraE42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Just returned from an excellent stay at the quinta das vistas.

Plus points:
Beautiful views over Funchal with superb restaurant terrasse.
Pool bar.
Breakfasts (although the bacon could be crispier for my taste)
Pleasantness and efficiency of the staff.
Quiet and relaxing environment.
Big bed.
Excellent dinners.
Beautiful music piped through the restaurant and terrace area at breakfast time.
Pianist on Mondays and Fridays for dinner.
Overall a very sophisticated and relaxing atmosphere.
Cleanliness.
 
 
What could be improved:
Bathroom was fine although I would have expected something slightly more luxurious in feeling for a hotel of this category.
Carpet had a couple of small stains on it and was starting to look just a tiny bit worn.
Restaurant food in the evening is not cheap when you stray from the set menu (although the food is very good).

Tips:
Must go to "joe's bar" in the hotel Quinta da Penha França...amazing and inexpensive cocktails...order a "long" cocktail and you'll be amazed by the fruit decorations!
Also try the goldengate "grand café" in Funchal for coffee or meals.
Try the organised walk from poco da areiro.
Rent a car for a day and tour the island.
Visit the fruit Market and try the local produce on the first floor of the mercado dos labradores. Also upstairs at the market, enjoy a fresh orange juice at the beautiful bar on the balcony outside also upstairs on the first floor and get tips for sightseeing the island from the friendly staff.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the 4th floor.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rob2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 mi away
Quinta da Bela Vista
Quinta da Bela Vista
#21 of 88 in Funchal
923 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quinta do Monte
Quinta do Monte
#60 of 88 in Funchal
259 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quinta Mirabela
Quinta Mirabela
#47 of 88 in Funchal
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.6 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#15 of 88 in Funchal
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens

Address: Caminho Santo Antonio 52, Funchal, Madeira 9000-187, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#47 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £76 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Category: 5 Stars HotelLocation: On the brow of a hill above the capital, Funchal With panoramic views of downtown, the Atlantic Ocean and the surrounding mountains. Surrounded by 12.000 m² of mature centenary gardens 10 minutes by car or 20 minutes walk into the centre of town 25 minutes from the International Airport of MadeiraTransportation: Hotel courtesy bus service to Funchal - Marina Easily available taxis Bus stop to Funchal and other destinations to the west part of the island, about 3 minutes walking from the hotelParking Facilities: Free parking availableRooms at the Quinta das Vistas:63 Double Rooms (30m²) spread over three floors03 Junior Suites (45m²)04 Suites (50m²)01 Presidential Suite (80m²) on the top floor of the original house2 twin rooms specially equipped for guests with wheel chair Room Facilities: Private balcony with a superb views of the gardens, Funchal, the mountains or the Atlantic ocean Luxury wood and carpet floors Bathrooms with Portuguese marble and oak Bath with shower Separate area for toilet and bidet  Selection of bathroom amenities Air conditioning and heating individually controlled Double glazing Direct dial telephone Free Wireless in all rooms and public areas Electronic in-room safe free of charge Mini-bar Bathrobes Room slippers Internet access Sitting area with comfortable armchairs Dressing table with mirror Hair-dryer at the dressing table Cable TV with 30 Portuguese and international channels Wake-up and message system through the telephone system Non Smoking rooms available Family rooms available (2 main beds and 2 extra beds)Public Areas and Additional Facilities  Reception and lobby, Interior winter garden and a Formal lounge Cocktail Bar, veranda and terrace Panoramic gourmet restaurant, veranda and terrace Reserved area in the restaurant for non smokers Interior and exterior heated swimming pool Second exterior heated swimming pool Jacuzzi, Sauna, Turkish Bath, Relaxation Room with magnificent views, Sensations shower and Vichy bath, Foot Spa and panoramic Fitness room available free of charge Treatment rooms Magnificent tropical centenary gardens and green areas with paths surrounding the property, relaxation and rest areas e 9-holes mini golf Garden corners with different features  Vintage Rolls Royce available for special transfers Free reception of faxes and Sending service of faxes at Reception Laundry service with deliveries in 24 hours Organization of dry cleaning service (outside the hotel)  Breakfast in the room from 7:30 to 10:30  Room Service from 10:00 to 24:00The details that make the difference at Charming Hotels: The Resident Manager personally receives all arriving guests and will maintain a personal and regular contact with them to ensure their satisfaction and anticipate their requirements. All our guests are accompanied to their room on arrival  Gift on arrival of Madeira Wine & Madeira cake Free electronic room safe, bath robe and slippers  Free use of sauna, Turkish bath,, sensations shower, whirlpool, panoramic fitness room, and relaxation rooms and much more at Chandra Spa. Free use of the Health Centre & Fitness Room facilities Guests on Half Board may opt to eat at any of the Restaurants of Charming Hotels at no extra charge Vintage Rolls Royce available for VIP guests, anniversaries or birthdays A policy of addressing our guests by name A policy of special attention to all our guests needs  A policy of always being willing and able to help our guests A policy of making everything possibleRestaurants & Bars at Quinta das Vistas:Restaurant La Belle Terrasse:Situated in the centenary main house, it provides a wonderful colonial atmosphere with veranda and terrace.The gourmet menu offers creative dishes that combine local produce with exotic herbs and spices. The Executive Chef uses fresh herbs grown in the garden and only fresh produce that is carefully selected in the local farmers market.The dining room is decorated in keeping with the original architecture and colonial history of the house, reminiscent of the elegant romantic past of Madeira.The veranda and terrace are perfect for al fresco dining in the warm Madeira evenings.The service is a full a-la-carte complemented by the chef’s daily suggestions. Open for lunch and dinner.Albatroz Piano Bar:Situated in the main house the bar serves the winter garden, main lounge, veranda and terrace.Panoramic Pool Bar:Serves the pool area with drinks and original snacks. Open for light lunches. Relaxing atmosphere with cane chairs and wood sun umbrellas.The Royal Tea or Coffee, with freshly made scones and pastries is also served in the sitting room, veranda and terrace.Conference Room: Durão IDimensions: Total area 50.00 m² Length 6.80 m Width 7.30 m Height 3.50 m Air conditioning and heating Natural lightingCapacity: Convention Type – 40 persons Schoolroom style – 32 persons U type table – 18 persons Reception – 45 persons Banquet – 32 personsDurão IIDimensions: Total area 25.00 m² Length 6.30 m Width 3.90 m Height 3.50 m Air conditioning and heating Natural lightingCapacity: Convention Type – 20 persons Schoolroom style – 15 persons One table – 16 persons Reception – 25 persons Banquet – 16 personsDurão I + IIDimensions: Total area 78.00 m² Length 10.70 m Width 7.30 m Height 3.50 m Air conditioning and heating Natural lightingCapacity: Convention Type – 70 persons Schoolroom style – 50 persons U type table – 25 persons Reception – 60 persons Banquet – 55 personsPrices include: Flipchart, paper and 4 colour felt tip pens (black, blue, green and red) White board with 4 different board markers Pen  Folder of documents Waters for the Presidential TableSpecific audiovisual material: Possibility of providing a large range of audio-visual equipment. The quotation must be requested in advance as well as the reservation of the material.Coffee Breaks & Business lunch menus: A complete variety of choices are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens Hotel Funchal
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing