We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views, welcoming staff, excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
Ranked #54 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I stayed at Quinta das Vistas while attending a conference in Funchal. It is a quiet hilltop hotel overlooking the city and the ocean, comfortable inside and decorated in part in modern but also some antique furniture, always in good taste. The views are magnificent from the terrace where you dine and have breakfast. I am no expert on travel in Portugal or Southern Europe in general, but found my stay to be exceptionally enjoyable, relaxing but also quite affordable. The hotel staff was uniformly helpful and welcoming, and some were genuinely friendly and warm. All aspects of my stay were dealt with professionally, so for example a change of rooms to an ocean view (although the garden view room I had was good enough) was made as soon as it was practicable. Helpful staff suggestions for places to visit and a car hire made my stay all the more enjoyable, as I did not have to spend too much time on the little details and concentrated instead on the sites and places. Jacqueline at the reception was especially helpful with eyes of the beautiful sites of Madeira and patiently giving suggestions for visits with a smile. Overall the people I dealt with seemed to genuinely want their guests to enjoy their island, as the Madeirans themselves do when they go out, especially at night to the many bars and restaurants, only a few minutes away by taxi from the hotel. You can walk but a caveat is that cars in Madeira use Diesel fuel and that just obscures the sweet smell of flowers which you can experience late at night or in the very early hours when there are few cars on the roads. Also beware the lack of pavement down from the hotel part of the way, and with drivers speeding at you from behind curves, I wouldn't advise it. Just take a cab (5 euros or so) down to the old town and walk along the oceanfront, and you will enjoy the views as well as the walk. The main feature of this hotel is the spectacular view from the restaurant/breakfast terrace and the small but heated pool, and also the well appointed, clean and comfortable rooms. The warm welcome is not just a feature of the hotel staff, although marked, but rather appears to be present in Madeirans in general, who were one of the first places in Europe to receive visitors in search of relaxation, calm and hospitality, which I have found at this charming and friendly establishment.

Last but not least, the cuisine at the restaurant is first-rate, as well as the Portuguese wine selection.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank y_e_s_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2010

From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful. We were in our rooms within 10 minutes, where we found a small bottle of Madiera ans a cake waiting. The rooms were large, elegant and scrupulously clean; the bathrooms excellent. I had single use of an identical room to my daughter & son-in-law - only difference they had a massive bed whilst mine consisted of 2 large singles pushed together (I only used one obviously!).
I was slightly disappointed with the 'panoramic' view which was blocked by a row of very old trees and I feel they should charge less for these than ones higher up which look over the top of the trees. Having said that the mountain view to the left was lovely - when the clouds eventually disappeared! We left England basking in 30 degrees and spent the first few days dodging the clouds and the cool wind from the sea. Luck of the draw I suppose.
The breakfast selection was excellent and most days we were able to eat out on the terrace with it's stunning view of Funchal harbour - it was lovely watching cruise liners arrive and depart. Poolside lunches were disappointing and one day we waited 45 minutes for very simple dishes; they were also overpriced for what they were.
We tried the spa which was very good but, as there was only one therapist, we had appointments cancelled at the last minute. The pool area was superb with the warm infinity pool overlooking the main pool. Both are quite small but as there were no children they were adequate.
We ate at a different restaurant every night except ther last night when we went back to our favourite - Il Riso beyond the tourist trap 'old town' area. It is in a wonderful position overlooking the sea and the food (all based on rice) is fantastic.
All-in-all a relaxing week in a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumsybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

My husband and I have today returned from spending and unexpected 11 day holiday to Madeira (thank you Iceland Volcano!)
This Quinta is by far one of the best Quinta's on the Island which is very modern and close to Funchal centre although a good 20 mins by foot. (however, if you wish to have a more traditional Quinta we would recommend the 'Quinta da lago' which is in the style of a beautiful manor house with, lush gardens and excellent food)
The facilities at the 'Das Vistas' are excellent with a lovely bar, restaurant and view. However, the best quality of the hotel has to be the staff (look our for the lovely Luisa and David) nothing is too much trouble and they make you feel like you are the only guests in the building.
This is a place of relaxation not to be missed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

We also stayed at the sister hotel Quinta do Monte - this one is smarter, nearer to town and more expensive (book off-peak through the Charming Hotels website for discounted rates). The big draw is the stunning view from the terrace where breakfast (and cocktails!) was served. The pools are a bit pokey but the spa's very nice and its the first sauna I've been in with a sea view! The gardens are rather hyped up. Whilst they provide a bit of surrounding greenery, they aren't necessarilly somewhere that you could easily find somewhere to curl up with a good book.

We had a ground floor garden view room that we weren't impressed with at first because it looked at a bank and a hedge, however it was pretty quiet and secluded. The room itself was really nice, high quality linen and big silk bed cushions. The small free bottle of madeira and small honey cake was a nice touch.

If you walk in to town, don't listen to the route suggested by the staff, it's much further and bleaker. That being said, you need to pay attention with going the shortest route as there is no pavement for a bit of the way. It is a pretty steep climb but if you're fit and like the exercise, walking into town and back is perfectly do able. Buses run outside the hotel but watch the taxis, they're a rip-off - make sure they use a meter and don't load charges on at the beginning of the trip (I think it it should start at €2.00 during day time and €2.40 at night but check with a local.

The restaurant is expensive (€45 set meal) but the bar meals were very good value in Quinta do Monte so i imagine they would be here too (a meal for around €10) and the breakfast was very good.

The staff are generally friendly and there's free internet acces.

If you fly in with TAP, you can use the airport shuttle bus for free if you show your boarding card (run by a company called 'SAM'). Recommend to rent a car though www.economycarhire.com have always given us excellent rates in Portugal - parking in Funchal city may be tricky.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notioneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

For our first visit to Madeira we believe we chose a fantastic hotel, one that we would readily return to. It is situated away from the new towns Hotel Zone , with stunning views from dawn to dusk over Funchals marina, with the hills all around. The sight from the breakfast terrace of the sun rising a truly beautiful start to the day. The staff always smiling, polite and helpful throughout and blessed with a good knowledge of English. The greeting on arrival was one more akin to returning old friends , rather than first time visitors. The gardens even in mid October a pleasure to walk through and sit in..and the pools superb..the "indoor/outdoor" infinity pool with its direct view on to the Atlantic "dreamy and relaxing". The spas facilities excellent steam sauna and a range of massages and treatments readily available. Internet connections in all rooms and in the foyer a stand alone freely available PC. The restaurant and staff impeccable and the rooms and maid and room service highly efficient.
It is I believe more for adults, and not a childrens hotel..and its location splendid for views and tranquility means that guests (without cars) do rely on either the courtesy bus at 9.30am and 11.30am down into town and 4.30pm back or the wonderfully clean yellow Funchal cabs - although the walk to the Old Town or the Lido or Marina downhill can be done in 20 to 30 minutes but beware not many pavements!

Despite the Hotel Zones "flatter" location I would not hesitate when returning to Funchal to revist Quinta Das Vistas-- as the base for a fabulous Madeiran holiday

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonroncol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

After 5 days of holidays in the Madeira island, I can say that was the most relaxing holidays ever.
The hotel staff excellent allays friendly , service at the restaurant was fantastic (tasting menu was fabulous), everything was fantastic.

It is definitely the place to return.

Small advice the island tours and “levadas” walks is better that you book in the reception, you need to have in attention that some company’s have no pick-up (you must pay taxi to the place of departure of bus), which can be much more expensive –taxis-tours are also a good alternative -
Regards
stuttgart

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuttgart1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed in hotel Quinta das Vistas for 5 nights and felt sorry we had to leave. This hotel is perfect for relaxing and exploring Funchal. Only couples, no small children. It is quietly located above the oldtown. Rooms are large and comfortable. We do recommend to book a room with panoramic view, as the balcony overlooks the Funchal bay/town. Breakfast is delicious with a large choice of fresh bread, cheeses, fruit etc. Service is good: the staff tries to help you in every way (even checking the bus time tables on internet etc). We would definitely come back. We would also recommend this lovely restaurant: Casa Portuguesa on Travessa das Torres near the cable car station for perfect authentic cuisine and a very good wine list.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
943 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quinta da Bela Vista
Quinta da Bela Vista
#20 of 88 in Funchal
948 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.7 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens

Address: Caminho Santo Antonio 52, Funchal, Madeira 9000-187, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#48 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £77 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Category: 5 Stars HotelLocation: On the brow of a hill above the capital, Funchal With panoramic views of downtown, the Atlantic Ocean and the surrounding mountains. Surrounded by 12.000 m² of mature centenary gardens 10 minutes by car or 20 minutes walk into the centre of town 25 minutes from the International Airport of MadeiraTransportation: Hotel courtesy bus service to Funchal - Marina Easily available taxis Bus stop to Funchal and other destinations to the west part of the island, about 3 minutes walking from the hotelParking Facilities: Free parking availableRooms at the Quinta das Vistas:63 Double Rooms (30m²) spread over three floors03 Junior Suites (45m²)04 Suites (50m²)01 Presidential Suite (80m²) on the top floor of the original house2 twin rooms specially equipped for guests with wheel chair Room Facilities: Private balcony with a superb views of the gardens, Funchal, the mountains or the Atlantic ocean Luxury wood and carpet floors Bathrooms with Portuguese marble and oak Bath with shower Separate area for toilet and bidet  Selection of bathroom amenities Air conditioning and heating individually controlled Double glazing Direct dial telephone Free Wireless in all rooms and public areas Electronic in-room safe free of charge Mini-bar Bathrobes Room slippers Internet access Sitting area with comfortable armchairs Dressing table with mirror Hair-dryer at the dressing table Cable TV with 30 Portuguese and international channels Wake-up and message system through the telephone system Non Smoking rooms available Family rooms available (2 main beds and 2 extra beds)Public Areas and Additional Facilities  Reception and lobby, Interior winter garden and a Formal lounge Cocktail Bar, veranda and terrace Panoramic gourmet restaurant, veranda and terrace Reserved area in the restaurant for non smokers Interior and exterior heated swimming pool Second exterior heated swimming pool Jacuzzi, Sauna, Turkish Bath, Relaxation Room with magnificent views, Sensations shower and Vichy bath, Foot Spa and panoramic Fitness room available free of charge Treatment rooms Magnificent tropical centenary gardens and green areas with paths surrounding the property, relaxation and rest areas e 9-holes mini golf Garden corners with different features  Vintage Rolls Royce available for special transfers Free reception of faxes and Sending service of faxes at Reception Laundry service with deliveries in 24 hours Organization of dry cleaning service (outside the hotel)  Breakfast in the room from 7:30 to 10:30  Room Service from 10:00 to 24:00The details that make the difference at Charming Hotels: The Resident Manager personally receives all arriving guests and will maintain a personal and regular contact with them to ensure their satisfaction and anticipate their requirements. All our guests are accompanied to their room on arrival  Gift on arrival of Madeira Wine & Madeira cake Free electronic room safe, bath robe and slippers  Free use of sauna, Turkish bath,, sensations shower, whirlpool, panoramic fitness room, and relaxation rooms and much more at Chandra Spa. Free use of the Health Centre & Fitness Room facilities Guests on Half Board may opt to eat at any of the Restaurants of Charming Hotels at no extra charge Vintage Rolls Royce available for VIP guests, anniversaries or birthdays A policy of addressing our guests by name A policy of special attention to all our guests needs  A policy of always being willing and able to help our guests A policy of making everything possibleRestaurants & Bars at Quinta das Vistas:Restaurant La Belle Terrasse:Situated in the centenary main house, it provides a wonderful colonial atmosphere with veranda and terrace.The gourmet menu offers creative dishes that combine local produce with exotic herbs and spices. The Executive Chef uses fresh herbs grown in the garden and only fresh produce that is carefully selected in the local farmers market.The dining room is decorated in keeping with the original architecture and colonial history of the house, reminiscent of the elegant romantic past of Madeira.The veranda and terrace are perfect for al fresco dining in the warm Madeira evenings.The service is a full a-la-carte complemented by the chef’s daily suggestions. Open for lunch and dinner.Albatroz Piano Bar:Situated in the main house the bar serves the winter garden, main lounge, veranda and terrace.Panoramic Pool Bar:Serves the pool area with drinks and original snacks. Open for light lunches. Relaxing atmosphere with cane chairs and wood sun umbrellas.The Royal Tea or Coffee, with freshly made scones and pastries is also served in the sitting room, veranda and terrace.Conference Room: Durão IDimensions: Total area 50.00 m² Length 6.80 m Width 7.30 m Height 3.50 m Air conditioning and heating Natural lightingCapacity: Convention Type – 40 persons Schoolroom style – 32 persons U type table – 18 persons Reception – 45 persons Banquet – 32 personsDurão IIDimensions: Total area 25.00 m² Length 6.30 m Width 3.90 m Height 3.50 m Air conditioning and heating Natural lightingCapacity: Convention Type – 20 persons Schoolroom style – 15 persons One table – 16 persons Reception – 25 persons Banquet – 16 personsDurão I + IIDimensions: Total area 78.00 m² Length 10.70 m Width 7.30 m Height 3.50 m Air conditioning and heating Natural lightingCapacity: Convention Type – 70 persons Schoolroom style – 50 persons U type table – 25 persons Reception – 60 persons Banquet – 55 personsPrices include: Flipchart, paper and 4 colour felt tip pens (black, blue, green and red) White board with 4 different board markers Pen  Folder of documents Waters for the Presidential TableSpecific audiovisual material: Possibility of providing a large range of audio-visual equipment. The quotation must be requested in advance as well as the reservation of the material.Coffee Breaks & Business lunch menus: A complete variety of choices are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens Hotel Funchal
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing