We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quite the best hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
Ranked #54 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We stayed 10 nights and as we were half board, we ate in every night. The food was fantastic and all the staff so charming. Next time we would not go half board as there are lots of good restaurants in Funchal but would certainly take some meals in the hotel. The views are to die for and the pool area very attractive. Pool small but adequate and there is a spa too.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2011

This hotel had everything. Wonderful location with stunning views, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful comfortable bedroom, well appointed bathroom, and balcony with lovely views. Everything was spotless throughout the hotel. Pool areas were spacious with a bar where light meals were available from 10am. Ample sunbeds and loungers were in outside and indoor areas.This hotel also has a wonderful spa. The restaurant was lovely with stunning views over the mountains and port. Food was a bit pricy but very good and well presented. We elected to eat out most of the time as we wished to see as much of the island as possible. We took a couple of tours around the west and east of the island which were well worth doing. Levada walks are also an option, and the hotel provided a wonderful picnic on the day we went. There was a courtesy bus to and from the hotel into the town centre on 5days of the week. I had a special birthday while we were there and I was made to feel very special by all the staff. Altogether this was an experience we will never forget, and we will certainly be visiting this hotel again. It is 5 star through and through!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carole_luff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Lovely, quiet hotel with attentive but not intrusive staff. A class act all round.

We went away for my birthday and decided to go to Madeira where my partner is from.
Having previously stayed in the Savoy and seeking to again we could not get in (fully booked) so decided on what we thought would be the next best thing. Quinta das vistas, it actually outshone the Savoy by some considerable margin.

The day after our arrival the guest relations manager (Paula) pulled my partner to one side and had a quiet word. She had noticed my date of birth on my passport and wanted to organise a little surprise for me. Having gone into Funchal town for dinner we arrived back at our suite to find a birthday cake (very nice) candles and a little bottle of champagne waiting for us. I thought that this was a lovely touch and it made our stay really special.

The bar staff were attentive both night and day and would stay up for as long as we wished to sit outside and watch the shooting stars on the bar's balcony (we felt guilty after about 1 am and had to let the poor guy get some sleep).

The bar prices were very reasonable as were the minibar prices. The breakfast buffet had everything you could ever possibly want. We did eat in the restaurant once in the evening just to see if the food tasted as good as it looked. We were not disappointed, however like all hotel restaurants the meal was a little pricey.

Getting into town was a lovely 20 minute walk down a very steep hill, I wouldn't recommend trying to walk back up it unless you happen to be a mountain goat. Instead we opted for a taxi from Funchal central (about £6). on the way down the hill there is a little bakery on the right hand side. Gorgeous, real Madeira (cane sugar honey) cakes.

Bar service at the pool was outstanding and the staff were always smiling, pleasant and polite.

If you like your peace and quiet and like to be away from the larger busier hotels this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaddyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

This is our second visit to this hotel, and the standard is just as high.The staff are extremely helpful and pleasant, the food is good and breakfast is also excellant. We would recommend this hotel to anyone, the only drawback is getting into town if you miss the courtesy bus you have to go by taxi as the roads have no footpaths and are very steep. The hotel also runs an evening courtesy bus to its two other hotels so if you need a change of menu just book, we tried one of the other ones and it was just as good food wise.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytraveller186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Friendly informed staff
Excellent breakfast with large range of choice - service attentive
Pricey ,fussy restaurant so we generally ate in funchal
Difficult to walk from hotel into funchal so dependent on hotel transport or taxi

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AE-JD59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Smart, clean hotel. Five star - does what it says on the tin. Friendly prompt service. Superb location - the view over Funchal is exceptional - the only slight downside being that it's on a steep narrow busy road with no footpath, and if you're walking (as we were) you take your life in your hands! But then most streets in hillside Funchal are similar.

Just so you know - the hotel restaurant is expensive, we went down into Funchal town most evenings to get a meal.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlvinHaslemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

This was our third visit to Quinta Das Vistas and our most memorable to date.
We were treated brilliantly throughout our stay and all the staff are helpful, friendly and efficient.
In conversation at check-in (which was a breeze and a delight) we mentioned that we always visit during our wedding anniversary. Within minutes of being in our room we were surprised and so happy to be presented with champagne (the real stuff), a basket of fruit and hand-made chocolates which were wonderful!
Our room was great value and all areas of the hotel were spotless and superbly maintained.
Prices in the restaurant are not cheap but the adage "you get what you pay for" is certainly true as chef must be one of the best on the island. Quite simply the food was excellent!!
Location will always be an issue for some as the hotel is set back from the main centre and tourist area. You will however be rewarded with stunning views, a quieter setting and and still be close enough to the city centre to ensure the best of the weather. Hotels further back will inevitably be more inclined to cloud cover. The shuttle bus should be sufficient for most peoples needs and the taxi service on the island is good value and reliable (save the one driver who did seem to think he was at the Monaco Grand Prix!)
We had one use of the Spa aromatherapy session at the end of our stay - we wished we had used this earlier in the week as we would have used it again!
We reviewed the hotel in 2008 (our second stay) and we thought at that time that it failed to live up to our 2006 experience. We found out that they have made some significant changes since then and this reflects in our review this time. Naturally the rating average takes some time to alter the position of a hotel against others but disregard this hotel at your peril - it really should be amongst your top choices!
Will we go again? - absolutely!! We look forward to seeing all the staff there again in the not too distant future!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romanysgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Quinta da Bela Vista
Quinta da Bela Vista
#21 of 88 in Funchal
948 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.8 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
935 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#18 of 88 in Funchal
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens

Address: Caminho Santo Antonio 52, Funchal, Madeira 9000-187, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#47 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £70 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Category: 5 Stars HotelLocation: On the brow of a hill above the capital, Funchal With panoramic views of downtown, the Atlantic Ocean and the surrounding mountains. Surrounded by 12.000 m² of mature centenary gardens 10 minutes by car or 20 minutes walk into the centre of town 25 minutes from the International Airport of MadeiraTransportation: Hotel courtesy bus service to Funchal - Marina Easily available taxis Bus stop to Funchal and other destinations to the west part of the island, about 3 minutes walking from the hotelParking Facilities: Free parking availableRooms at the Quinta das Vistas:63 Double Rooms (30m²) spread over three floors03 Junior Suites (45m²)04 Suites (50m²)01 Presidential Suite (80m²) on the top floor of the original house2 twin rooms specially equipped for guests with wheel chair Room Facilities: Private balcony with a superb views of the gardens, Funchal, the mountains or the Atlantic ocean Luxury wood and carpet floors Bathrooms with Portuguese marble and oak Bath with shower Separate area for toilet and bidet  Selection of bathroom amenities Air conditioning and heating individually controlled Double glazing Direct dial telephone Free Wireless in all rooms and public areas Electronic in-room safe free of charge Mini-bar Bathrobes Room slippers Internet access Sitting area with comfortable armchairs Dressing table with mirror Hair-dryer at the dressing table Cable TV with 30 Portuguese and international channels Wake-up and message system through the telephone system Non Smoking rooms available Family rooms available (2 main beds and 2 extra beds)Public Areas and Additional Facilities  Reception and lobby, Interior winter garden and a Formal lounge Cocktail Bar, veranda and terrace Panoramic gourmet restaurant, veranda and terrace Reserved area in the restaurant for non smokers Interior and exterior heated swimming pool Second exterior heated swimming pool Jacuzzi, Sauna, Turkish Bath, Relaxation Room with magnificent views, Sensations shower and Vichy bath, Foot Spa and panoramic Fitness room available free of charge Treatment rooms Magnificent tropical centenary gardens and green areas with paths surrounding the property, relaxation and rest areas e 9-holes mini golf Garden corners with different features  Vintage Rolls Royce available for special transfers Free reception of faxes and Sending service of faxes at Reception Laundry service with deliveries in 24 hours Organization of dry cleaning service (outside the hotel)  Breakfast in the room from 7:30 to 10:30  Room Service from 10:00 to 24:00The details that make the difference at Charming Hotels: The Resident Manager personally receives all arriving guests and will maintain a personal and regular contact with them to ensure their satisfaction and anticipate their requirements. All our guests are accompanied to their room on arrival  Gift on arrival of Madeira Wine & Madeira cake Free electronic room safe, bath robe and slippers  Free use of sauna, Turkish bath,, sensations shower, whirlpool, panoramic fitness room, and relaxation rooms and much more at Chandra Spa. Free use of the Health Centre & Fitness Room facilities Guests on Half Board may opt to eat at any of the Restaurants of Charming Hotels at no extra charge Vintage Rolls Royce available for VIP guests, anniversaries or birthdays A policy of addressing our guests by name A policy of special attention to all our guests needs  A policy of always being willing and able to help our guests A policy of making everything possibleRestaurants & Bars at Quinta das Vistas:Restaurant La Belle Terrasse:Situated in the centenary main house, it provides a wonderful colonial atmosphere with veranda and terrace.The gourmet menu offers creative dishes that combine local produce with exotic herbs and spices. The Executive Chef uses fresh herbs grown in the garden and only fresh produce that is carefully selected in the local farmers market.The dining room is decorated in keeping with the original architecture and colonial history of the house, reminiscent of the elegant romantic past of Madeira.The veranda and terrace are perfect for al fresco dining in the warm Madeira evenings.The service is a full a-la-carte complemented by the chef’s daily suggestions. Open for lunch and dinner.Albatroz Piano Bar:Situated in the main house the bar serves the winter garden, main lounge, veranda and terrace.Panoramic Pool Bar:Serves the pool area with drinks and original snacks. Open for light lunches. Relaxing atmosphere with cane chairs and wood sun umbrellas.The Royal Tea or Coffee, with freshly made scones and pastries is also served in the sitting room, veranda and terrace.Conference Room: Durão IDimensions: Total area 50.00 m² Length 6.80 m Width 7.30 m Height 3.50 m Air conditioning and heating Natural lightingCapacity: Convention Type – 40 persons Schoolroom style – 32 persons U type table – 18 persons Reception – 45 persons Banquet – 32 personsDurão IIDimensions: Total area 25.00 m² Length 6.30 m Width 3.90 m Height 3.50 m Air conditioning and heating Natural lightingCapacity: Convention Type – 20 persons Schoolroom style – 15 persons One table – 16 persons Reception – 25 persons Banquet – 16 personsDurão I + IIDimensions: Total area 78.00 m² Length 10.70 m Width 7.30 m Height 3.50 m Air conditioning and heating Natural lightingCapacity: Convention Type – 70 persons Schoolroom style – 50 persons U type table – 25 persons Reception – 60 persons Banquet – 55 personsPrices include: Flipchart, paper and 4 colour felt tip pens (black, blue, green and red) White board with 4 different board markers Pen  Folder of documents Waters for the Presidential TableSpecific audiovisual material: Possibility of providing a large range of audio-visual equipment. The quotation must be requested in advance as well as the reservation of the material.Coffee Breaks & Business lunch menus: A complete variety of choices are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens Hotel Funchal
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing