We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, what more can I say?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Funchal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Albergaria Dias
Ranked #1 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
WALTON-ON-THAMES, SURREY
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent, what more can I say?”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We spent 4 nights here in November 2011, we paid EUR107 for a room with a sea view, including breakfast. When we arrived we were greeted by the receptionist and by the owner, Mr. Diaz, personally. We were upgraded at no extra charge to a large room on the 4th floor, which had a huge bathroom with bath and shower (which had horizontal jets of water, fixed shower above, and flexible shower on hose). The huge balcony had a jacuzzi , two sun beds and a lovely view of the sea/harbour, and the hills behind. The hotel's location is it's best feature, it is in a secluded part of the old town, just two minutes walk from some wonderful restaurants. The staff are so helpful. The hotel is spotless, I saw them cleaning between the bannister rails of the stairs. The owner, Mr. Diaz, makes home-made jam for breakfast, and supervises everything minutely, and is always asking guests (he calls us members of his family) how they are doing. The only criticism is that the free wifi is only on the ground floor (though there is a computer there which can be used free by guests).

Room Tip: Rooms 401 and 402 on the top floor are huge and luxurious. Third floor rooms facing south have a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldChap33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    35
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
404
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We recently stayed for a week. Mr Dias, his family and staff were always very helpful and friendly which helped to make it a lovely week. We stayed on the fourth floor of the hotel, there are two rooms on this floor and ours was the smaller room (402). We felt the extra we paid for this room was worth it for the privacy and the lovely terrace where we watched the liners coming into Funchal. There are plenty of restaurants in the old town, whatever your taste. A visit to the restaurant in the fort is enjoyable but you need to book. Mozart restaurant has the same owner and menu. The hotel is very clean, breakfast is enjoyable, especially the fruit salad! While we were there the weather was good and so the pool area was relaxing with towels provided. There are snacks available from late morning. Funchal is a working city and there are no beaches unless you visit Porto Santo but there is lots to do - visit the different gardens, toboggan ride, cable car, levada walks, explore the island, We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Albergaria Dias - Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikey1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We spent a lovely week staying here from October 24th. We had a twin room overlooking the swimming pool on the first floor which was immaculate at all times, a small fridge was included, handy for keeping a cool drink in. Towels were changed daily and bathrobes provided. Storage was very good and a safe provided at 2 euros per day.
We were warmly welcomed by the owner and staff and given a tour of the hotel before being settled on the terrace with a complimentary drink of our choice. Throughout our stay any questions we had were answered fully and helpfully.
The pool was a good size and plenty of sun loungers were provided. Snacks of delicious salads, sandwiches and cakes can be bought all day and the drinks selection is very good.
The hotel is in an ideal location for the old town and the rear gated exit and entrance is ideal.
Yes people approached you to enter the restaurants if you chose to walk down that street where they were all next door to one another but if you simply said not today they were not rude. Funchal has plenty to offer from promenade walks to vigorous or leisurely levada walks and has some beautiful parks. The cable car ride up and down Monte was fabulous but you can go by local bus or come back down half way in the basket ride. The tropical gardens are a delight and a combined ticket was on offer for the cable car and gardens.
On returning to the hotel there is a warm welcome, there are staff on 24 hours a day. There is an extensive library of book and magazines to borrow and a sauna to ease the muscles if levada walks have proved strenuous. There is free internet access on one computer if you need to check emails or travel arrangements or the staff will do it for you.
The breakfast provided for all tastes and two mornings special sweet treats were served.
We ate in a different restaurant every night, all good, some superb.
I could not fault the level of service and comfort in this hotel and have recommended it to friends who regularly travel to Madeira.
Thank you for a wonderful holiday Mr Dias and staff!

Room Tip: Top floor will give better views to sea on one side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dancingassassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We really liked the hotel. We think we got a good deal on our package holiday - making it very good value for money.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful - they answered all of our questions about public transport. Breakfast was pleasant with a good choice - very nice fruit salad. The room was spacious and clean. We think it was worth paying a little bit extra for the sea view - giving a good view over the harbour and the cruise ships coming and going. Very handy location for the old town - a few minutes walk to the cable car.
Overall we had a very pleasant week there - even with the rain.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veloce298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The hotel itself was ok as was the staff , breakfast was very poor compared to some hotels we've stayed in - they have a fitness centre LOL - which if you consider 3 clapped out pieces of equipment a gym then thats ok , all the streets are full of guys trying to get you in their restaurants and i was asked if i wanted a taxi by every cab driver i passed which got on my t*ts,
The Island itself (we hired a car) is absolutely stunning up in the mountain the views are staggering - little winding lanes which reminded me of Devon & lots of Tunnels and i mean lots lol ,the cable car up to the Jardim Monte Palace is highly recommend i couldn't fault the Island its certainly beautiful but if you want a bit of night life -and i don't mean disco's then Funchal's not for you , after 10 pm its a cemetery with lights .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank alan_daviesSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Just back from a fabulous week at this superb hotel. If you're looking for loud music and lots of action, this isn't the place for you - but if, like us, you're after great customer service, peace and quiet and a great location then this is the perfect hotel. Located in the Old Town area of Funchal, just a couple of minutes walk away are any number of restaurants and bars - more than enough for a week's stay and probably also enough to dine somewhere different every night for 2 weeks! Breakfasts at the hotel are great, buffet style, help yourself to as much as you want - both hot and cold food. Snacks are available for lunch if you're having a lazy day. The staff are all very friendly and happy to help with any query, everyone is made to feel as if they matter and not just yet another tourist occupying a room. Don't pack a pile of books as there is a very well stocked library. Cleanliness was outstanding, no complaints at all. Our favourite restaurant was the Cidade Velha, just before the entrance to the Fort, only about 50 yards away from the rear entrance of the hotel. Great food, great prices and no hassle! Also handy are the cable car, local buses and tourist buses. We're planning a return trip next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dizzy33Derby_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

All the glowing reviews are well justified so any minor criticisms must be viewed in context.
So what about the odd criticisms? Its a pity that they feel they have to charge €2 per day to use the safe. Pool temperature was 75F during our stay which was a little chilly but ok once you were in. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room so bring your own travel kettle.These are my only criticisms of a wonderful hotel.
The entire hotel is spotless, staff are very knowledgeable, helpful and genuinely friendly. Bath robes are provided in the room. The fridge in the room keeps drinks really cold. Air-conditioning worked well. Breakfast was really superb and if the kind of cooked eggs were not available on a particular morning you just asked for them and they were happily provided. Yes, the fruit salad is as good as everyone says!
The location in the old town is ideal for the old town restaurants, cable car, buses and taxis and walking into the city. It is true that many of the houses look rough or are derelict but that is part of its character. Efforts are being made to make the area more attractive by painting murals on doors and walls.
Go and enjoy this wonderful small hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pool but the higher you are the better the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank John_the_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 86 in Funchal
1,814 reviews
2.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergaria Dias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergaria Dias

Property: Hotel Albergaria Dias
Address: Rua Bela S Tiago 44-B, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#8 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#9 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Albergaria Dias 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Albergaria Dias Funchal
Albergaria Dias Hotel Funchal
Hotel Albergaria Dias Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing