We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Funchal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Albergaria Dias
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Returned for a week following lovely holiday last year and as soon as we stepped through the door, knew we had made the right decision. Mr Dias and his staff are so genuinely warm and friendly you feel instantly at home. As last year the breakfasts were great with a new delicious home made jam, custard apple, this year.
The location is perfect, a couple of streets from the sea front in the old town. A leisurely stroll out through the garden gate takes you into cobbled streets close to good selection of retaurants. Also close to cable car and bus station, as well as not too far from shops etc. There's also a bank very close, which was great for getting cash.
Bonus for us this year was Room 402 on top floor. Huge balcony with great views, table, chairs, sun beds and a jacuzzi!!!
We were already talking about returning next year before the week was over, and the personal farewell from Mr Dias as well as his ever helpful staff left us feeling more like friends than guests.

Room Tip: Third floor and above have best views of sea, but all face the pool area. Fourth floor has two rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Densian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

Just returned from staying at the Albergaria Dias, great hotel. Rooms are clean, linen changed everyday. Hotel is quiet and comfortable. Staff are brilliant really friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great a variety of natural fruit juices, great fruit salad and a lovely passion fruit mousse homemade. Good location close to restaurants in the old town. Can't say enough about this lovely hotel. Thanks for a great holiday. Hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I read the reviews here on Tripadvisor before booking a room at this hotel and I was not disappointed at all. The facilities are very good and the breakfast was great - they offer a good variety of natural fruit juices and great fresh fruit salad! Papayas in Madeira are very tasty.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We have recently returned from 2 weeks at the Albergaria Dias. We have travelled all over the world and this was the loveliest hotel we have ever stayed in in Europe. The rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable, the whole place is immaculate and the staff are the most genuinely friendly people we have ever met. Breakfast was excellent, fresh and plentiful, seved 8-10am, although if you came down towards the end they would make sure everyone had what they needed before they cleared away. Nothing was too much trouble and we booked our trips through the hotel which was a first as you can mostly find cheaper elsewhere in other resorts. We did 2 full days going to the East and West of the island and a half day to Nun's valley and some view points. For anyone who has never been to Madeira (and we hadn't) this really opened our eyes to how breathtakingly beautiful this island is. The pool was quiet and peaceful and sunbeds were never a problem, there is a small gym, free internet and a whole array of books to choose from in different languages.The Albergaria Dias has a small gate down the pathway at the side which leads down to the road and the old town. There are quiet cobbled streets to wander around and several restaurants quite close by but beware of the ones who try to drag you in! The Italian Xarambinha was fantastic, their steak on the stone was great and we enjoyed some very good pasta and pizza too. You will see a lot of local people eating here and it was always busy. A little bit more upmarket but no more expensive was the O'Porto just round the corner. Some of the restaurants we tried were a bit bland and we went to these two several times each and were never disappointed! The bars are all about the same and serve a local drink called poncho which is a mix of rum,honey and lemon juice. It's worth a try and prices for this do vary. We found a bar down the side street which runs parallel to the main road called the 113 bar, they're poncho's were great at 1 euro 50c. A place to chill and people watch as the tables are in the street. Funchal wasn't really what we expected in relation to other European cities. The shops close on Saturday afternoons and all day Sunday and it didn't seem to have a buzz about it like most cities. We were very unlucky with the weather as the first week was almost all cloud, humidity and some rain. We were very impressed with the beautiful countryside and scenery but will probably not return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dixyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Wonderfull greeting on arrival great start just got better and better.The owners of this hotel care for it like its their baby should i say anymore.Extremely clean,all staff genuinely polite and helpful great location in the charming old town.The breakfast was high standard including cooked omletes and pancakes fresh fruit and juices nothing re cycled like some places, nothing was too much trouble for these wonderfull staff and owners.Thanks very much for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Dont worry about rooms etc all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TURNIPCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had a lovely 12 day stay here. The staff were wonderful - friendly and always helpful. They all speak several languages and go out of their way to help. The hotel does not have much land but the owner has done a wonderful job in the garden- beautiful flowers everywhere. The pool area is nice but the pool is a little chilly - by mid afternoon it is fine but a morning swim is out of the question!!

Breakfast was lovely - usual selection of bread, meat, cheese, fruit salad and a small selection of hot food. Drinks were available in the bar and around the pool - would recommend the Sangria!! Shame they don't do any type of food after 4pm- as we have a baby it would have been great to be able to get some food in the evening. There is a computer available for use with internet - we could never get the WIFI to work so we didn't use our own iPad.

The room was clean and we had a lovely view over the pool and towards the sea. There is cable TV with a good range of English speaking channels. There is also a fridge rather than a minibar which in my opinion is much better as we could fill it up with lots of cheap drinks and water. As we have a baby we had a cot put in the room - this did make it feel a little small and it was difficult to get around the bed - if not for the cot the room would have been perfectly fine. There are twin beds - which is fine - they are not the most comfortable beds but are ok.

Location of the hotel is in the old town near all the restaurants -there is a little path from the hotel directly into the square with all the restaurants. However you are further away from the Lido which also has good places to visit. Taxis are not much though and it is probably better to be in the Old town than on the Lido.


Overall a wonderful place to stay and I would strongly recommend it to people - although probably not if you have a child/baby as space is rather limited. Thanks to all the staff for making it a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 1st Floor as you will not have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sarahvix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed here with friends for six nights. Excellent in every way. The welcome was warm and efficient, including being shown round by friendly receptionist and a welcome drink. Everything was spotless and well organised. Breakfast was ample and the buffet was constantly replenished. Mr Dias, having helped in the kitchen went round the guests every day with friendly and informative chat. He was also there to wish us well as we departed.

Light snack lunches and fresh fruit and home made cakes are available indoors or round the pool. A number of excellent restaurants are no more than a couple of minutes walk away. Mr Dias has trustworthy recommendations. (The Fort is outstanding value). Just a thought - the picturesque swimming pool was somewhat chilly - I only saw one guest swimming!

Room Tip: You pay extra for the full sea view rooms, and also get a view of derelict buildings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank subortna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,972 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 88 in Funchal
1,894 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
847 reviews
2.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergaria Dias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergaria Dias

Address: Rua Bela S Tiago 44-B, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#9 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £71 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Albergaria Dias 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Albergaria Dias Funchal
Albergaria Dias Hotel Funchal
Hotel Albergaria Dias Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing