We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Albergaria Dias

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Funchal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Albergaria Dias
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

This was our second visit to the hotel & was fantastic! The staff are great and the general atmosphere they create seems to make all the guests mix! I don't have a single negative thing to say about this hotel - needless to say, we have already booked for next year!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaymad22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    34
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
391
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We have just returned from our first holiday in Madeira and spent two weeks at the Hotel Albergaria Dias. What a treat! From the warm welcome, to the room and balcony, the breakfast, the lovely, well trained, staff everything was excellent. Mr Dias, his family and his staff are what makes this hotel stand out from the rest. Everyone is friendly, effortlessly efficient, and happy to advise or just pass the time of day. The hotel and grounds are spotless and a real haven away from the bustle of Funchal. If you are looking for a large hotel with stacks of 'facilities' don't go to this hotel! If you want a small, elegant, exceptionally clean hotel offering friendly staff, excellent food, lovely pool and gardens this is the place for you. There is even a small gym and library. The bar and terrace is a pleasant place to relax and, in my opinion, makes the best Poncha in Funchal (and I carried out a comprehensive survey!!). Being in the Old Town is a huge advantage for this hotel as it is a short walk to the local restaurants, the cable car, the bus station, the waterfront and the town itself with it's shops and famous market. All in all, a lovely holiday was had in superb surroundings on a beautiful island. We shall definately be returning!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, clean and well furnished. Ours was on the 2nd floor which gave a good, only sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

We are just back from our second visit to this wonderful hotel.the staff are excellent,always stoping to have a chat with you about your day.We are returning again in 6 weeks to see the christmas lights in funchal.We took our brother and his wife with us this time and they want to return again next year.We had the two rooms at the top with amazing views.The only thing i would say they need better quality sunbeds on the balconys to match the standard of the rooms.Cant wait to return to this family run hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhalesengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

We chose this hotel, based on the many 'small & friendly' comments. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, great help & advice from reception. If there was someting they didn't know, they were more than happy to research the answer & get back to you. The breakfast was good, plenty of choice. Location ideal to explore the old town & beyond.

Room Tip: We ahd a pratial sea view on the first floor, nice & peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caractacusherts2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Joao da Madeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

From the smart and friendly assistance at the front desk to the owners themselves who always had a few minutes for a chat (all spoke very good English), this hotel is absolutely excellent in every way.
The entire place is manicured and spotless and all the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and lovely with balconies overlooking the pool and ocean. There is on site parking although it's fairly squeezey unless you drive a tiny car.
The buffet breakfast was included in our room rate of 80 euros per night (for 2 adults and a young child). It is well worth it. We were surprised to find the owner and his dad in chef's hats going in and out of the kitchen but these are two guys that clearly love being in the hospitality industry and it shows. They serve homemade jams and cakes too.
It's in the middle of the old town with a back gate that lets out on to the street with painted doors and many restaurants.
I cannot recommend The Albergaris Dias enough. It was a very nice two days for us.

Room Tip: The first floor costs slightly less but still has a good view. Room 105 is perfect as the plants on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3spiceys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have just spent a lovely 2 weeks at the Albergaria Dias hotel. Everything that is in other reviews is accurate and we could not fault the hotel for friendliness, helpfulness and knowlege of the island and the rooms and breakfasts. Part of the reason for going to Madeira was for the walking and we quickly realised we needed to book a few organised levada walks. The hotel booked these for us with Flora Travel (there is a leaflet in reception and their office is near the cable car). These were really well organised and friendly with around 10-20 people on each walk. We particularly enjoyed the walk from Ribeiro Frio to Portela and this walk is do-able independently once you have got the hang of the buses which are frequent and on-time.The western island trip is also well worth while doing and if you book through Flora Travel (much cheaper than Thomson and just as professional) you might get Ali or Hilario who are great guides.
The location of the hotel is perfect. We like to eat where we can see the sea so we ate at 2 main places, by the harbour - any of these restaursnts are fine and they will put a table on the harbour side for you if you ask. The main restaurant we went to was the Cidade Velha, just by, but not inside, the fort in the old town. This restaurant is a gem. The waiters are all delightful and welcomed us back every night. In fact, they saved a table for us on our last night without being asked which really touched us. Go there, it is really very good and the perfect spot especially as the weather was hot and pretty humid so the other old town restaurants, which looked very nice too, were a bit too stifling for us.
The most scary walk was along the Levada de Tournos from Palheiro Ferreiro and we missed the turning for the Botanical Gardens and continued to Monte. There was part of the path which was extremely vertiginous at one side with no rail or fence. However, I walked very closely behind my husband's rucksack and did it. ..and I am not good with heights! We did it properly a few days later and called at the Hortensia tea room - a must, it is lovely and quite surreal. All other walks were fine as they have put up many good fences including the great walk along the Ponta de Sao Lourenco - get a bus to Baia Abra and back.
Great place. We will come back again in the future and would not want to stay in any other hotel

Room Tip: We booked a sea view room and, to make doubly sure, e-mailed the hotel to ask for a 3rd floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rose c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, South Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Returned for a week following lovely holiday last year and as soon as we stepped through the door, knew we had made the right decision. Mr Dias and his staff are so genuinely warm and friendly you feel instantly at home. As last year the breakfasts were great with a new delicious home made jam, custard apple, this year.
The location is perfect, a couple of streets from the sea front in the old town. A leisurely stroll out through the garden gate takes you into cobbled streets close to good selection of retaurants. Also close to cable car and bus station, as well as not too far from shops etc. There's also a bank very close, which was great for getting cash.
Bonus for us this year was Room 402 on top floor. Huge balcony with great views, table, chairs, sun beds and a jacuzzi!!!
We were already talking about returning next year before the week was over, and the personal farewell from Mr Dias as well as his ever helpful staff left us feeling more like friends than guests.

Room Tip: Third floor and above have best views of sea, but all face the pool area. Fourth floor has two rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Densian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergaria Dias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergaria Dias

Property: Hotel Albergaria Dias
Address: Rua Bela S Tiago 44-B, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#6 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#9 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Albergaria Dias 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Albergaria Dias Funchal
Albergaria Dias Hotel Funchal
Hotel Albergaria Dias Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing