We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday hotel I've ever stayed in.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Funchal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Albergaria Dias
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Couldn't recommend this hotel more highly. Very pleasant owner and staff. Excellent location - good view from room 309 as able to watch the cruise ships come in and out. Quiet rooms, good bathroom and good beds. Breakfast had everything we could wish for and we had two lunches which were also good. There are some great restaurants nearby and a lovely little path into the old town. The cable car is not far away and within easy walking distance. We will be making a return to this hotel in the next few years and will recommend it to family and friends. Thank you to all the staff for making our holiday memorable.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Marthamuffin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Albergaria Dias
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was our first visit to Madeira and we couldn't have selected a better hotel - a small, friendly family run business. The owner, Mr Dias, and his excellent staff, really do pay attention to detail. On arrival we received a very warm welcome, shown around the hotel and grounds and invited for a refreshing drink on the terrace.
The rooms (and hotel in general) was spotlessly clean and comfortable with a decent sized balcony on which to relax. Please note however, there are no tea / coffee making facilities in the rooms.
Breakfast consisted of a reasonable choice of hot and cold dishes, cereals, fresh fruits and continental fare. (Suggestion: if you prefer a decent stronger cup of tea, take your own tea bags.)
Light lunches, sandwiches, salads etc. are available, but we found many restaurants in the immediate vicinity offering similar meals for half the price.
An oasis of tranquillity is what this hotel usually is. However, be aware that next door (eastern end) there is the hall of residence for the town's university students. Although never overly intrusive during our stay, the noise emanating from the other side of the fence could potentially be enough to shatter that tranquil atmosphere.
Access to the old town could not be easier - a short walk through the back gate and there you are - an abundance of restaurants and bars to choose from (don't forget to try up the hill as well as down), an easy stroll to the cable car (to Monte), and further afield, the market, the marina / harbour, the cathedral and museums. (The entire length of the marina is currently being reconstructed, and will be for some time to come.) NB: sensible walking shoes required; leave the heels at home ladies!
All in all, the hotel more than met our expectations, and we would have no qualms about recommending the Albergaria Dias to other travellers.

Room Tip: Second, third and fourth floors have partial / full sea views. Rooms away from University students...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My wife and I trawled TripAdvisor looking for the right place for our first holiday without kids. We read some wonderful reviews and decided to have our holiday here. Totally the right choice, the location and staff are what made for a wonderful holiday. Mr Dias was a great host and he is at the hotel from 6.30 am to do the breakfast with his very capable staff. There is a very good choice of cereals, bacon, eggs, grilled tomatoes, chorizo and onions and pancakes there is also a good selection of continental fare and to top that there is also the fresh every day fruit salad and if you don't like that there's yogurt. The hotel is spotlessly clean the rooms are comfortable. The pool may not be heated but it is a welcome relief when the day is hot.there are plenty of sun loungers around the pool and shaded seating to have a drink or snack. Because your in the old part of the town you are in a prime location for all the best restaurants the tour buses the cable car and the marina.We really enjoyed our two week stay and would like to thank everyone for helping to make it a great holiday. Mr Dias snr and jnr, Cecilia, Monica, Liliana, Carla,Tanya, Luisa, Ullises please forgive us if we spelled any of your names wrong. This is a true gem of Madeira and one not to be missed thanks to you all.

Room Tip: If you like a cup of tea or coffee in your room like we do please pack a travel kettle and tea and c...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKJester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent a few days here over the New Year. I read the TripAdvisor review before booking and I have to say Albergaria Dias turned out to be everything that was promised. Mr Dias treats his guests like family and he will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. His staff are always on hand when you need them and they always have a ready smile. There's always some extra little touch from Mr Dias such as surprise packages to accompany your meal; it may be as simple as a little taste of some local speciality fruit which he has packaged for you to take away with you. The fireworks display is spectacular all around the harbour at New Year and while we were there Mr Dias invited all his guests to watch from the top floor of the building; he turned it into a little party and laid on food for everyone. If you are going to Madeira, you won't find a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was our first visit to Madeira and we couldn't have chosen anywhere better to stay. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome.the rooms weren't quite ready so we were shown around the ground floor and given a welcome drink on the terrace. Then we were shown to our room and what a lovely surprise we were given the suite which had a large living area and bedroom, and two bathrooms one housing the bath and the other the shower, wc etc. There was a small fridge in the bedroom. Then the best bit was the large balcony with two Sun loungers and umbrella umbrellas a table and chairs with beautiful views over funchal and the harbour.
Out the gate at the back led to rua de de santa maria which is the oldest street in funchal and is full of restaurants, yes they do ask you if you want to eat in their restaurants as you pass, we just said no thanks and carried on walking, some are more persistent than others. The hotel is central for all the sights of Funchal if you don't mind climbing the hills to some of them. It is very handy for the cable car to Monte.
How any one can complain about the breakfast amazes me. There is a choice of hot and cold foods, consisting of eggs alternating between fried, scrambled or omelettes, bacon, pancakes, then there are at least 8 different types of bread and rolls, a variety of ham and cheese, jams and fruit, not forgetting the famous fruit salad, there was always madeira cake as well and yogurts. To drink there were 4 different juices and a variety of teas and coffee.
They don't do meals but you can get sandwiches, toasties etc during the day which were very good and reasonably priced.
The hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean, very peaceful even though there is major building work going on at the seafront you could hear very little in the Hotel and grounds.
We didn't use the Hotel bar as we had a drink with our meal and then just relaxed on our balcony or in our room.
All in all an excellent hotel and a wonderful holiday.
Thank you to all the staff at the Hotel Albergaria Dias.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have sea views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smaPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Just arrived home from a fantastic 7 night holiday at this hotel (wish we had booked 14). I think it is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in (and we are frequent travellers worldwide).
It is a small boutique hotel - spotlessly clean. The owner and staff are excellent - very friendly, welcoming, and professional. The rooms are modern and very comfortable. We paid extra for a sea view on the third floor, which also overlooked the old town buildings and across the bay with a view of Reids Palace Hotel. There are also two rooms on the fourth floor which I am sure would have nice views over the old town. There is extensive work being carried out at the Harbour front but there is no noise at this hotel and once you are aware of the work you do not notice it. Should all be lovely when its finished.
The breakfasts at Albergaria are excellent - everything you could want for breakfast and Mr Dias makes a fantastic fresh mixed fruit salad, which many other visitors have commented on. You can order light lunches - sandwiches, toasted sandwiches, chips, and we tried Mr Dias traditional fresh tomato soup which is delicious. They also serve a variety of drinks - again we particularly enjoyed Mr Dias fresh lemonade. We also enjoyed the cocktails.
The dining room is very nice and there is a lovely terrace overlooking the pool. Excellent swimming pool and very pretty and well kept gardens.
The hotel also knows English speaking taxi drivers and we used them to take us all over the island - they were also excellent. They take you to place that coaches cannot get to and it is a much nicer way to see the Island as you can take your time. We shared the taxi with another couple which made it cheaper.
The old town is lovely to walk around. There are many very good restaurants (which I will review separately). It is true that the waiters do try to get you into their restaurant, but its is not a problem - we had a chat and a laugh with them all as we were walking round and they are all very good humoured even if you don't eat at their restaurant.
We treated ourselves to afternoon tea at Reids Palace Hotel. A lovely experience.
So .... yes, Hotel Albergaria Dias is a fantastic hotel on a fantastic island with fantastic people ......... we don't usually go back ..... but we will be back to your hotel Mr Dias.
Thank you for making our holiday so special.
Ann + Derek XX

Room Tip: Higher floor for the view
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cats41Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The hotel staff are OK.
The breakfast was very poor missing allot of small details- the fitness centre is also very very poor - not many pieces of equipment, Near the hotel the Old part of the town have many restaurants and bares and are full of people trying to get us in their restaurants and bares it was not nice.
The Island itself (we hired a car) is absolutely beautifull from side to side (Porto Moniz, Santana, Curral das Freiras, Monte all really beautiful ,the cable car up to the Jardim Monte Palace is highly recommend also.
Will be back to Madeira but not to the same hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,933 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 88 in Funchal
1,863 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
839 reviews
2.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 88 in Funchal
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergaria Dias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergaria Dias

Address: Rua Bela S Tiago 44-B, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#9 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £70 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Albergaria Dias 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Albergaria Dias Funchal
Albergaria Dias Hotel Funchal
Hotel Albergaria Dias Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing