We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the best”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Funchal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Albergaria Dias
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Still the best”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

A wonderful small & friendly hotel located in the old town. We have returned time and time again and feel really at home here. I think most things have been said but would add that the wooden balcony chairs are extremely comfortable, which we have found not always to be the case in some hotels, and when we return in the afternoon like to sit out on the balcony listening to the silence and watching the cruise ships depart. Incidentally, this hotel has got the best library we have ever come across so you do not have to take a pile of books away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheeseEatersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    34
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
397
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cotonou, Benin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We chose the Albergaria Dias after reading many favourable reviews and it really did live up to its reputation as a friendly, hospitable and comfortable hotel ideally placed in Funchal. What makes it special? Well, we stayed last year at the Quintinha Sao Joao, which equally deserves its excellent rating, but are more likely to return to the Albergaria Dias. The rooms are not as big, nor are their separate showers and baths as at the Sao Joao, but we simply felt more at home and relaxed at this family-run hotel where the owner seems to be always on hand and the staff quickly remember their various British, German and French guests, slipping easily into the various languages.
Not many people ventured into the pool in late November – one swimmer reckoned the sea was warmer but that was probably because the Atlantic Ocean is not filtered – but it is a nice size and ringed with sunbeds for the surprisingly warm and frequent sun for the time of year. Nor did the gym and sauna seem at all busy but these are good facilities to have, along with wifi in the bar/poolside area just about catchable at times on the first floor. Most guests were middle-aged to senior, which could explain the lack of a rush to the workout equipment, but don’t think Madeira is not for the young as the high numbers of young European visitors out and about in the country attests.
Breakfasts are excellent in the poolside room and cater for British/German tastes with a choice of hot and cold dishes and fruit on the buffet. Eggs were in a different form each day. For the rest of the time, snacks and drinks are available but the Albergaria Dias sensibly does not try to compete with the dozens of restaurants within a few minutes’ walking.
One of its major assets is the access by a private garden path in less than a minute to the Old Town of Funchal and then another minute or so to the seaside wall. Besides the many and varied restaurants (O Portao seconds from the garden gate is one of the best), the bus station and the cable car to the top of Funchal and its various gardens are just 5-10 minutes walk at most. Walking on to the harbour or the commercial area of town is another 10-15 minutes but if you want to go to the Lido area with the big hotels then a local bus or taxi is advised unless you enjoy walking. For us, this easy access on foot to Funchal’s facilities would really make a big difference to deciding where to stay had we been on a first visit to Funchal.
However, we do agree with other comments about the vehicle access if you decide to hire a car. It is very narrow and steep entrance and be prepared for more than just three-point turns to get in the small number of car spaces. You will get used to it but we would recommend hiring a car in Madeira only to drivers who do not get nervous about very steep, adverse cambered and sometimes precipitous roads. A rented car is a great way of getting around but Madeiran drivers do like to admire the back of your car, seem oblivious to speed limits and are not especially patient. If you only plan on one or two walking trips or excursions then it is probably simpler to join organised trips. That said, we have hired on three trips to Madeira and never regretted setting our own timetables.
Don’t be concerned be concerned about noise from the harbour works, the Albergaria Dias is far enough back for it not to be an issue. In short, unless you want to be out at a rural base for a hiking-oriented holiday, I can’t think of anywhere better than the Albergaria Dias in Funchal centre.

Room Tip: Upper floors will have more of a sea view if you feel it is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ceciliami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We seldom go the same holiday destination twice but we liked Madeira so much 5 years ago that we arranged to squeeze in a short stay on route from the UK to the Azores. Hotel Albergaria Dias was as good as all the reviews suggest, but one recommendation we have is to have a rental car brought to the hotel for the days you want to explore the island. Having only 3 days we chose to pick up the car at the airport, but the hotel was difficult to find and to get into when we first arrived. It was much easier to find once we were familiar with that part of Funchal, and to re-enter the gate with the "clicker" provided.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed for a week at the Albergaria Dias in Funchal. We had the warmest of welcomes from all the staff and the hotel owner; it is a 'small and friendly' hotel booked via Thomsons. Nothing disappointed, we had a wonderful top floor suite of rooms with a fabulous view to the harbour and the hills overlooking Funchal; complimentary drink on arrival and the staff showed us round the breakfast room, the pool area and facilities. The breakfast selection was impressive, with hot and cold buffets; everywhere was spotlessly clean. A little lane out of the back of the hotel led to old Funchal, a few minutes away we were spoiled for choice with over 20 restaurants. The food was excellent, we tried 4 different restaurants in 7 days, went back to our favourite the Portao three times. The hotel is well situated for quick access to the town, the amazing fish, flower and vegetable market, the cablecar to Monte and long walks along the prom. We would love to return we could not have had a better or kinder reception at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandRocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We picked this hotel for our first trip to Madeira based on the reviews and were not disappointed. We chose between this and one of the big chain hotels and were so glad we made this decision. From the moment we set foot in the hotel we were treated like an old friend, greeted by the most helpful reception staff you could ask for with a complimentary drink, and later the owner and his son.

We had a room on the 3rd floor with fantastic views of the harbour. The only downside is a couple of old buildings which need pulling down but they don't obscure the view too much. It is a small hotel so always very quiet and peaceful and you could always guarantee a sun-lounger round the pool.

The location is absolutely perfect, with numerous restaurants just minutes away and only a short walk in to the centre of Funchal. A lot of the restaurants in the centre close in the evening so being in the Old Town was the best location as the restaurants are open until at least 10pm.

I couldn't fault this hotel and would stay here again if I came back to Funchal.

Room Tip: The best views of the harbour are from the 3rd or fourth floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelofthenorth36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had a week in the Albergaria Dias in Oct. 2013. We booked directly with the hotel (and took flights with Monarch). The hotel arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the airport (30 euros). We landed at 10.15am, and had wondered whether our room would be ready, but it was, and after we had been treated to a complimentary welcome drink we were able to unpack. Our room was on the 2nd floor with views of the sea. It was cool, comfortable and well-equipped. The hotel is ideally placed in the Old Town: the bus stops and cable car, and a great choice of restaurants, are within 10 minutes walk, and the Cathedral is 10 minutes further on. The swimming pool offers a pleasant, sheltered place to take a cooling dip. Breakfast is buffet-style with a good range of cold dishes, and hot options including sliced chorizo and onion, bacon and egg. This is very much a family-run establishment; which permeates through to the staff who are extremely friendly and do all they can to help. I would not hesitate in recommending the Albergaria Dias.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetheoutdoors2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albans, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was our second stay at Albergaria Dias and nothing, thank goodness, has changed. Good rooms with attention to details (lots of hangers in the wardrobe!), absolute cleanliness all round and a perfect location. Walk out the back of the hotel and you're in Rua Santa Maria in the Old Town, where all the best restaurants are located. Our favourite was Portao, but we didn't have a bad meal in all those we tried.

Turn left as you leave the hotel and there is a lovely bar at the top of the hill overlooking the sea.

Coming back to the hotel, all the staff were so helpful and friendly, and we got to know them all by name very quickly. We particularly enjoyed our evening conversations with 'young Mr Dias' and wish him luck in London next week at the Thomson awards night.

Room Tip: The higher you are, the better the view. But all rooms are on the sea side of the building. Try fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungry_Hedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,771 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergaria Dias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergaria Dias

Property: Hotel Albergaria Dias
Address: Rua Bela S Tiago 44-B, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#9 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Albergaria Dias 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Albergaria Dias Funchal
Albergaria Dias Hotel Funchal
Hotel Albergaria Dias Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing