We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Funchal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Albergaria Dias
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a fantastic week at the albergaria Dias . We'd never stayed in a small and friendly Thompson hotel before and were delighted with the friendly personal service we received. We would definitely return again . It was my "60" birthday while we were there and the hotel gave me some lovely flowers and the reception staff even sang me happy birthday !! The location was ideal as the old town was directly accessed from the back of the hotel through a small gate ( reminiscent of the secret garden!), which was well lit in the evening. Plenty of places to eat within a minute or two of the hotel. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet540402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    34
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
397
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was our second stay in the Albergaria Dias although we have visited Madeira many times.
The location is ideal for the Old Town, the harbour and the cablecar. The Dias family and their staff are very friendly and deserve the many awards on show from travel companies.
If you like a harbour view to watch the cruise ships arrive and depart, a large private terrace and a spacious suite on the top floor then pay a little extra. Arrange this direct with the hotel before you travel. It's well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WinstonGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

All the reviews here have described The Albergaria Dias perfectly. The hotel was in a great location,,,,Funchal is very hilly so a few steps away and we were in the heart of the old town. The Dias family richly deserve all the awards they have gained. The staff were great, the welcome warm and the breakfasts amazing. Miss it all already. Thankyou!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itchyfeet2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We have just returned from a week here and miss it already! We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived with a cool glass of beer by the pool. Unfortunately it was a lilttle chilly for swimming but looked lovely. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The hotel is ideally positioned near the old town and also for catching buses which we did frequently to walk the levadas. I was thrilled with the gorgeous flowers that were left in my room on my birthday. Thank you! They are now in my kitchen to remind me of our great time in Madeira.
Breakfasts were great. I loved the home made jams and especially the 'famous' fruit salad. Unfortunately we had a very loud snorer next door otherwise I'm sure my sleep would have been rated 'excellent'!

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor with a partial sea view which was great. Obviously the higher up you go the bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueBrit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were there for Christmas 2013 and I can sum up this hotel in a few words: I truly hope that we will be able to go there again for Christmas 2014! Brilliant hotel, lovely people and I loved the poncha!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueOakley-Dunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rethymnon, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

It's very difficult to write a review about this lovely little place as it's all been said. it was our first trip back to Funchal in 12 years. Previous visits we had always stayed in the Lido area. Never again after staying at the Albergaria. Funchal is still as lovely as before especially coming up to Christmas. We had lunch a couple of times at the Ideal bar overlooking the small park area where the men play cards. You can get a delicious steak sandwich for €2.50.
We didn't like the hassle outside the restaurants. I'm sure they would do better if they let people make up their own minds where to eat.
We are hoping our next visit to Funchal will be for the Carnival in 2015. Will definitely book again with Thomson

Room Tip: We paid extra for 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank car0line50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

After holidaying at Albergaria Dias for many years we decided to visit for the New Year Fireworks Festival and are now kicking ourselves for not having done this years ago! What a fantastic experience from the general atmosphere of celebration and bonhomie around town to the splendid care and hospitality provided by the Dias family and their charming staff at the hotel.

Albergaria Dias is unlike all the hotels a mile or more away out of Funchal centre in the hotel zone. It is between the Fort and the Harbour in the old part of town, close to all amenities, in an area full of atmosphere (bars and restaurants too) that has grown over the last couple of years into the area where the 'beautiful people' of Funchal seem to enjoy the nightlife. The hotel does not provide an evening meal service - it doesn't need to as there are dozens of good restaurants, stretching from it's entrance for 200 metres or more. Some provide food in the local style, others something to please any palate, e.g. pizza & pasta, Chinese, Indian etc. A couple also have Fado singing while you eat.

Breakfast is taken in the breakfast restaurant which extends into the bar area and out on to the sun terrace. The buffet looks small and compact but offers a great variety of cold and hot food. Specialties include cured ham, fresh fruit in abundance, homemade jams, freshly prepared fruit juices and cakes baked by Senhora Dias.

Father and son, both called Joao, take pride in the treatment their guests receive and are always visible about the hotel making sure everyone is happy. Cecilia, Louisa, Carla & Lilliana at reception always greet guests with a smile and kind word and help willingly with requests. Monica & Ulisses in the bar make sure you thirst is quenched and are equally charming.

There is such a warm personal feel about this hotel that was especially evident on New Year's Eve when Joao junior joined over 20 guests in one of the restaurants for a celebratory meal. Afterwards he invited all his guests on to the roof terrace to watch the beautiful and moving firework display at midnight, providing sparkling wine and snacks. Hospitality at its best!

Restaurants we have road tested and like: O Portao, Estrella do Mar, Le Jardin & O Tapassol all nearby and Armazem do Sal, a short walk away towards Funchal centre.
There are dozens more to try and do not be put off by the guys who stand outside trying to pull you in. We have found them generally good natured, especially if you are prepared to stop for a brief chat - we have made friends of most of them by doing just that.

Can't recommend this hotel highly enough and can see no reason why anybody looking for a small, intimate hotel rather than a vast, impersonal, international one would not enjoy a stay here. here

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea. View of sea varies from zero on floor 1 to full on floor 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank spitfire2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergaria Dias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergaria Dias

Property: Hotel Albergaria Dias
Address: Rua Bela S Tiago 44-B, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#9 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Albergaria Dias 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Albergaria Dias Funchal
Albergaria Dias Hotel Funchal
Hotel Albergaria Dias Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing