We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“British Hotels could learn a lot from this one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madeira Regency Cliff
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2011

I've stayed in lots of hotels this year but this has been the most luxurious. The room was great - big, neat, clean and with a great sea view. We paid extra for the 'Superior' room on the recommendations on Tripadvisor (chose the hotel as it was a top ten rating) and were not disappointed.
Top likes: size of room and ensuite; friendliness of staff (including welcome on arrival); facilities; views; breakfast on the rooftop terrace; cleanliness of hotel; quietness.
Watch out for (these are minor details - nitpicking!): mosquitoes (made the mistake of leaving balcony door open in the evening with lights on); only a dozen parking places (but we managed to squeeze the hire car in each day); two pools but they are both small; much better on the inside than the outside view from the road; directions from 'Strawberry World' are incorrect (get them from the hotel!); better restaurants in Camoro and the Old Town than near the hotel; could have done without the folk dancing!
Overall, it was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. It was peaceful, the sound of the waves through the balcony door and children playing in the Lido below were all that could be heard. Marvellous, and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Peaceful, neat, clean, great views.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Singe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about our hotel and Staff. The opinion of our guest’s are very important to us as we believe it is the only way we can maintain and improve our service. We are pleased to learn that you were impressed with our views and with the friendliness of our Staff.
We are also glad that you consider Regency Cliff one of the best hotels you have ever stayed and that you will recommend us.
We sincerely hope to welcome you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,157)
There are newer reviews for Madeira Regency Cliff
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

749 - 755 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2011

A lovely quiet hotel - perfect for me and the grandparents. A great New Year's Party was had by all and we didn't even have to leave the hotel to see the fireworks. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Quiet hotel as there was little entertainment and the bar closed at 11pm.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kentcalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your holiday in Regency Cliff.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming in a near future,

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Having had the Madeira Regency Cliff recommended by friends who'd recently stayed there we were more than happy with everything the hotel delivered, even down to our request to have a room like the one in the picture on their website (Premium Room). Unfortunately we were only able to stay four nights (would have liked to have stayed longer) but during the stay couldn't fault anything the hotel provided in terms of facilities and quality. The staff and management were attentive (treated us to a complimentary bottle of bubbly, as it was our 25th anniversary), the views from the room balconies were as good as any I've seen from a hotel and the whole stay was beyond our expectations. If in the future we travel back to Madeira we'd without doubt try to get a room at the Madeira Regency Cliff.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingsmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to learn that Regency Cliff was recommended by friends and that we manage to exceed your expectations. It is a pity you only stayed for four nights, as there are a lot of things to do and see in Madeira.
We sincerely hope you return to our Island and to our hotel.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

I'd read other views about the hotel which prompted me to book. I am not a great lover of hotels as I usually find them stuffy and claustrophobic, but this place is great. It is very quiet and we slept really well. We got upgraded to a superior room which was large and well fitted out, but the balcony was superb. It is designed so that all you can see is the see and the rocks below. The hotel service is excellent and the staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. The breakfast is filling, on sunny days, it is served on the outside terrace - again with lovely views. We stayed B&B so I cannot comment on the evening meals but there are good restaurants nearby. All in all a great stay and I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonic60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to learn that the opinions of our guests helped you to choose Madeira Regency Cliff.
We are very pleased to learn that we fulfilled your expectations and that you would highly recommend the hotel.
We thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you in a near future,

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Well located slightly away from the main cluster of Funchal hotels but with great views of the city and the sea, this smallish hotel is a real gem -- with staff who are friendly, welcoming and efficient. The rooms are spacious, well laid out and comfortable. Free WiFi plus an internet enabled computer in the lobby area is a bonus. Other reviewers have commented in more detail on what the hotel has to offer and I would share those positive comments.

Being located on a very active bus route and within easy walking distance of one of Funchal's biggest shopping centres PLUS many good options for eating out makes a great combination.

At the same time, the hotel itself is a peaceful and quiet oasis.

Hopefully, we will be back....

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank still_trucking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyClif, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for review and kind comments. We are very pleased to learn that you found our hotel to be a “peaceful and quite oasis”. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Stayed for a week - B&B. Lovely bedroom. Bed very comfortable and everything so clean.
Breakfast was varied and plentiful. Only downside was the coffee - no taste to it. Resorted to taking tea instead and bought a cafetiere and filter coffee so that I could have a decent coffee when in my room. No noise at all in hotel.
Staff were always friendly and helpful, as were any Maderians I encountered. Even the bus drivers were pleasant and helpful which is unusual for Brits! Eating out was good and reasonably priced. Cannot think of any downside to my holiday. Would certainly return . Unfortunately the hotel does not have a separate lounge it is really the hotel lobby and one must walk through part of the dining room to use the lift to the bedrooms. I found this a bit off-putting.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyClif, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to learn that overall you enjoyed your holiday and that you would return to our hotel.
We all look forward to welcoming you in a very near future,

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

As this is our fourth stay at the Madeira Regency Cliff our forthcoming comments are secondary to this recommendation.
My wife and I enjoy staying at stylish hotels around the world, such as the Marriott chain and the Hyatts. we can easily place this hotel up amongst the big league groups for its style, professionalism and friendliness throughout our numerous stays. The rooms are well equipped, roomy and with the latest update of complimentary Wi-Fi in all areas beneficial for leisure and business travellers alike.
The wonderful sea views and ambience are to be experienced by anyone who desires a modern but quiet hotel that is within striking distance of restuarants, nightlife and the centre of the capital Funchal. This, in our opinion, allows for the holiday/vacation to be as quiet or exciting as one wants.
As a former Sgt Major in the British Military I expect the best. The Madeira Regency Cliff exceeds this effortlessly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skippymorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyClif, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are very pleased to hear that we fulfilled and exceed your expectations once again. We thank you for your continued preference. Regency Cliff Team look forward to pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 88 in Funchal
1,398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 88 in Funchal
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £77 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing