We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to fault, we'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madeira Regency Cliff
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We had a lovely time, the hotel was great, staff very efficient and friendly We stayed in a superior room which was spacious and with a large balcony from which there were great views. Tea & coffe making facilities was a bonus as we find we don't get this normally in european rooms. The beds were very comfy. Breakfasts were great with a good choice of hot & cold. There was a spa but we did not use it.

Room Tip: We had a superior room on 3rd floor which was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debs093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you will return to Regency Cliff.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming in a very near future.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

751 - 757 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2011

This is the first time i`ve written on anything,but feel compelled,for all the right reasons to write this.We`ve stayed in many hotels in many locations and almost never lower than four star rating, but the Madiera Regency Cliff was simlpy the best.
Stunning location looking from a cliff straight out to sea,shopping centre just over the road,also some very nice little bars and restaurants.The friendliest people employed all through hotel,receptionists who just cant do enough to help.A lovely buffet breakfast,with enough choice for all,wonderful and spotless rooms.I could go on and on,but hopefully anyone thinking of booking this hotel will have the jist of this review by now.We are definately going back,and probably next year at that..the only down point of this holiday is we didn`t stay long enough.ps...if you do go,book the very reasonably priced trip on the double decker open topped bus,where you can get off stay a while at various different places then catch the next one or one after that (about every half hour),highly recommended...see you soon Madiera

Room Tip: Just go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Davewestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank for sharing your opinion with all trip advisor readers. We are very pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations and that you are planning to return again next year.

On behalf of the management and Staff we thank your kind comments.
We hope to see you back very soon.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This is the third time we have stayed at the Regency Cliff Hotel in as many years.The Regency is situated in an excellent position with all rooms having a sea view.The rooms are spacious.The breakfast is first-class with a variation to suit everyone.Finally the staff are all very friendly and nothing is to much trouble for them.My wife and i will be returning to Madeira and staying at The Regency Cliff in 2012 knowing we will be very well looked after.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank philip42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Dear Guest,

It was indeed with great joy that the Team of Madeira Regency Cliff welcomed you for the 3rd time. We are delighted to know that once again we fulfilled your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you next 2012.

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We were recommended this hotel by my sister, and are very pleased we stayed there. It is a great small hotel with very friendly staff. Our room was large with a private balcony and lovely views over Funchal and the sea. There was a good choice for breakfast, and the 2 meals we ate in the restaurant were also very good. Free Wi-fi was very useful.

A cake was delivered to our room for my birthday, which was much appreciated. They also provided a coach into Funchal to see the fireworks on the Saturday, for those who had dinner in the hotel that evening.

It is a pleasant walk into the town centre, and there is a cheap, frequent bus service too, including a direct bus to Monte.

We would recommend the Regency Cliff, especially for those who prefer a small and friendly hotel, and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blossomr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyClif, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you kind review. We are very pleased to learn that Regency Cliff was recommended by your sister and that you will recommend again. The best publicity is indeed the publicity made by our guests.
We thank once again and hope to see you back in a near future .

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

From the time we arrived and were greeted by the very helpful receptionist to the day we left all the staff were very helpful, informative and efficient. The hotel was very modern, clean and comfortable. We liked the fact that it was a small hotel with only 59 rooms which made it feel more friendly.

The location is fantastic and we were upgraded to a premium room (having booked a superior room) which had a fantastic outlook from both the balcony and the side window over Funchal, out to sea and down to the Lido area below.

Breakfast was buffet style and a good selection of fruits, cold meats and cheese together with cooked items was plentiful and replenished regularly to keep it fresh and hot. We did not have an evening meal at the hotel as we preferred to use the many local restaurants and bars near by.

All in all a very ejoyable stay. We had a very relaxing week and would not hesitate to stay here again if visiting Funchal. We can only agree with the comments of other reviewers on this site and would recommend the Regency Cliff to anyone who enjoys a smaller and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susiej25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyClif, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Dear Guest,

It is with great delight that we acknowledge that you had a very enjoyable holiday in Madeira Regency Cliff. We thank you for taking the time to share with all Trip Advisor readers your kind comments about our Staff and Hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future.

With warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This is a very pleasant hotel in a prime location. A small hotel, about 59 rooms I believe, which is personal and intimate. Staff are helpful and informative but not obstrusive. Everything is spotlessly clean. The lobby is bright and airy. Our room was spacious and pristine as was the ensuite bathroom. We had an outstanding sea-view from our balcony as the hotel is, as its name suggests, quite high up a cliff. Breakfast was plentiful and beautifully presented. We only had dinner at the hotel once as we prefer to dine around, but the food was fine and superior to anywhere else we ate in the locality.
If you want a good degree of luxury without pretentiousness in a friendly establishment then this is the place to be.
Recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicholasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyClif, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in Madeira Regency Cliff. We hope to see you back in a very near future.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed at the Regency Cliff, Madeira from 21 - 28 May 2011 and had the most wonderful time at this beautiful hotel. The quality and cleanliness of the place is superb. The hotel manager Iolanda invited us for a free cocktail evening with the guests which was a lovely gesture. She is a delightful person. All the staff are excellent at their job. I would like to thank in particular Suzette, Receptionist extraordinaire who made us laugh lots and the Restaurant Manager who was friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Well done all of you! The breakfasts are amazing with more than enough to keep you going for the rest of the day, we even had champagne on one of the mornings! The rooms are spotless and all have stunning views over the sea. The walk into town is a pleasant and easy 30min stroll down a plam tree lined promenade. There are many wonderful restaurants within 10mins walk of the hotel including our favourite, the Cavacas fish restaurant which has an open top over looking the sea, just awesome! Would we come back again? Damn right we would! It is just the best hotel you'll ever stay in for the money!

Room Tip: Ask for a Premier but ask nicely, they deserve it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philhayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyClif, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel and that our Staff excedeed your expectations. We also thank you for your kind comments about our services. We hope to see you back in a very near future.

With warm Regards

Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,031 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Palms
Pestana Palms
#16 of 88 in Funchal
519 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £77 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing