We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They were double booked for the first night of our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Madeira Regency Cliff
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They were double booked for the first night of our stay”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We arrived at the Regency Cliff on the night of 29 May at 0130, as arranged; on entering the hotel we were informed by the night porter that there was a problem and that there was no room available for that night. He explained that there had been an overbooking and that we were booked into a different hotel of the same grade. He then ordered a taxi and we arrived to be checked in at about 0230; the booking sheet had us in for the whole week and we had to explain to the person at the desk that we were going back to the Regency Cliff the next morning. Unfortunately, the toilet in the room we were allocated was broken - it would not flush and it drained water noisily all night. It was by now 0300 in the morning and we were not going to ask to change rooms. Also, the hotel itself was large, faceless and exactly the sort of place that we sought to avoid when choosing our holiday.

We returned to the Regency Cliff at about 1030 and met the holiday rep, finally getting to our room at about 1200.

I had made it very clear when we arrived and at the hotel the next morning that we were very unhappy with what had happened and that over booking of this nature was totally unacceptable. At some point during the week we did receive a handwritten apology from the Manager, who said he had taken the cost of an evening meal that we had had in the hotel on our first day, off of our bill.

Apart from the problems of the first night we enjoyed our stay at the Regency Cliff. The room and facilities were very good and the staff were helpful and friendly. The meal we had in the hotel was poor and so we chose not to eat at their restaurant again, although it was obvious that many people were happy doing so.

I did not want to get involved in lodging a formal complaint at the time because I did not want it to spoil our holiday. However, I did resolve to inform our booking agency on our return and to let them know that at the very least we should not be charged for the first night. It is now 6 weeks since I raised my complaint and the Hotel have failed to offer anything. The clear reasons for requesting compensation are obvious: the stress of arriving at 0130 in the morning, being told you did not have a room, having to relocate to a hotel you had not booked, getting to your room at about 0245, not having a functioning toilet, relocating at 0930 the next morning and having to discuss all these issues with hotel and tour staff. I believe that the Hotel Manager was quite correct in apologising and making the gesture of removing the cost of a meal - but I do not accept that this in any way compensates for there not being a room available, nor does it compensate for the disruption and stress that was caused.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PTA16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, which has received our best attention. First of all we would like to apologize for the overbooking and assure you that this was, unfortunately, a totally unpredictable situation. We understand your disappointment for not staying at Regency Cliff on your arrival day, although we booked a hotel next door of the same category, provided transportation both ways and offered a dinner. We sent you a direct email, more detailed, explaining that you did not receive any answer for the simple reason that until today we did not know you had complaint. You may be certain that we would never ignore a guest complaint. I am sure that after reading our email you will understand much better this situation.
In my name and in the name of the whole Team of Madeira Regency Cliff, I once again, apologize and assure you that all measures have been taken to avoid similar situations on the future.

Sincerely yours
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    272
    41
    6
    4
See reviews for
118
807
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Booked through Travel Republic at a cost of roughly €75 a night for the two of us. Room was very clean and comfortable with a balcony view out to sea. We were on the 4th floor and found it very quiet. Breakfast was fine, a good choice of hot & cold food. The hotel staff although a little stretched around the pool area all worked hard and were extremely friendly and helpful especially the 2 pool area attendants who never seem to stop, 7 days a week. The outside pool is small but adequate for a cooling down. There always seemed to be plenty of sun loungers to go round and towels were provided very day. The cocktail happy hour always finished the day off nicely! There is a bus stop into town just outside the hotel and also a courtesy shuttle although we didn't use it. A 5 day bus ticket was only €13 from reception and was well worth it as it's a fair walk to the fort and the old town. All in all a lovely week spent here and would gladly come back. Dave & Lisa.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHeronNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your holiday and that you would gladly come back.
We all look forward to welcoming you in a near future.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Third visit to this hotel as it's just the sort of place we like. It's small, (only 59 rooms) the location is good (even if it is on the edge of Funchal) and the food is also good and plentiful. The staff are always pleasant and attentive and we would certainly consider going again next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonCoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Dear Guest,

It was indeed with great pleasure that our Team welcomed you once again. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and are planning to return next year. We thank you for your continued support and for sharing, for the second time, your opinion with Trip Advisor readers.
We look forward to welcoming you next year.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

good location within 20 min walk to funchal or use free courtesy taxi, lovely views as on seafront,good size room very modern and clean,excellent holiday ..breakfast lots of choice..staff very helpful and friendly..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fiona9003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and kind comments about our Staff and service. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your holiday.
We hope to see you back in a near future.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Hotel is very nice, cosy small hotel (been there three times). Breath taking view to the sea. Friendly staff guarantee Your nice staying.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herra_nro_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and continued support. Regency Cliff Team looks forward to welcoming you next year.

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We had a lovely time, the hotel was great, staff very efficient and friendly We stayed in a superior room which was spacious and with a large balcony from which there were great views. Tea & coffe making facilities was a bonus as we find we don't get this normally in european rooms. The beds were very comfy. Breakfasts were great with a good choice of hot & cold. There was a spa but we did not use it.

Room Tip: We had a superior room on 3rd floor which was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debs093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you will return to Regency Cliff.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming in a very near future.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This is the first time i`ve written on anything,but feel compelled,for all the right reasons to write this.We`ve stayed in many hotels in many locations and almost never lower than four star rating, but the Madiera Regency Cliff was simlpy the best.
Stunning location looking from a cliff straight out to sea,shopping centre just over the road,also some very nice little bars and restaurants.The friendliest people employed all through hotel,receptionists who just cant do enough to help.A lovely buffet breakfast,with enough choice for all,wonderful and spotless rooms.I could go on and on,but hopefully anyone thinking of booking this hotel will have the jist of this review by now.We are definately going back,and probably next year at that..the only down point of this holiday is we didn`t stay long enough.ps...if you do go,book the very reasonably priced trip on the double decker open topped bus,where you can get off stay a while at various different places then catch the next one or one after that (about every half hour),highly recommended...see you soon Madiera

Room Tip: Just go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Davewestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank for sharing your opinion with all trip advisor readers. We are very pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations and that you are planning to return again next year.

On behalf of the management and Staff we thank your kind comments.
We hope to see you back very soon.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,040 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Property: Madeira Regency Cliff
Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing