We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Boutique Style Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Madeira Regency Cliff
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Selby, North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Super Boutique Style Hotel”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

It appears that it's "every egg a bird" when you look at Trip Advisor reviews.
This boutique style hotel has only 59 rooms of various types - my wife & I had what is termed a classic double room - far better than some executive rooms we have stayed in. The room we had was on the 1st. floor overlooking the sea & lido, with enough room to have a dance! The terrace/balcony was of good size with two comfortable chairs & a table.Our expectations were exceeded, the hotel being very clean & comfortabel & the staff were friendly & willing to do anything asked of them. Room maids did an excellent job & always left the room tidy. Location is very handy with an excellent retaurant just accross the road if you choose to eat out plus the Forum shopping centre is a five minute walk away. Breakfast was good & varied (only stayed B & B).

Room Tip: Rooms are virtually South facing therefore get sun most of the day & sea view.The hotel is "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthYorkshireBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, which I have shared with the whole Team. We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday.

We hope to see you back in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    278
    41
    6
    4
See reviews for
121
812
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We chose this hotel for our stay because of the reviews that were given and I must say they were not wrong, This hotel is so friendly and so helpful from all staff involved there from reception,barperson,waiter service plus cleaners I cannot fault this hotel at all. we met the manageress for cocktails the second day we were there in I thought was a great idea to meet the manager and she was so pleasant to talk too and you know she hopes you have a great stay.we stayed on floor 4 room 409 and the views were stunning overlooking the Atlantic especially the sunrise on a morning, The room are spacious and very clean and cleaned daily.the breakfast are buffet which are very nice a good selection to choose from, The evening meals we only had once a little pricey but to be expected been a hotel but we could not complain we enjoyed what we had.The hotel has free shuttle service into and return from Funchal which is a good service. I cannot knock this hotel at all we loved it and if we return to Madiera in the future we will definitely be looking up this hotel again the staff alone made in a great holiday.

Room Tip: If staying at this hotel the higher the floor with a south facing room is a fantastic view over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oggyChelsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. It is always we great pleasure that we acknowledge that our guests enjoyed the stay at our beautiful Island. We are also delighted to learn that you were pleased with the service and facilities provided by our hotel.

We hope to see you back in a very near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

lovely hotel great views friendly helpful staff and excellent facilities. Cannot comment on dinner as did not dine here but breakfast was plentiful and a good variety Thanks for a lovely week hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dennis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your holiday.

We hope to see you back very soon,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed in this wonderful hotel for two weeks, starting 16th September and had a room on the 3rd floor, overlooking the sea and the Lido. Everything about the hotel exceeded our expectations as we found it clean, comfortable, friendly, welcoming and extremely relaxing. The staff were brilliant and couldn't do enough for you. They were also extremely patient and tactful, when dealing with some very difficult OAP's, who found great delight in complaining about things, even when there was nothing to complain about! The building work which was being carried out and complete whilst we were there, was not inconvenient and was more than made up for by the generous free trip, including lunch and wine.

The island is very beautiful and the hotel's position gave us ample opportunity to explore by whatever means we wished to use, walking being our number one choice, although we did use the shuttle service a few times.

We cannot praise the staff enough for their service and friendliness and the food was excellent!

Would we go to Madeira again? Yes, we would and the Regency Cliff, would be our first choice of hotel!

Room Tip: Use floors 2 to 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment which I have shared with the whole Team. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were not sure what to expect, but we absolutely were delighted with the hotel. It was clean, modern and well maintained, perched on a cliff overlooking the sea on two sides. It was nicely situated on the edge of the hotel district, with good access to buses, restaurants and to the Madeira Forum shopping centre.
Our room was not one of the more expensive but we had air conditioning and a superb view over the bay; we could watch the dawn each morning without getting out of bed (around 8am). The hotel also has a large south-facing decked area which was great for breakfast and evening drinks or meals. They even had a happy hour when drinks were half-price. The staff were all faultless, even though they were dealing with a range of languages.
Perhaps the thing that really exceeded expectations was the fact that when the hotel had to have some noisiy buidling work done, they offered all the guests a free day-long excursion around the east of the island, including lunch. How many hotels would do that?
To be really picky, the oustide swimming pool was a bit basic, but do you really need one with the lidos at the foot of the cliff?
Overall, this hotel has much to recommend it and I would go back there if we revisited Madeira.

Room Tip: I am told that all guest rooms have a sea view, so I don't think you can go too far wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed you stay at Madeira Regency Cliff and that you would return, as well as, recommend it.

We hope to see you back in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I (aged 27 and 32) have just come back from a week in Madeira and we had a fantastic time on this beautiful island. We were one of the youngest people staying at the hotel so if you want the night life this isn't the place to go as most people go to bed before 10! However this suited us perfectly and madeira is a great place for walking and doing more outdoor activities!
The hotel was lovely and the staff were so friendly. The breakfast every morning was fantastic especially on the day we ate outside. We had an evening meal one night which was also lovely especially as we had 20% off! The pool is quite small but that wasnt a problem as there was never more than 2 other people in it!
The room was also lovely and clean with a fantastic view.
The happy hour which is on most nights was a really good offer, I just wish we'd gone more times!
The hotel do offer a shuttle bus into Funchal twice a day but we didn't use it as the walk isn't too far and is a really scenic one.
My only criticism really was that the tables in the dining area are a little squashed so we found it hard getting in and out (we are not overweight either!!) and also there were many times that staff weren't at the pool bar so getting towels was a bit of a palava!
Overall we had a great week and this hotel was lovely, I'd highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen_Andy_Lawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion. We are very pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your holiday and that you would highly recommend our hotel to anyone.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagoa, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Its our 3rd time in this hotel and we always feel going back home. The Staff makes the diference on our feelings. The hotel is very clean, rooms are very good and the views incredible. The hotel is well kept and maintenance is a priority for the managment it looks. Last year we found a new bar at recpetion, this year a lounge by the deck outside. Top!!!! We will keep going back for sure! See you next April.....Regency Cliff

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed, once again, your stay.

We all look forward to welcoming you next April,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,906 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#20 of 86 in Funchal
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Property: Madeira Regency Cliff
Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing