We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Madeira Regency Cliff
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed in the junior suite, so had a lot of space in the room. The restaurant of the hotel is a little overpriced, but the food is excellent. The swimming pool area and all the facilities around are very good. Close to the Formosa Beach, which means a little far from downtown, but buses circulates all day, and the hotel has a complementary transportation to downtown twice a day. Over all a nice hotel to relax and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lutessaroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to see you back in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    258
    40
    6
    4
See reviews for
114
779
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had a really great time at this hotel. The staff were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is very clean and the views breathtaking. we spent lots of time in the pool and it was very relaxing. We had some lovely meals in Funchal and found everyone very friendly. We are hoping to return in the future. Madeira is a lovely place and the trips worth doing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your contribution. We are very pleased to learn that you had a great holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to see you back in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is just the most wonderful hotel set in the most beautiful location with excellent staff and a very relaxing style. If you want piece and quiet then this is the place, brilliant and we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DorsetMalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are most pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday.

We hope to see you back in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We've stayed at the Regency Cliff several times before and looked forward to staying there again. The latest changes to the terrace are a major improvement and have made a big difference. I think it's very telling that the staff remain the same year after year, are really friendly and always helpful. A really delightful small hotel with excellent rooms, good food (especially the breakfast buffet!) and wonderful views out to sea. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RonCoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your most valued opinion with Trip Advisor readers. It is always with great pleasure that the Team of Madeira Regency Cliff welcomes you. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed once again your holiday.

It is also very rewarding to acknowledge that our repeated guests are pleased with the improvements we made in our Restaurant Terrace.

Thank you for your support and continued preference, we hope to see you back very soon.

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Have just returned from a wonderful break at the Regency Cliff Hotel in Funchal.A lovely clean and restfull hotel with friendly and helpful staff.Must also highly recommend the Monumental Grill,situated just across the road from the hotel for adding to an overall brilliant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Co-op Travel

Helpful?
4 Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind comment. We are very pleased to learn that you had wonderful break at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to see you back in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Upgraded room on arrival. Very clean. Bath Robes, Location - taxi or bus ride into Funchal or a lovely walk with coffee stops on route.. Sea view from every room. Indoor and outdoor pool. Would agree with other reviewer evening food not so exciting. Breakfast good, staff friendly,
Madeira is a lovely Island well worth a visit, Taxi drivers are very friendly and most speak good English,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillericayEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We are very pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to see you back in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just had a really superb holiday at the regency cliff hotel, extremely comfortable and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Would thoroughly recommend it.
It is very near to the frequent buses into Funchal and also to the tourist buses for trips around the island. Never having been to madeira before we were thoroughly impressed. The only downside was the shambles at the airport for the return trip home.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have magnificent views' the 3rd floor in particular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are very pleased to learn that you had a superb holiday and that you were impressed with Madeira Island.

We hope to see you back in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Property: Madeira Regency Cliff
Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing