We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten Days of sheer Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madeira Regency Cliff
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have just returned from 10 days in Madeira staying at the Regency Cliff. From the moment we walked in to this splendid light, airy and modern hotel we were made to feel welcome. The staff were great and could not do enough to make our stay a good one. The room had the wow factor when you walked in. Large and light with a balcony with a sea view to die for. The ensuite was perfect and all was clean as a whistle. It has the advantage of not being overly large giving the feel of a small hotel compared to some of the huge holiday machines in Funchal. All was relaxed and friendly. Breakfast provided a great choice and was excellent. We went half board. The dinners were good although it has to be said not outstanding. However this place offers great value for money with quality which you would be pleased to receive from a more expensive holiday. It was my my wife's birthday during our stay and a complimentary birthday cake was provided to our room.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views and are quiet with air conditioning if required although we did not need it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

After another superb week at the Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel we are already planning our visit for 2015. The hotel is extremely clean, tidy and very well maintained, even to the point that the gardener tends to the plants on the room balconies as well as the grounds. The rooms are light, airy and very comfortable all with sea views due to the unique cliff face design of the hotel.
Like last year, we really enjoyed the variety of foods available in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. We also found a wide range of snacks and meals available at the pool bar at lunchtime.
All of the staff go out of their way to be very friendly and helpful. The housekeeping staff kept our room sparkilng, fresh and welcoming.The reception staff are extremely good at organising tours and excursions from the numerous brochures provided in the welcome pack and at the reception desk.
By the way if you are planning a day out to Porto Santo on the daily ferry one of the highlights of our crossing was to discover the four star equvalent RESTAURANT on deck 5 at the foot of the stairs to the Pulman lounge. Superb, silver service breakfast set menus for 7.50 euros. A good way to pass an hour or so of the sea crossing.
As other people have commented, the bus service in and out of Funchal is frequent and the bus stop is only 50metres from the hotel.
Finally it is well worth completing the hotel's questionaire as we found that it is read and comments/ suggestions are actively taken note of.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 2,3 & 4 give you the best views overlooking the sea and Funchal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SATSJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion. We are most pleased to learn that you enjoyed, once again, your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff and that you are already planning your next visit.

We all look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I have just returned from a week in Madeira at the Regency Cliff Hotel. What a lovely little hotel which perfectly suited my needs and that of my friend who accompanied me.
Built into the cliff this is a small 59 room intimate hotel. My room was perfect with an ocean view & quiet - all the rooms have sea view & some also overlook the town of Funchal which is very pretty with the evening lights (my friend had one of these rooms).
The pools (in & out) are small but adequate with a small spa & gym. A good size sun terrace.
Dine inside or outside as the weather permits. We breakfasted on the terrace most mornings.
We were on a bed&breakfast rate but you can also have half-board. We dined in he hotel twice and dined at local restaurants on the other evenings.
The staff are so polite & friendly. The rooms are immaculately cleaned & the beds were so comfortable. The linen was so soft I wish I could have brought some home!
There's plenty of outdoor things to do in Madeira - I regret to say I did little but plan on going back there soon!
Madeira is clean & safe. The people friendly.
The hotel is slightly out of Funchal but it has an excellent bus service & the local bus stop is close by the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabsW1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. It is always with great pleasure that we acknowledge that we fulfilled the expectations of our guests.

Regency Cliff Team looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our first time to this hotel and we were not disappointed have just returned home and wish we were back there.Lovely room facing the sea,bed very comfortable .toiletries provided but hair dyer not very good,tea and coffee provided in rooms also bath robes.Breakfast choice was good 3 nights buffet which my husband likes the other nights 3 course waiter service.The staff pleasant especially the head waiter who always has a laugh with us.Would highly recommend this hotel and we will be going back hopefully soon.

Room Tip: 502 high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwoodcock182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that we managed to fulfill your expectations and that you will return to Regency Cliff.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you, hopefully in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel. We had a lovely room on the 4th floor facing out over the pool with amazing views towards Funchal and the ocean. Very quiet and comfortable room. Toiletries provided are nothing special and the hairdryer is pointless but reception was happy to provide a far better one. Breakfast choice was very good but evening meals a bit hit and miss and quite expensive. We found several restaurants nearby which were very good though plus there is a supermarket within easy walk for buying your own drinks, etc. Staff were all very pleasant but service sometimes a bit indifferent, ie, not bothering to clear plates or offer coffee. There is a shuttle (free taxi) service into town which is useful; we did the walk to Funchal and back but our calves seized up the next day due to all the steep hills! Open top hop-on/off bus stops nearby and tickets are available at reception. Well worth doing on a nice day but leave early to make the most of your tickets and see as much as you can. If there are any cat lovers reading this, turn right down the hill outside the hotel, there is a colony of moggies who are grateful if you take them some treats! Also there is a family of beautiful young tabby cats living around the bottom of the path outside the entrance to the lido. We would be really happy to hear if anyone picks up where we left off giving them a good feed every day because animal welfare in Madeira is not anyone's priority but we did see some locals armed with cat and dog food doing the rounds of the unfortunate strays. Anyway, I digress and it just remains to say that we will definitely be going back to this hotel in the future. Over all, it was lovely and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: High floor not pool level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katnip100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday and are planning to return to Madeira Regency Cliff.

We all look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

A very enjoyable stay at this well positioned hotel.We had a lovely room with a spacious balcony,table and chairs,and of course stunning views along the coast and out to sea.
The food was very good with plenty of choice for Breakfast,and you could take your time and not be hurried.Also when the weather is good you can enjoy breakfast outside on the lovely terrace with fantastic views.
After long days out exploring to return and enjoy a good Happy Hour cocktail was very good!
The staff were all very friendly and efficient,and we would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a peaceful get away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnrowe918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are most pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you would not hesitate to recommend Madeira Regency Cliff.

We sincerely hope to see you back in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A very nice hotel, good service, friendly staff and good standard of rooms, very clean. Recommend the premium rooms like we had - then you get 2 balconies one with a view over the Pool and the other with a view over the Atlantic! :). Good breakfast with a big buffet that changed daily to keep it interesting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We sincerely hope to see you back in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#20 of 88 in Funchal
284 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
931 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £79 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Splitty, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing