We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Madeira Regency Cliff
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Kent England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Faultless hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We were a party of six who have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. We cannot fault this establishment in any way. It is extremely well run and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had superior rooms which were all of a very good size with magnificent views. The whole building was spotless and looked freshly painted. The choice at breakfast was very comprehensive and of good quality. We will definitely be returning to Madeira and to this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kjnKentEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is with great pleasure that we acknowledge that you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    258
    40
    6
    4
See reviews for
114
779
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just got back today from a two week holiday in the Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel with my wife and adult daughter. This was our third consecutive visit to this outstanding hotel. The hotel is spotlessly clean and each room has a veranda and spectacular sea view. There is a lovely open-air swimming pool and a gym complete with spa. The breakfast is buffet style and has plenty of variety to suit most tastes. There is also a first class restaurant with live entertainment in the evenings. For us this is a great hotel made even better by having very caring, helpful and competent staff. Officially this is a four star hotel, but personally I would give it ten stars it is so good and I can highly recommend the Regency Cliff Hotel in Madeira.

Room Tip: The hotel runs a free courtesy car run into Funchal each morning, returning in the late afternoon wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your most valued opinion and for your continued preference. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed once again your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We all look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Me and My Partner came here on July 21st and its safe to say that the hotel was the highlight of a perfect holiday.

On arrival we where shown to our room which had been decorated with love hearts,petals and a bottle of sparkling wine which was amazing. The room also had a huge balcony overlooking the sea which was beautiful!

Staff were very freindly especially the young pool bar guy and our favourite member of staff Dalida which went out of her way to make our stay the best it could possibly be.

I would reccomend this hotel to any couples staying in madeira as its small , quiet and very relaxing which is very important for you to have your own space in a stress free enviroment.

The hotel is also very well located with many restaurants, the sea, the Promenade AND Madeira forum shopping centre within 2 minutes walk away.

Will 100% be staying here again. Perfect 10/10

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. It is always with great pleasure that we acknowledge that we managed to exceed our guests expectations.

Regency Cliff Team looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you, hopefully, in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Superb sea views from everywhere in this lovely hotel. Friendly staff, Nadia on reception is very good, island trips can be arranged from here. All the staff we met spoke good English and are most helpful.
Our teenage son very much enjoyed his stay here, but I would say it's not a hotel for young children. Rooms are well kept, spacious and very clean & quiet.

Breakfast is a buffet with a very good choice of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts, continental & cooked items, clean and well presented.
During our stay the hotel had a dinner offer €64 for 3 dinners on any 3 nights of your choice just book a table on the day you wish to dine. Daily menu can be found in the lobby.

Getting about is easy from here there is a free shuttle twice a day into Funchal, but this gets booked up quickly. The bus stop is just up the road with good service links and the Yellow hop on, hop off bus for €12 for 48 hours travel in and around Funchal. A taxi into town will cost around €7. There is a shopping centre a few hundred yards from here and a few resteraunts across the road, we sampled both and both are ok, albeit a bit pushy.

The pools at the hotel are not big, good for taking a dip to cool off but the municipal swimming pool is situated close by.

I personally love the warmth of this hotel and have already recommend it to a family member who is thinking of visiting the island. They made my day by surprising me with a birthday cake, such a lovely gesture. Thank you Regency Cliff

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff and that you have already recommended the hotel to a family member.

We all look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, Cape Verde
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Spend one week in Madeira and choose this hotel for the second time. Some noise at the deck, but not really bad. Reason seems, they have enlarged the garden with nice trees and flowers. The room was perfect, very clean, fantastic service and very good restaurant.
I want to repeat with friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Filipa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

We have in fact made some changes at our terrace and are pleased to inform our readers that we now have beautiful olive trees and a new summer bar.

We thank you for your understanding; there was in fact some noise but nothing major. We are indeed very pleased with the final result and with the feedback our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We really enjoyed our experience here. Staff very helpful and willing to help when needed. Free shuttles into Funchal and back are useful, although we walked a couple of times and took us around 40 minutes.

Room Tip: outdoor swimming pool although in photos seems small it is more than enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion, which had our best attention. We are delighted to learn that you had a very pleasant experience at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed in this lovely hotel for one week. The room was large and on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool and of course beautiful sea view. The staff were so friendly and helpful I can't say anything negative about their service. Only a couple of minor niggles that I could find, however did not detract from our great stay. Firstly I feel the bathroom could do with upgrading and bath towels are small. The other thing that would be better is if there were drinks menus out on the terrace not just on the bar. It is lovely to have an early evening cocktail on the terrace and they are a bargain during happy hour. The breakfast buffet was lovely, we didn't try dinner in the hotel as there are so many restaurants local we preferred to go out for a walk. The pool area is lovely and always managed to get a sun bed.

Room Tip: I wouldn't want to stay on first floor as it would limit your balcony privacy during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GKovacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for you for your comments and suggestions. We are pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Property: Madeira Regency Cliff
Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing