We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madeira Regency Cliff
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just back from our third stay at this super hotel. Small and perfectly formed sum it up! We love it because it's select, quiet and friendly. There is nothing we would change about the rooms, staff or facilities and the views from the restaurant terrace and the sun deck are to die for! We also love the extra little 'treats' we receive as returning guests! The breakfast buffet is plentiful and varied. We again took the option of four evening meals and the food was always of high quality. A choice of three main courses. Obviously that's not as much choice as if you went to one the excellent restaurants near by but we had 10 other evenings to sample those! We will definitely return to our favourite hotel. Thank you again to Graca, Crissa Silva and ALL the staff for another wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: All have sea views but all the rooms above the Lido have uninterrupted views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank carole24658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion and for your continued loyalty. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed once again your holiday at our hotel.

Regency Cliff Team looks forward to welcoming you,

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We went in summer for a week and we booked bed and breakfast due to the high number of great restaurant in Funchal as we had been before, we booked the hotels due to the reviews on trip adviser. Checking in was easy, even though it's strange to be given the controls for the air conditioning and TV, we paid for a safe which was 15 euros for the week with a 25 euro deposit.

The room was large, plenty of clothes space and hangers, the bed was a very large and was comfy and we had a good nights sleep every night. The hotel has good views from all the rooms, the air con worked well which was needed due to the summer heat and humidity. The TV had plenty of English channels. The bathroom was pretty standard, the room was cleaned everyday and if needed towels were changed. The room also had a fridge in. Other good touches were dressing gowns for you to use, pool cards which meant you could get fresh towels everyday.

All the staff are very friendly, we had a few meals round at the pool bar which were good and fresh, the pool was small but was adequate and was cleaned and maintain well, with the water being checked twice a day, but it was a little deep at 1.6m all over so not suitable for children.

Me and my wife also used the spa and each had a massage each which was very good, make sure you take advantage of the hotel discount.

We had breakfast and there was plenty of choice of foods and the staff were very helpful, we tended to eat outside on the roof top terrace but space can be limited, breakfast ran from 07.30 - 10.30 which means you get a little lie in.

The hotel ran courtesy cars down and back to Funchal twice a day, but we tended to use the bus system during the day and taxis at night. Taxis cost about 7-8 euros at night.

We loved this hotel and would recommend it.

Any questions please ask me.

Room Tip: High level to get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eduardandkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday at our hotel and that you would not hesitate to recommend Regency Cliff.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is an excellent hotel. Having booked the hotel direct I would like to thank Graca for her kindness on booking and her hospitality in person. I can't understand the negative reviews on the evening meals. We ate in the hotel 4 times and all the meals were excellent. Waiter served for all courses unless a themed buffet evening, yes perhaps a little more choice would be nice but the Chef is doing a great job. The rooms are a good size and clean enough. Could you smokers using the rooms refrain from putting nub ends in the flower beds on the balcony!!!

If there are any issues the staff will deal with it, they are only too willing to help.

The lovely roof top terrace is the highlight of the place, great views with lovely eating and relaxation area. We stayed in Funchal some years ago in a much larger hotel but must say this one is nicer. We will be returning. Thank you for a pleasant holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LorraineNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your holiday and that you intend to return.

We hope to see you back in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Hotel has a warm atmosphere, close to amenities, rooms are spacious and the restaurant offers a variety of foods, but the best feature of this hotel is definitely the sun deck which offers spectacular views across the Atlantic Ocean - a definite must!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Jdfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

When we arrived we were told that they double booked us by a stuck up unfriendly male receptionist we asked for a glass of water while waiting for a cab to take us on to the Regency Club and he tutted and huffed and went to get us a glass of water. We were told we would have to stay elsewhere no apology was given and they sent us to Regency Club which was nearer to Funchal Town Centre. (Will give a separate review of this hotel) We stayed there for 3 nights 4 days.

On our return we were greeted by a much more pleasant receptionist who apologised for what happened and offered us an upgraded room and also were given a set of tours of which we could book two at the expense of the hotel.

The hotel is really lovely we were unfortunate that the first few days we were there the renovations were being carried out to the roof top terrace / restaurant, This did spoil things a little all the brand new furnishings and beautiful flower arrangements were being brought out ready for the Very Special opening of the newly decked out Terrace. However the hotel guests were not invited which I thought a little weird, because it is the customers that can recommend a hotel or not and also to be asked not to use the only outside space for an evening was not convenient to some customers that we had spoken to. We didn't mind as we were not eating at the hotel.

The room which was a premium sea view room which was upgrade from a superior sea view room it was lovely and we were extremely happy and comfortable in. The only problem with the room was that there was no ventilation in the bathroom which could be rather unpleasant. The room had airconditioning which was excellent.

We had booked half board - however the food in the evening was appalling inedible and cold the first night we were back at this hotel there was a buffet every single thing served had cheese in it including the rice - I do not eat cheese. There was even a cheesecake for dessert. The second night we had a sit down meal with a very limited menu this meal was ok but nothing to write home about. The third night was again inedible the fish was overcooked and served luke warm boardering on cold yuk. I can cook better. After this we did not eat there again after three days we had a note left in our room asking us to go to reception regarding the dinners. On arriving at the reception they asked us why we were not attending the dinners and so we told them the food was not we expected and so they offered to let us have our half board at lunch which we took them up on as we generally prefer light meals.

I have to say the hotel did everything they could to make us feel welcome and to compensate us for the double booking which we were pleased about as it is not what we had booked so we were disappointed when we arrived. I also have to mention that a couple of the waiting staff were exceptional and friendly and were extremely good at their jobs.

On the whole the hotel was a lovely little boutique hotel and if they can get a better chef they would get 5 star ratings.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank charlesksc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We would like to like to apologize for all the inconveniences you had during your stay. We assure that all measures were taken to avoid future similar situations.

We hope to have the chance to do better in a next visit.

We thank you for your understanding,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is really lovely we were unfortunate that the week we were there the renovations were being carried out to the roof top terrace / restaurant, This did spoil things a little especially when on the day we were leaving all the brand new furnishings and beautiful flower arrangements were being brought out ready for the Very Special opening of the newly decked out Terrace.
The week also lacked atmosphere however staff excellent and very friendly. Big downside the outdoor pool was shared with the pigeons (not nice at all) These things are the reason for only 4 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BAA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the renovations that were being carried out during your stay. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences this may have caused.

Our main concern is to keep the hotel well maintained and always up to date. We assure you that we did all efforts to are need. We are very pleased with our new Sirocco Bar and Terrace, we truly believe it is an upgrade to the hotel. We invite all our readers to see the pictures we have posted on trip advisor and also on our facebook page.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you in a very near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Just spent 12 days at the regency cliff hotel in madeira and wouldn't of changed a thing. Upon arrival our room was decorated with petals and a complimentary bottle of bubbly to celebrate mine and my partners anniversary with an amazing balcony looking over the atlantic ocean.The staff are always on hand and more than willing to help with any of your needs.We found the breakfast girl especially helpful remembering our coffee and hot chocolate orders daily without us having to ask.Breakfast was lovely with a wide variety from fruits,yoghurts,pastries and full english,varying each day. The young gent who worked round the pool was extremely polite and always went the extra mile to make sure everyone was happy.Our room was cleaned to a perfect standard by the maids every day with fresh bedding and towels. Also special mention to dalida on reception who helped us with everything and answered all our questions throughout our stay she's a gem! The beach,lovely restaurants and madeira forum were all within walking distance from the hotel which come in handy. On our last day we received amazing deep tissue back massages from the lovely thereasa down at the spa and would recommend to anyone staying! We also received a complimentary bottle of madeira wine and cake towards the end of our stay which went down a treat!
Regency cliff is a must if going to Madeira !!

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Shorae7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank for your sharing your experience at Madeira Regency Cliff. It is always with great pleasure that we acknowledge that we fulfilled our guests expectations.

We sincerely hope to see you back in a very near future.

With Kind Regards

Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 88 in Funchal
1,417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £81 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing