We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madeira Regency Cliff
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

Our tour operator changed our hotel at the last minute - what a bonus! This hotel really does offer what it shows on the website - beautiful, calm modern furnishings, wonderful views from all the rooms, friendly and helpful staff, and spotlessly clean. The indoor pool/spa and outdoor pool/sundeck although small provided a welcome opportunity for relaxation after a day walking in the hills. The buffet breakfasts were good with a wide selection of hot and cold food. We only ate dinner in the hotel on two occasions, one of which was a part buffet, part waiter service themed Asian meal and the second was full waiter service. The Asian meal was not particularly inspiring, but that may just have been a matter of taste, but the second more 'international style' meal was very enjoyable. If I had to find one small criticism it would be that the hairdryer in the bathroom was designed in such a way that it was impossible to style my mid length hair and took ages to dry it - so if you want glamorous hair I suggest you take our own hairdryer!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Footlooseatlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    262
    40
    6
    4
See reviews for
117
784
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

We stayed here for a week in March 2010. The Madeira Regency Cliff is situated on the quieter, western side of Funchal. This is a small hotel but big on hospitality and trying to please. All its rooms are built into the cliff face and have balconies with great views overlooking the sea. The location is excellent: from the hotel you can walk down to a promenade along the sea front. Just a few minutes' walk away is a shopping mall with supermarket and newsagents where English newspapers arrive after 1pm and loads of other shops well worth investigating. A bus stop into the town is also close by although the hotel will arrange a free taxi or minibus trip into the city centre and back if you book in advance.
This is the ONLY hotel I have ever stayed in where the manager lays on a cocktail party for the guests and comes round and speaks to EACH GUEST personally. Need I say that the manager is a woman? The hotel is modern in design and furnishing, easy on the eye, with comfortable rooms and a dining area overlooking the sea, plus poolside sunbathing area and lovely deck/terrace reached from the dining room.
The rooms (interestingly these are downstairs from the main reception area) were spotlessly clean and comfortable, with quality furnishings. Best of all the staff were superb, friendly without being obsequious, quietly efficient and very, very willing to help in any way.
This was a hotel trying very hard to please its guests not take them for granted. We found the food very good, and on three nights we had local entertainment - an excellent violinist who serenaded us during dinner, a visit from a folk dancing group who were great fun, and a pianist and nightclub-style singer.
We went with Thomson, I understand there is some question mark over whether they will use the hotel next year. They would be vvery foolish to drop a hotel as good as this one. With its proximity to the sea and local services within easy reach without having to hike up and down one of Funchal's many hills, this hotel would be ideal for the older, discerning traveller We thoroughly recommend it and thank the hotel for giving us a really lovely holiday.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lakeyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
149 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

This hotel has good sized, comfortable bedrooms with large bathrooms. The bedrooms have either full or side sea view so you can watch the cruise ships come in. The hotel has a beautiful terrace and we enjoyed having our breakfast there. You can buy a 3/4 evening meal package which we thought was good but pricey. We ate across the road at a churrascaria, Galinha Dourada (one with red plastic chairs outside) and had some wonderful simple meals at a reasonable cost. Monumental Grill also across the road was a big disappointment. Good choice of restaurants turning left out of the hotel and then first left and down to the bottom.

There is a fitness area and also a small indoor pool. There is a good choice of sitting out areas and a small outdoor pool. The hotel overlooks one of the lidos and is just across the road from a large shopping mall with a supermarket.
The bus stops right outside the hotel so it is very convenient for getting in the centre of Funchal which is about a 45 minute walk. The hotel also provide a complimentary taxi service to Funchal twice in the morning and returning twice in the evening.

The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angieManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

All the good things that other reviewers have said about this hotel are true. Great location on a clifftop looking straight out to sea; quiet and peaceful, just the sound of the waves at night. No more than ten minutes into the centre of Funchal by car, and you can walk directly from the hotel down onto the famous Promenade. Small (only 59 rooms), spotlessly clean, good bathroom (with bath), charming and helpful staff; an unusually attractive dining area and sun deck, excellent breakfast, good dinner if you want to dine in. Only two cautions: the pools (outside and inside) are small, OK for a dip but not for serious exercise if that's what you want; and the evening entertainment in the dining
room may be a matter of taste. One piece of advice: if you hire a car, get a small one--the hotel has a free parking area down a steep ramp, but it's very tight! But overall this hotel is a gem; we met a guest who was staying there for the eighth time, and if we go back to Madeira we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldromantics66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

Everything about this hotel was fantastic. Staff friendliness & helpfulness at check-in. The room was just what we wanted. Cleanliness, good food, views over the sea, peace & quiet. Its location is unique as it is built into a cliff.
Organisation of our tour requirements was first class
The hotel arranged our collection & return from & to the airport. Nothing was too much. Many guests we spoke to were regular visitors to this hotel who said they would only stay here in Madeira. It is a smaller hotel for couples looking to have a very pleasant stay on these islands.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkTomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beech Hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

The hotel has only 70 or so rooms, which gives it a much more intimate feel than very large, impersonal hotels. You meet the same staff over several days and it feels much more friendly. Our room was excellent, overlooking the sea. All areas were clean and bright. We went for one of the special dinner packages - excellent value for money and good quality. We found this a much more pleasant dining experience than eating at most restaurants round town. The food was of a higher quality and the house wines (changed nightly) were excellent. It's 40 miniutes' walk from the town centre, but there is a free shuttle there and back and the line 1 bus passes frequently. Only minor problems were encountered and the staff were only too willing to put them right. A good levada walk passes close to the hotel. Free wi-fi in the room very useful.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuartbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

The Madeira Cliff hotel provided the perfect accomodation in every respect.
Excellent food choice, faultless service and attention, total cleanliness.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank barrygibbs962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Property: Madeira Regency Cliff
Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing