We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The sparkle shines even brighter after our second stay at this excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Madeira Regency Cliff
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Largs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The sparkle shines even brighter after our second stay at this excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

Just arrived back in Scotland after spending a delightful two weeks at the Madeira Regency
Cliff Hotel.We stayed at this hotel last year and gave it a very favourable review,and I have
every intention in doing exactly the same again.
Iolanda Fernandes(The hotel's general manager)and her team provide a service that is quite superb.
As I said in my previous review,I have stayed in many hotels around the world but the friendliness and professionalism shown by all who work in this hotel is quite exceptional.The food,wine and evening entertainment are most enjoyable,and my wife
and I look forward to our next visit which hopefully will be Xmas 2011.
Thanks to you all for making our holiday and stay most enjoyable
Eddie and Chris

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotsmanLargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 15 October 2010
Dear Guest,

It was with great pleasure that I read your review. It is always very rewarding for the whole Team to welcome a Repeated Guest. We are glad to learn that we managed, once again, to fulfill your expectations. I will certainly share your review with the whole Team.
I take this opportunity to thank you for your continued preference.
We all look forward to pleasure of welcoming you next year,

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    258
    40
    6
    4
See reviews for
114
779
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Excellent choice of hotel. Was with my aged mother who has some difficulty walking. Good position as shopping centre and restaurants across the road and bus stop outside hotel for very regular service to Funchal.

Hotel room was excellent and the service from staff was very friendly and helpful. Mum was 83 while we were there and the hotel provided a cake for her. She was treated like a princess and probably now will be looking forward to a return visit.

The food in the restaurant was very good and the hotel offered a number of meal packages which were well worht the money.

Stayed August 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank carojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 24 September 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are very glad to hear that you and your mother enjoyed your stay at Regency Cliff. It is indeed with great joy that we learn that you are planning to return to our Island and to our hotel. We thank you once again for your kind comments. Regency Cliff Team looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you very soon.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

This was our second visit to this hotel, the first visit was in 2003 when we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, so when looking for a holiday to celebrate our ruby wedding anniversary Regency Cliff seemed to be the best we had been too. From our arrival we were treated to the best service and as we had been to the hotel before were given lots of 'treats' as a thank you. We were attended to by all the staff with the utmost attention but discreetly noone was 'in your face'. I don't believe we could have been looked after better at any hotel, anywhere.

We will visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JUNE1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 24 September 2010
Dear Guest,

It was indeed with great pleasure that our Team welcomed you both for the second time and this time to celebrate such an important date. We are much honored that you chose our hotel to celebrate your ruby wedding anniversary. Thank you for sharing your opinion with all Trip Advisor readers. We all look forward to welcoming you again in a very near future.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

We have just returned from our third visit to this hotel, where the wonderful staff make you feel so welcome. It is a small 59 room hotel with nice size rooms and is always spotlessly
clean. We enjoy breakfast out on the terrace overllooking the ocean and there is an excellent selection of food to cover most nationalities. It is possible to eat in the hotel in the evenings but we went down into the Old Town, using the frequent bus service, both during the day and evenings. The hotel has a small outdoor pool with sunloungers and also an indoor pool and gym facilities.
It is possible to have a relaxing holiday in pleasant and peaceful surroundings, close to the numerous amenities, enjoying being a guest at the Maderia Cliff Hotel where we of course
hope to make a return visit to next year. We feel there is so much more to see and do in Madeira to add to the many gardens and whale and dolphin boat trips and coach trips around the island. We aim to get out on the long distance buses to explore even more.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186340Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
Dear Guests,

It was a pleasure for the whole Team to welcome you both for the 3rd time. Thank you for your review and kind comments.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed once again your stay at Regency Cliff and that you are already thinking about your 4th visit next year.
I take this opportunity to thank you for your continued preference and hope to see you very soon.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

We booked this accommodation purely from reviews on this site and were not dissappointed at all. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The Hotel location was ideal as it was right on the main bus route into Funchal but if you did decide to walk into Funchal it is a leisurely 45 mins with plenty of bars and restuarants on the way. Opposite the Hotel is the 'Forum Shopping' Mall literally 3 mins walk away where you can buy everything you need - the bottled water is especially cheap.
We booked Bed and Breakfast only. The room was from their 'Superior' range with a sea view and balcony and it was just as described, superb view over the ocean, very quite and very clean, air conditioning, mini bar, tea and coffee facilities replenished every day and 32" flat screen TV. Bathroom had shower and bath.
The self service breakfast was such that it catered for all types and being English the 'full english' was available and as much as you liked. You can take breakfast on the sun terrace or inside in the Dining Room. The Pool area was uncrowded with plenty of sunbeds and clean towels whenever you wanted them. Wi-Fi available throughout but if you don't want to take your Laptop a PC is provided in the Reception area for free use anytime of the day.
Can't comment on the evening meals because we like to go out to eat but I did notice that they do a 'special deal' if you book for 3 or 4 evening meals in the hotel so if you want to 'stay put' this may be for you.
I have to say that it is difficult for me to fault this Hotel in any way, if you are looking for 4star accommodation then look no further but even if you are struggling to find consistently good reviews for 5 star accommodation then give up and stay here because it really is excellent value for money. When we return to Madeira we will definately return to the Regency Cliff ecause it was ideal for us and provided everything we wanted which was good service and made to feel a little 'special'. LOOK NO FURTHER !!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vipalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for your detailed review. We are very pleased to learn that we managed to fulfill your expectations and that you will return to Regency Cliff. Our guest’s opinions are indeed our best publicity. Once again I thank you for taking the time to share with us your opinion. Regency Cliff Team looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

We enjoyed our stay, we cannot complain about anything. There were really only very minor things that you could mention was a chipped (minor) wine glass.

We had a pleasant surprise as the travel centre where we booked the holiday didnt have any real idea on the hotel, therefore when we turned up and saw the room and hotel in general especially the restaurant and decking area we were very surprised. We also had a very nice surprise with our room, it had a seperate lounge/diner and a lovely balcony with great views over the sea.

We didn’t find the pictures misleading, the place was just as we imagined it.

The only negative is the island itself lacks a bit of friendliness. But all in all a fantastic holiday and if it was a bigger island to explore we would probably go back and stay there again

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matthewmills9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Regency Cliff. We apologize for the chipped wine glass as you say it is a minor thing but any away it shouldn’t happen.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Black Country UK
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

This is a small but very nice hotel with lots of attention to detail, very clean, rooms were big and all had great views over the sea. The terrace on the roof (as is reception) is fantastic, having breakfast on here every morning was stunning, looking out to sea while sipping a nice cup of coffee was a great start to the day. This hotel caters for mainly mature couples but made my wife, 6 year old daughter and I very welcome. the out door pool is small but also had an indoor pool with a sun terrace right out side, ideal for us. We went for bed and breakfast only so I cant comment on the evening menu but if its as good as the breakfast you wont go wrong. Fantastic hotel, you cant go wrong here.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Spike777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to hear you felt welcomed at Regency Cliff and pleased with our hotel and service. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Property: Madeira Regency Cliff
Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing