We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always first class”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always first class”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Porto Mare Hotel, under the guidance of General Manager Antonio Pais, is always a first class place to relax, rewind and regenerate. The location is superb and the facilities, both indoor and out, excellent. We have stayed at the hotel several times and will undoubtedly return several times more.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihh153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. I am really happy to know that you have had a nice time once again.
The success of our hotels is greatly based on the effort of a GREAT TEAM that gives me so much proud and fun to lead.

Hope to welcome you in a short period of time.
Muito Obrigado,

Best regards,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,600
    399
    57
    13
    6
See reviews for
392
1,353
57
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

As marketing manager for the Thomas Cook Group, I've to travel a lot.
but the Porto Bay group is by far one of my favorite hotelchains.

The service in the Porto Mare was excellent, the choice of food is very large and very tastfull. Every day we've enjoyed a large breakfast buffet on the terrace overlooking the sea and the pool. They serve fresh orange juice, smoothies and bubbles. Also a very large choice of pastries and fresh food, which taste in Madeire 10 times better then in Belgium!
The rooms are spacious, with large balcons and it's best to have a sea view .
We've eaten as well in the mediterrean restaurant, which is one of my favourites.

the pool is very large, set in a hugh garden with a lot of flowers, herbs, trees... and when you're lying next to the pool you can see the chef cuisinier picking is herbs for the dishes.
the inside pool was usefull in february and is heated to 28° and you can swim also to an outside part. as wel as sit in a heated jacuzzi.

We've enjoyed Madeira very much and even in February you have a lot of beautifull flowers. We've walked to the city of Funchal = +/- 40 min from the hotel, but you can also take a free shuttle.
insider tip :) : if you walk the opposite site from Funchal, you will reach after +/- 30min a very nice shopping mall with cool clothes.

I will certainly go back!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeatriceMondelaers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2011
Thank you for your review of Porto Mare on TripAdvisor. Your opinion is even more valuable as it comes “through the voice” of a specialist who probably knows hundreds of hotels in different destinations.

Hope to welcome you in a near future,

Muito Obrigado,

Best regards,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

It's a resort hotel where the service is sulky (with the exception of the front desk). It "sea view" rooms have mostly a small square of sea visible from the front corner of the balcony - they regularly move dissapointed guests around to give them a room fitting more closely to what they had booked, after one or two nights. It's overpriced and everything is an extra charge - including internet in your room, milk for the tea which you can make in your room, and the mini safe in the room. Dinner was supposed to be an extra 22 euros but was actually a minimum of 25 etc etc.
The pool area is crowded, as is the buffet breakfast - really hard to find a table at times.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms (4th or 5th floor) best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank JJ739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear Madam,

I am deeply sorry to know that we were not capable to meet you holiday expectations.
We have taken good note of your thoughts and take them in consideration for the future.
Also take the opportunity to inform you that due to the shape of our building we do have a few rooms with a partial sea view.

With best regards,

Muito Obrigado
Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We chose the Portomare as a base for a short trip for a birthday treat. We were upgraded to a suite with welcome bubbly!. The hotel was excellent and we would certainly hope to return. We had a meal in the buffet and at the italian, both were very adequate, other eveining meals had nearby. The staff were polite and very helpful and very friendly. The grounds were immaculate.The rooms were very clean and kept clean. Hotel bus very useful, walk into town a good 30 mins but if in no hurry then why not. Overall a real find.

Room Tip: All rooms have sun at some time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear Guest,

“Muito obrigado” for your review on TripAdvisor about Porto Mare hotel.

We are glad to learn that you had a positive experience in Porto Mare hotel, to celebrate a special occasion and really hope to meet you in a near future.

Yours faithfully ,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burscough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We have just returned this weekend from our first trip to Madeira staying at the Porto Mare hotel. I can honestly say that this hotel is quite literally the best hotel we have ever stayed in, with the quality of our room 40ft long x 13ft (at its widest), to the beautiful gardens, fantastic pool complex, luxurious lounges, spa & gym room…I could go on.

We stayed B&B and the breakfast will certainly put you on till well after lunch, with so much on offer and get this…they serve champagne with the buffet breakfast which is quite decadent I know but it goes very nicely indeed. You can take breakfast overlooking the pool and it’s a wonderful way to start your day, then you can stroll around the award winning gardens before taking in the sun on the many bathing areas around the complex.

We spent a week at the Porto Mare hotel and enjoyed every minute of it, we did not eat our evening meals in the hotel as there are a plethora of restaurants within easy reach, and all suit a variety of budgets. We found mad point was the cheapest all round for car hire and we hired a smart car for two for 120Euros for 4 days, and we battered the Island taking in both the East & West coats, and plenty of trips into Funchal.

Hope that this has been helpful

Mike Marsland

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickeyMooFlat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Just a short note to thank you for your "honest" review of Porto Mare hotel and trully happy to know that you had a good time in our resort.

Hope to welcome you in a near future,

Best regards,

Muito Obrigado,
Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This hotel and resort was recommended by friends and lived up entirely to our expectations. The room was large and well furnished, with a god sized en suite bathroom as well.
We had a garden view and although we could not look out over the beautiful grounds and pools or the sea because it was a ground floor room we had a very private terrace from which we could see beautiful flowers and palm trees.
We were half board and ate lunch on the terrace most days although we did use the poolside bar on occasions.
The food was amazing in quantity , quality and variety.
We mainly ate in the dining room where we could choose from a wide variety of buffet starters and main courses and puddings.There were two other restaurants where a la carte menus were served . We ate there twice and were again impressed by the service and quality of food and wine.
In the evening there was a variety of entertainment. as well as sporting activities throughout the day if required. There were more than sufficient loungers and plenty of shady as well as full sun spots to sit in. We went on a conducted tour of the kitchens which was fascinating.
The public areas of the building were immaculate and very comfortably furnished with sofas and armchairs.The many flowers around the building were in beautiful displays.
The staff were well trained, polite and helpful.
Transfer from and to the airport was easy and quick. the hotel is in the Lido area of Funchal and overlooks the sea.
The Porto Mare is part of a resort complex along with the Eden Mar Hotel and The Residence, a wing of timeshare appartments which can be viewed without any pressure to buy. They were just as beautifully laid out and furnished as the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geordiescots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor.
We are really pleased to see that you have enjoyed the hotel, its facilities and services.
Also happy to read your positive comments about the food and restaurants service as this is an area where it is so difficult to meet all the expectations of so many different guests and eating culture. I will certainly share your thoughts with my team.

Hope to see you in a near future,

Muito Obrigado,

With best regards,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Stayed here for a week at end of May and thought Hotel was great. The staff are so friendly and helpful and food in buffet restaurant was really good. We stayed on a bed and brealkfast basis and bought vouchers to eat in the buffet restaurant in the Hotel on three nights which you can buy from reception and gives you a slight discount. Booked a superior room with sea view and it was a really good size and what a view! The only downside was that because all the doors in the rooms have heavy springs there is a great deal of noise from early on in the morning. Also hotel has a "no towels to reserve sun loungers policy" but this is not enforced. One party of four reserved their loungers early each morning and sometimes they did not come to use them until mid-afternoon. The happy hour each day was great and loved the cocktails. The entertainment each night was very good but would be better if it was more varied rather than the same duo each night. If eating out the Chefe steakhouse at end of balcony in Eden Mar Shopping Centre is great and the staff are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. Their steak on a stone was fantastic and the quality of the fillet steak was excellent. It is a fair hike into Funchal (about 30 min walk) and would recommend the hotel courtesy bus. We were lucky enough to be there when the first firework display was on (every Saturday throughout June) and it was brilliant. Unfortunately weather was not too great when we were there but we had a really good holiday anyway and would go back to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyWanderers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor your thoughts about the days you have been in Madeira and in Porto Mare hotel.
It is rewarding to know that overall we been able to meet your expectations and really happy to know that you will be back!

With warm regards,

Muito Obrigado
Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,890 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,378 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 86 in Funchal
1,833 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Property: Porto Mare Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing