We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in our regular apartment - great!”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Love the garden apartment we own - took daughter/son in law and grandson with us.
thanks for allocating them an apartment - they loved the experience.

One point re health and safety - young families find it hard to be very near to the shallow end of the large pool due to couples some fully clothed and in the shade taking up bed area that would allow parents to keep an eye on children who are not quite ready to be left without supervision - think the hotel should review sunbed area and set aside an area for young families - other than that we love our stay as usual.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KincorthHamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,369 - 1,375 of 2,168 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2011

We love this hotel hence returning for a second time (and taking our parents for a week) where we were given prestige status and think it is generally well run and managed.The staff on reception are generally very friendly as were the watiresses in the restaurant who cooed over both our daughters. The only down side was the air conditioning in our junior suite bedroom which was virtually non existent making it very difficult to keep cool in the night especially so for my 4 month old who was in the cot bed. After complaining around 5 times someone came and we were told there was nothing that could be done! Overall the resort is kept very clean, the pool was cleaned on numerous occasions as was the shower, sunbeds became valueble as the hotel got busier although we were always able to get a umberalla if requested, the grounds are kept immaculate and the flowers and wildlife a pleasure to walk past.. The food on the buffet is generally of a good quality but drinks are very expensive even during the happy hour which gives you 50% off!

Room Tip: a studio seems cooler but no good if there is more than two in the party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sba5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about Porto Mare hotel. I have taken good note of the points mentioned and we try to correct what did not go so well.

Hope to have you back on a third trip to Madeira, I would be most pleased to assist you on anything you might need.

Muito Obrigado,

Best regards,
Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Another great week in our apartment - staff very friendly, entertainment better this year and the weather excellent.
Although the promised upgrade has still to take place in it's entirety, being able to get BBC1, 2 and ITV was a bonus - shame the weather was too good to appreciate this.
The local beer and wine makes a visit to Madeira very enjoyable.
We also appreciated the welcome meeting with the manager and sales team for any comments and problems we had (there were none).
The best things about this hotel is the view and excellent gardens, pools.I doubt whether any hotel in the area has better gardens or so many sunbeds.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob30Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2011

Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your thoughts about your previous stay.
Glad you notice some of the little things we have improved and others are on the way…

Hope to meet you soon,

With best regards,

Muito Obrigado

Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

First time to Madeira and wasnt disappointed, we were actually booked a Jr suite at the Eden Mar but when we arrived we were told we were moved to a jr suite at Porto Mare, didnt ask why, it sounded a free upgrade to me. Rm 2475 was lovely, we were at the side of the hotel but we had a massive balcony with 2 sun loungers, table 4 chairs and plenty of standing room, we got the sun from 11.30 to sunset, might not suit everyone if you prefer to watch whats going on at the pool etc, but we enjoyed the privacy. It was my partners birthday when we were on hol and a lovely surprise of a bottle of champagne was waiting on ice in our room after a day out.

There is really nothing negative ive got to say about the Hotel or staff.

Went on the west and east tours with Strawberry World, what a guide Anna was, she never stopped talking, you never got a chance to be bored,(your not paid enough Anna lol). Also took the ferry to Porto Santo, lovely Island, not much to do to be honest, expensive trip to lie on the beach most of the day, glad we went but wont go again.

Madeira is lovely, clean with friendly people, enjoyed it so much, that ive already booked our flights for next July - cant wait.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marj50-54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We had an amazing holiday at this hotel! From check in onwards we were impressed with the high standards of customer service shown by all staff members. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis - and the food available for that was excellent! We did eat in two of the on-site restaurants - Il Basilico and Med - and both were absolutely terrific! The duck ragout at Il Basilico and the Fillet Steak at Med are to die for! The hotel offers wine tasting and a tour of the amazing gardens to all guests - thank you Isabel for an interesting tour of the gardens! Our room was beautiful and had a huge sun terrace with sun loungers as well as table and chairs and the view down to the spa pool, large pool and through the gardens to the Atlantic were outstanding - room 2106 if you get the chance!! We plan to return as we didn't see everything this fascinating island has to offer. I can recommend the Madeira Story for a potted history, the cable car up to Monte and also a trip to the beautiful cathedral and the the workers market. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GwynnethS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Dear Sirs,
Many thanks for the "fantastic" review sento tripadvisor about Porto Mare.
I am glad to see that you have enjoyed the facilities & service of Porto Mare and I will proudly share your thoughts with my team.

With warm regards and really hope to meet you in a future stay,

Muito Obrigado
Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Thats our second visit in Porto Mare. Hotel itself is awesome, situated not far from the capital city of Funchal - 20min walk or you can take the bus nearby. Hotel offers his own free shuttle bus to get to the city and back, which you have to prebook at reception. Rooms are very spacious, quiet and the bathrooms are large and well equipped. Huge garden is the place where you can chill in the sun drinking delicious cocktails made in the pool bar. Food is very tasty and there's always a lot to choose from, we love Portuguese pastries on breakfast . Miss them so much;) Staff were very friendly and polite. Overall we are very happy with our stay and surely will visit Madeira again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveFunchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

"Muito Obrigado", for the comments shared on tripadvisor about your stay. It is fantastic to know that you had another positive experience in Porto Mare.

I really hope to see you back in a near future,

With warm regards,

Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Lovely hotel, they have it just right. The staff are to be commended for their dedication to making sure your holiday is totally enjoyable. Some people have commented on the location, cannot imagne why as it clearly states the hotel is a short drive outside of Funchal and to us this is just perfect - hotel courtesy bus is a breeze! The only negative we have is that the AC in the rooms needs an upgrade. We upgraded our room when booking and were given a lovely corner room with balcony on one side and sun terrace on the other, however the room was never really cold. We reported this to the hotel and they kindly looked into it, but the room still never became cold. Yes the Hotel Zone is under development, but to be honest unless we walked outside the hotel we would not have been aware of this - very tranquil setting and totally self-contained within the grounds of the hotel EU money is being well spent in Madeira, they are clearly keen to encourage tourism so development is essential. Cannot recommend the Porto Mare enough, they have just the right amount of style without being over the top and you feel at home and comfortable, not like a soul-less chain hotel, i.e. Marriot/Crown Plaza that are genertic world-wide - stayed in many and they lack that personal touch, albeit they can be "grand".

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HelMar002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

We are really happy to know that we had a positive contribution to your holidays and THANK you so much for sharing your opinion with such a vast audience.
It would be nice to meet you in a near future,

With best regards,
Muito Obrigado,

Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,036 reviews
0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 88 in Funchal
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
944 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £111 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing