We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Ickenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Recently (March 2013) stayed at Porto Mare Hotel for 8 days. This was our third stay. Very helpful staff. Rooms clean well equipped, with air conditioning. Free Wi Fi only near the vicinity of reception area, also good reception in part of the dining room. I believe they are in the process of installing WI FI in the bedrooms as well. Buffett breakfast with excellent choice of food. They also cater for special diets, gluten free bread no problem, on request. Good value buffet evening meals, there are also two other restaurants in the hotel. Two indoor heated swimming pools and a very large outdoor one, unheated. Would certainly be staying in this hotel again. It is two miles from city centre, Free transport is provides numerous times to Funchal centre and back to the hotel. If you are in a harry Taxi from the town works out 5 to 6 Euros.

Room Tip: Choose garden view rooms on second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gustav53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “excellent hotel” review posted on tripadvisor and for the 3rd stay in our property. Glad that you had another positive holiday experience and really hope to welcome you in a future 4th visit to our Island.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,570
    394
    57
    13
    6
See reviews for
381
1,333
57
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Had a 10 day break over easter 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is excellent, the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming, the gardens are beautiful , everywhere is clean and well maintained and the food is varied and very good. Didn't get the best of weather but it didn't spoil our time at the Porto Mare. Courtesy bus into Funchal is very useful. Also tennis courts and pools excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get a pool/garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mangoCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such the “excellent hotel” review shared on tripadvisor about your holiday stay at Porto Mare hotel.

Really happy to learn that you took such a positive impression of us in spite of the not so good weather.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit and with sunny weather,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This was our first visit to Madiera and we stayed at this hotel on recommendation. We were not disappointed. Lovely room, beautiful gardens which were immaculate. Breakfast to die for.The staff were very friendly and welcoming. My birthday was not overlooked which was a nice surprise, very observent room staff.
We travelled independently so we needed to do a bit more work when planning outings but the staff on reception were good at giving us information on bus timetables.
My only complaint - and not the hotels problem were the number of smokers on their balconies the smell of whose cigarettes drifted in the wind.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a positive feedback about your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel.

It is rewarding to know that you had a positive first holiday experience and hopefully won’t be the last.

We would be most pleased to welcome you in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I travelled to this hotel in December with my son, as a Travel Agent had booked my parents into the Eden Mar hotel which is part of the complex many times before and they loved it. Firstly if you want a time to travel at a fabulous price go early in December it's extremely good value for money. Our room was a good size and a beautiful view of the gardens, in December there are more older people travelling but do not be put off by this, people that have been to the hotel travel year after year. The outdoor pools are an excellent size and you also have 2 indoor pools along with a gym and a spa which was wonderful, the grounds are stunning with flowers and herbs. Part of the hotel is called the Residence and people have time share properties, the hotel staff showed me several rooms and were wonderful. The Eden Mar complex has self catering facilities which is wonderful if you want to sit outside at night on your balcony have a glass of wine and enjoy the views, the supermarket is down the hill and the food is lovely. The hotel does do a wonderful breakfast and you can sit outside and enjoy this as well as a buffet restaurant and an alternative restaurant. The hotel staff are all lovely and very helpful, happy hour at night is great too. The hotel also provides a courtesy bus into Funchal, we walked one way and caught on the way back. I can see why the reviews are high why not try this hotel instead of the Canaries you won't be disappointed if you want a high standard with a lovely relaxed feel to it. Thank you to The Porte Mare who on my birthday left champagne in my room. I hope this review encourages people to give it a go, I will return and would travel alone and feel comfortable. Xxxxx

Room Tip: High, floor sea view in Porte Mare, junior suite in Eden Mare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cooksagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a positive feedback about you recent stay at Vila Porto Mare complex. It is great to see that you took advantage of the different services and facilities we do offer to our guests and that you took such a positive impression of my team.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This was our second visit to the Hotel. Our first trip was 3 years ago and we had a lovely stay. This second time we went with great expectations and were not disappointed. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Restaurants serve good food with plenty of variety and plenty of it! Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for a room with a pool and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nottm38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing on tripadvisor your thoughts about your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel.

Thank you as well for revisiting our property and happy to learn that we were able to meet your exceptions,

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future for your 3rd visit,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The hotel is very nice. Everything is clean and in excellent shape. The outside parts with pools, gardens are well treated and in excellent shape with a lot of flowers and trees.
The service is excellent beginning with the the room service ending with the pool boy. The restaurants are good independent if buffet or á la card. The bars are nice, with happy hour in two bars every evening. The drinks are good and not to expensive. There is music, shows or films every evening in several bars.
The waitresses and waiter especially in the restaurant atlantida are very nice and spoke up to 5 different languages including fluent english, german, french, spanish, italien and for sure portuguese.
We had a one week stay which was perfect concerning the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClausS550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the “excelente” review shared on tripadvisor about your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel. We are really happy to know that you had such a positive holiday experience.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado



. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redland City, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

I suspect that the only thing holding this hotel back from 5* is that they charge for many extras that other 5* hotels include such as in-room safe 10 euros per week, crazy golf, tennis, pool, pétanque etc. wifi is free in lobby. The pools are great with 2 indoor pools heated which is needed in March, one extends outside; never an issue finding sun loungers. We were b&b and dined in local restaurants which are adequate without being outstanding. Breakfasts are excellent, service is friendly and helpful throughout. Stayed with our 9 year old in a Garden View room on 2nd floor and she loved it. Would definitely recommend and will return (not something I normally do). In fact this is the first time I have felt sufficiently motivated to write a review as it was favourable reviews which led me to choose the Porto Mare and the management and staff deserve praise. Love Madeira and Funchal though building work in the centre of Funchal at the moment is a slight issue though a long way from the hotel of course.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidPhilp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “quality” review about your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel.
We are pleased to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience and really hope to welcome you back in a short period of time.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 86 in Funchal
1,814 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Property: Porto Mare Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing