We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Porto Mare Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$466
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$350
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,298)
Filter reviews
2,298 results
Traveller rating
1,778
438
62
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,778
438
62
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmed restaurantil basilicoorchid gardenatlantida restaurantsea viewhotel complexbuffet restaurantcourtesy bushappy hourlovely hotelhalf boardhalf pricesister hotelgardens are beautifultime shareindoor poolroom safe
Filter
Updating list...
1,051 - 1,056 of 2,298 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is a very nice hotel located at Funchal's Lido quarter. It has a great garden, outdoor (and indoor) pools and nice terrace for breakfast and dinner.
The overall atmosphere in the hotel was very relaxed, which may have been due to a quite high average age of the guests.
We booked a seaview room and first got a room on the west side of the hotel with a balcony opening to a noisy street. After complaining about the noise at the front desk, the lady at the reception explained that the later you book (admitted, we booked just 10 days in advance) the "worse" your room will be (why does a hotel have "bad" rooms?) and that the hotel was fully booked, but gave us another room facing the garden, anyway.
This room was nearly twice as big as the first room, wow. The catch was, that it was located right above one of the restaurants and that it was very noisy during breakfast (no long sleep :) and dinner times (no early sleep as well :). Since we only realized that during the first night, another complaint was useless since there were no other free rooms.
Apart from that (I file it under poor sleep quality), the service was exceptional and the staff in the restaurants was very friendly.
The food was very good, too. Dinner buffets changed each night with a different theme.
The position of the hotel is quite exceptional, not too far from the center, but far enough to be able to have a quiet walk in the evening. The center of Funchal was about a 30 min. walk away. Public busses, the Yellow and Red busses of different tourist organizations stopped right in front of the hotel and a taxi stop which always had taxis waiting is about 50 m from the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your holiday experience at Porto Mare hotel. Good to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience in spite of the room location issue.
We have taken good note of the noise issues raised and do everything possible to minimize it.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you in a future visit to our island,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Had a one week stay in February. Great experience. One of the best hotels we have stayed at. Friendly staff, good location, really amazing gardens. Breakfasts good and we had dinner 3 times in the buffet restaurant - the quality and variety of food was very good. Close to restaurants and several supermarkets. Free shuttle bus to Funchal centre. Nice room - well cleaned and fresh.
We will be back. Our only minor quibble is having to pay to use the room safe.
A superior hotel - I would rate it 5 star not 4 star.

Room Tip: Rooms on west side of main building - numbers above 50 approx. - only get sun in the mornings. But that was okay for us.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bill5549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the “Great stay in Madeira” review shared on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to know that you had a positive holiday experience.

Sincerely hope to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We were given a south facing room on a high floor (4th), as requested, and were so pleased with the sunny balcony and the view. The beds were huge and so comfortable,with a choice of pillows, and there was plenty of space and storage.
Breakfast was delicious and the staff were very friendly and efficient - not only in the restaurant, but also the receptionists and the maids. We did not eat in any of the other restaurants as they appeared rather expensive and there were plenty of alternative places to eat in the vicinity of the hotel.
Our only disappointment was that there was no coastal pathway into the centre of Funchal and the only way to walk was along a busy main road. Also there was a lot of building work going on, both at the harbour/marina and the Lido area - not very picturesque.

Room Tip: high floor and south facing
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank apmillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your review shared with so many other holiday makers of TripAdvisor and pleased to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience with us.

Sorry about the building works of Funchal city center that will be finished by October/November.

Sincerely hope to welcome you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had ten days excellent holidays in January 2014. The hotel is very clean, the food is very good, the stuff is very kind. We have been there the second time, again had nice weather and we will come back again next January.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas0159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the “Excellent hotel, excellent people” review posted on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to know that you had a positive holiday experience and hopefully we will see you again soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is a very good 4star hotel with beautiful gardens and pools and probably better than some 5 star resorts nearby.The hotel was perfectly relaxing and still very close to everything like a pingo doce supermarket for self catering and the bus-stop to central Funchal.Prices at the restaurants and bars outside the resort tend to be lower priced.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank bas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor your “beautiful gardens and pools” review about your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews