We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab-u-lous !!”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed 21-28 April. The hotel is the best we have stayed in. We had booked a junior suite in Porto Mar however the view was a bit disappointing, partly of a side street and side sea view. Room itself was excellent. The Manager upgraded us to a suite in the Eden Mar it was amazing. The gardens we were surrounded by exotic and beautiful lowers, tress and shrubs, private botantical gardens! Spacious, comfy, spotless and very quiet. Unrestricted views of the sea and the beautiful gardens and pools. We had a restful sleep and we experienced no noise whatsoever during the day or night. The beds very comfy and roomy. The lounge and bar areas are really comfy. Entertainment was excellent. The indoor and outdoor pools are wonderful. Lots of other acticities on site. Meals great with our restauants to choice from plus lots of nearby eating places. Staff friendly and effecient. Our whole experience of Porto Bay was fantastic. I cannot recommend the Porto Mar and Eden Mar enough. If you what the best forget the best. We will return for another holiday. 10/10 ++ Thank you R&S Edinburgh.

Room Tip: higher level is good to see over the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank summerEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the “Fab-u-lous !!” review about your recent holiday experience at Vila Porto Mare complex and pleased to know that you enjoyed it in spite of the first room location not being the best.

We will be most pleased to see you around whenever you decide to visit our island.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

887 - 893 of 2,131 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

What a wonderful hotel. Beautiful setting, great rooms, lovely restaurants and service. Staff were incredibly helpful and it was real value for money. We only stayed for 4 nights but we will definitely return there when we next visit. Definitely the best hotel we have stayed in Madeira so far.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are especially lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the feedback about your recent holidays at Porto Mare hotel and happy know that overall you have enjoyed it

It will be a pleasure to welcome you whenever you decide to revisit us.


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Recently spent two more weeks for our anniversary at this lovely hotel, everything was perfect from the welcome we received from staff, to the perfect superior room with sea view, and excellent food in the Atlantida restaurant. Not to forget our meals at the Med restaurant which were excellent. The gardens were lovely as ever.
Thanks to all staff our 3rd visit was the best yet, we will be back!

Room Tip: We prefer sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lancslass2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the review about you for the 3rd recent holiday experience at Porto Mare hotel and pleased to know that you enjoyed it.


We will be most pleased to see you around for the 4th visit…

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. Everything was outstanding from staff, cleanliness,beautiful gardens and pool areas,food and high quality room and furnishings.Cant fault this hotel and recommend it for a peaceful relaxing holiday with like minded people. Will definitely return 10/10.

Room Tip: 2224 overlooking pool and gardens sun all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathhyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for the ““outstanding”” review about Porto Mare hotel and really happy to know that you have enjoyed the time you spent with us.

We would be most pleased to welcome you in another visit to our Island,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our second visit and we had a huge room with terrace overlooking the gardens,pool and sea. The bed was very comfortable and it was a room that you could almost live in. Breakfast is superb huge variety of hot and cold food with bubbly if you want it. The gym and indoor pools are lovely and staff are very helpful and courteous. There are several restaurants near the hotel and the regular buses stop outside to take you into Funchal. The gardens are gorgeous especially the orchid garden, loads of sun beds and umbrellas. The only slight negative is that it has timeshare parts that they would like you to visit and will ring your room to ask if you want to go. But as long as such things don't phase you it's perfect. Make sure you visit Armazem do Sal in Funchal for an amazing and incredibly reasonably priced meal.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lizzie056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our guest at Porto Mare hotel and for the feedback about it.

It is rewarding to know that you had a positive holiday experience in our hotel and Island and we will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,



. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our second stay at the hotel - the first being five years ago. Sadly it failed to re-deliver the initial experience.

When we checked in we were told that the room we had paid extra for (junior suite with sea view) was not available. Instead we were offered a room with a view of a car park and side road. The acting manager explained they had overbooked - and that no equivalent alternative was available.

Overbooking allows the hotel to eliminate the risks of vacancy - but this comes at the expense of the guest. 100% unacceptable. And being told "I am really sorry but there's nothing we can do" is not a solution.

Bearing in mind our children and ourselves had been up since 5 am, it took several hours after arriving until we were then given a room in a separate part of the hotel (with no sea view). Note that there was no room available at all when we arrived. There was no apology for this at all.

The room itself was spacious and clean, but every night there was noise coming from below the floor, apparently when the staff in the restaurant were clearing-up. On the Saturday night there was the incredible noise of drilling, loud music and hammering that began at midnight - waking several other guests as well.

I had to call down to the reception twice before anything was done. When I went to speak to the hotel the following morning, the same manager (a Neide Freitas) initially offered an extremely sympathetic apology, but there was no mention of any sort of compensation until I pushed the matter further.

The hotel staff, it should be said, were exceptionally helpful and friendly throughout, but thanks to a frankly awful policy on overbooking and a management that seems to want to fob-off unhappy visitors, there is no chance whatsoever of our going back to this hotel.

This is a great shame. But for the amount that we paid, we should have received a great deal more. Getting the room you paid for and no building work until 1:00 AM isn't too much to ask for. I absolutely can not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Insist on being far away from the ground floor - we were on level three but the restaurant was direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel. We once again deeply apologize for a non-pleasant experience at our hotel. In fact there were some failures on our side.
At the time the options we had were offered, but I do understand that this type of situations should be avoided and also understand that there are not enough “compensation” scheme that can “delete” an experience like this.

We would be pleased to welcome you in future visit to Madeira if you reconsider us as an option and I would be most pleased to personally assist you on anything you might need.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

On first visit to Madeira and chose to stay on half-board basis at Porto Mare as we were unsure of local facilities.
The hotel was everything we expected and more. Room was large, clean and comfortable and our only 'niggle' was that the extractor fan in the bathroom did not clear the steam quickly enough which meant everything ran with condensation after having a shower.
We chose to eat in the Restaurante Atlantida, buffet service, every day because the range and quality of the food was excellent. Again the range and quality of the food at breakfast was excellent with cereals, fresh fruit, cold meats, cheeses and the usual cooked options. Dinners have a different theme each night, Portuguese, Italian, Mediterranean, Fish, etc., and we found this suited our tastes each night. Restaurant staff, in fact all the hotel staff, were polite, efficient and, of course, multilingual. This was a great help when the clients were from several different countries.
Spa, swimming pool, gym, etc. all looked clean and tidy but we did not use any of these facilities and therefore can't comment further.
Grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Views over the pools, gardens and out to sea are wonderful. There is a promenade which can normally be used to walk to the centre of Funchal but this seemed to be undergoing a bit of maintenance when we visited. It will also take you west out of Funchal along the coast.
We toured most of Madeira by bus to get an idea of our surroundings and we were not disappointed. It would make an excellent venue for a walking holiday but, on this occasion, we were not equipped for such an adventure.
We would like to make a return visit in future to enjoy again this wonderful hotel and the island of Madeira. Unfortunately, like many popular resorts, there is a 'hotel quarter' in Funchal which consists of block after block of concrete edifices and, of course, it is full of tourists.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the sea and the choice of room depends of the time of day you wish your balcony to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at tour hotel and for such a comprehensive review about your recent first visit to Porto Mare hotel.

We are really happy to learn that you had such a very positive holiday experience with us and we will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to our Island.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,968 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 88 in Funchal
1,414 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
918 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £104 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing