We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommended”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Quick check in (I did it online on their website before I left)
The standard room was enormous.Sitting area,kitchen facilities,2 bathrooms.2 TV's,enormous bed,great view of gardens and sea.
Great buffet breakfast until 10:30
Lovely gardens,pools and a spa .Be aware they charge 5 Euros to use the steam/sauna before a massage.
Courtesy bus into town needs to be PRE BOOKED.It gets full quickly as clientele is mainly elderly
It's just as quick(quicker) to walk into town(15 mins).
There are child facilities for families,but most guests are retired.Nice to see them dancing in the bar after dinner.
Thgere is a choice of bars and resaturants.
Everything bright,clean,well maintained

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tiddlepom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the feedback about your recent holidays at Porto Mare hotel and happy know that you have enjoyed it
Also good to learn that you took advantage of the different services and facilities of our property

It will be a pleasure to welcome you whenever you decide to revisit us.


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

927 - 933 of 2,193 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed over the Easter holidays and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel had quirky Easter decorations around the hotel and was very clean. The gardens are as nice as the previous reviews have said, I would recommend asking for a garden view. I had a sea view which was good but the gardens would have been nicer. They have lots of different flowers which smell great. The hotel placed petals, flowers and a bottle of bubbly in the room for my in-laws anniversary which I thought was a nice touch. The breakfast was good, the menu is the same everyday but plenty to choose from. I didn't use the pool facilities or the restaurants, tried to see as much of Madeira as possible during my stay. The pools looked clean and very inviting.

Room Tip: Request a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gem F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our guest at Porto Mare hotel and for the feedback about it.

It is rewarding to know that you had a positive holiday experience in our hotel and Island and we will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,



. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very comfortable apartment, spacious clean and with stunning views over the gardens and sea. The staff are so helpful and friendly from the top down and we enjoyed everything about the hotel, food and the sights from the hotel gardens. There are lots of walks from the hotel in both directions if you fancy a good walk. The walk down to Funchal must include a coffee in Reids Hotel where the staff make you feel welcome even if you just want to look around but do see the views from the terrace - breathtaking. This was my first time in Porto Mare but my partners 10th or more and we will be returning for many years to come. It has a quiet relaxed atmosphere with some really good evening singers so if its noise, games and slot machines you crave, this wont be for you. Food everywhere is really good if you want the special dishes like steak on a stone and scabbard fish with banana. Having had both I now see why people rave over it and the taste and quality. Wonderful holiday and the restaurant food is very high standard.

Room Tip: Rooms above ground level have better sea views but all are of the same high standard. A/C works wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DCandJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your support by staying with us for the first time visit to Madeira.

Thank you also for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel and happy to learn that you have enjoyed it.

We will be most pleased to welcome you for the second holiday experience.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just returned from our third stay at this beautiful hotel set in outstanding gardens. Excellent rooms, courteous staff and a food selection to suit everyone. Looking forward to returning at the end of the year.

We have stayed in other Porto Bay Hotels in Madeira, the Porto Santa Maria and the Cliff Bay. We have also stayed in the Porto Bay Falesia in the Algarve, all these hotels have exceeded our expectations. Excellent Hotel Group.

Room Tip: Pool view/ sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your support by staying with us so many times and also for sharing your feedback about your holiday experience at our hotel.
Also thank you so much for your supporting by staying nearly in all Porto Bay properties…there is still a small nice hotel full of charm in Santo da Serra…

See you soon hopefully,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just got back from our stay at the Porto Mare, Eden Mar complex. Yet another excellent stay the gardens and the grounds are so beautiful and it is so nice to walk through them looking at all the flowers. The standard of the food is also excellent and you have a choice of a few restaurants in the complex. If you wanted anything different doing with your food they were always accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was so clean you could have eaten food of the floor. The staff could not do enough for you and always had a smile on their face and looked so happy in their work. They spent time to talk to you even the managers did and it was good to see the General Manager walking round the complex every day with a smile and talking to the guests. Looking forward to going back next year the time wont come quick.enough. What you find at this hotel people come year after year so that tells you how good it is. There was only one disappointment and that was Funchal itself, unfortunately they are doing a lot of work at the harbour and it is a building site but it will be nice when it is done but that would not stop us going to the hotel next year. We went into Funchal to see the flower parade is was amazing and something you should not miss.

Room Tip: every time we have been we have always had a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trish042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you for being at our hotel and for your review shared with so many other people.

The hotel manager walks around the hotel because he has no other thing to do…at least he does something good:) Talking to guests, walking around checking things is one of the responsibilities of any hotel manager, therefore I am just trying to do my job.

THANK YOU.

We will always be pleased to see you around, whenever you decide to come to madeira.


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We have just spent 10 days at this Hotel which on reflection was too long 3 days would have been enough to enjoy the gardens which are truly spectacular.
The hotel itself was like a large complex made up of different buildings which we found to be lacking in the atmosphere you would find in one of the smaller Hotels, which is of course down to personal taste.
We had booked for breakfast in the Hotel which was manic and very stressful with staff running about every where with trolleys and trays and knocking into guests and arguing with each other, all due to the enormous influx of diners, we felt sorry for the staff who were definately harassed.
A better option might be to self cater, there are plenty of shops and restaurants around.
The best restaurant we found was the Goya just over the road from the Hotel lovely food great service and relaxing surroundings.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cumbriajulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your holiday experience at Porto Mare hotel.

Sorry if we were not able to meet your holiday needs. Porto Mare hotel is one of the three hotels within the Vila Porto Mare complex.
Yes sometimes during breakfast depending on the time you go to the restaurant can be a bit more busy and that’s why in Atlantida restaurant entrance we advise our guests to avoid the times where everybody goes.
We also have another restaurant for breakfast within the complex where you can experience a more relaxed atmosphere, Alfama restaurant.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you in a future visit to our island,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have always had the greatest time here. The staff are always so polite, the food is excellent . ,especially in the Atlantida - although a bit on the expensive side for a buffet. Waitress service as usual is top class and as it was our 7th anniversary I ordered a bunch of flowers and was sent a bottle of "champagne" compliments of the house. The surprise was the rose petals scattered round the table - just lovely. Can't wait until next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cal666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you for being at our hotel and for your review shared with so many other people.

We will always be pleased to see you around, whenever you decide to come to madeira.


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,071 reviews
0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 88 in Funchal
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £114 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing