We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable!”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Been to Madeira before and this hotel was most definitely a huge step up from the one we had previously, even though it was only adding 'one star'. Had higher expectations of what it would be like and they were all met sufficiently.
Firstly, the food was scrumptious, varied and some of the best we have tasted anywhere. I know buffets don't suit everyone but the range and quality of the food was excellent; breakfast and evening meal.
The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in, in any hotel, and a relief as the previous hotel was like sleeping on a board!
The gardens were lovely in themselves and were one of the considerations when we chose the hotel in the first place. Absolutely loved the flying of the hawk in the gardens too.(Though I don't think the pigeons are really that much bothered by its presence!)
Doubt we will be back to Madeira but would certainly return here. Such a comfortable, well furnished, relaxing place, served well by friendly and helpful staff.
One negative point is that we had our free drink but forgot there were strings attached with the 'time share sell' !! We managed to avoid their chat down in the bar but they then phoned us in our room.

Room Tip: Any room facing the back will give you a wonderful sea view and over the lush, tropical gardens.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank depsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your support by staying with us for the first time.

Thank you also for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel and happy to learn that you have enjoyed it.

We will be most pleased to welcome you for the second holiday experience.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,104)
There are newer reviews for Porto Mare Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 842 of 2,104 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have just returned from our 6th trip to Madeira. The first time was 20 years ago, the last four years being at the Porto Mare, and also the previous year at the Cliff Bay, and we really do consider this to be the very best. This time it was extra special as it was our 50th wedding anniversary and we were upgraded to a beautiful suite, and on the actual day received a bottle of champagne, beautiful flowers, and red rose petals sprinkled all over. What a wonderful touch. A special thank you to our maid, whose name I unfortunately did not get, but it was room 2338. This hotel is unsurpassed in style, cleanliness, quality and facilities. We stay on a B & B basis as we like to eat out, but always take the three meals offered at a special rate, and these are always absolutely excellent. The breakfast to me also is excellent, offering all cereals, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast including omelettes and eggs specially prepared, different breads, cakes, hams, cheeses, yogurt and also sparkling wine! I have seen reports of it being boring as it is always the same! What different choice would anyone want from this huge selection! The staff are always friendly, attentive, professional and, I am ashamed to say, they can always speak to us in English whilst very few of us are able to converse in their language. The gardens really are absolutely wonderful, I would say even better than most of the professional gardens in Madeira. Gardening fanatics will love the herb garden, the orchid garden and most of the plants have their names on them. We just cant fault it in any way and the rates are very competitive. It certainly should have a rating of 5*. Congratulations once again to the Manager and all his staff for a wonderful relaxing holiday in such a super place. It is a pleasant 30-minute walk into Funchal town, with an uphill walk back, but for those less able there is a very good courtesy bus and the local buses also stop outside. Also the Red and Yellow buses, which take you around part of the island, stop outside.

Madeira for those unacquainted with it is a beautiful island, very mountainous, very green, with wonderful plants and extremely clean. For those people like us who like walking, it is paradise. The only downside at the moment is that there is a lot of flood alleviation and landscaping work taking place at the harbour, which does make it slightly treacherous walking in some areas. But I know when all the work is done it will be even better!

Room Tip: We were upgraded on our 50th anniversary to a suite, room 2338, which was fantastic.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 161Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at our hotel once again and for such a comprehensive review about your recent visit to Porto Mare hotel.

We are really happy to learn that you had such a very positive holiday experience with us and profited from the facilities, services we have within the Vila Porto Mare complex.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to our Island…ASAP!

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We just got back from two weeks in this hotel and I am not sure to give it 3 or 4 stars. These stars dont stand in relation with the grading of the the hotel since it is without doubt a 4 star hotel.
I will try to give an objective review of my experiences.

+
Swimming pools
Friendliness staff regardless of the restaurant, reception or cleaning lady
Clean rooms
Great indoor playing room for kids aged 1 to 4 (there is also a room for older kids which we didnt use)
View on the ocean
Location: a walk into the city is maneagable but there are free busses from the hotel going to Funchal

-
Food: in the beginning we found it good but after a week we were bored by the breakfast which is always very similar and aimed at their english guests. Dinner also repeats itself in a weekly modus. a bi-weekly repetition would be better.
Elevator: one of the two elevators was broken almost every day and it took ages to repair. With such a big hotel, you notice it when only one elevator functions. With a small baby and stroller, you cannot use the stairs..
Gym: at first sight, i thought it was nice but some machines are not clean. I always use desinfection after the use of a machine. Some guests clearly didnt do this.

It is not a bad hotel and it is certainly value for the money. We will go back to Funchal but most probably not to the hotel. I can recommend it for a one week visit though. Two weeks might be a bit long if you want to be challenged food wise.

We stayed in a suit on the 5th floor which gives you a great view.

Room Tip: Suite on the 5th floor. Ocean view guaranteed. The people complaining about a lack of ocean view pro...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bjorn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your holiday experience at Porto Mare hotel.

Sorry if we were not able to meet your holiday needs. Porto Mare hotel is one of the three hotels within the Vila Porto Mare complex.
Also take the opportunity to inform you that overall the percentage of German and English guest in Porto Mare hotel is more or less the same, depending on the period of the year.
I am sorry for the elevators, please understand that by being on a small island sometimes it can be a bit more difficult to get spare parts.
About the breakfast I can understand your point of view, but with some flexibility it is possible to have a different breakfast every day even when you are staying 14 days.
In our breakfast we have 13 different fruits, , four different types of bread, croissants plus four different types of local pastry, different cooked eggs including omelets, waffles, different jams and juices, coffee, milk, tea, water, Spk wine, three different types of cheese and ham, three types sausages, roasted potatoes, beans, tomato, cucumber, yogurts, honey, muesli and other cereals, and so on…
Also note that we have four different restaurant within the complex. Atlantida restaurant the themed buffet, Alfama, with Portuguese cuisine, Med restaurant and the popular Italian Il Basilico plus the two pool bars where we serve light meals and snacks and an ice cream parlor.

Next time you visit Madeira I would be most pleased to assist you on any information you might need.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hotel is good, however the 'appartments' are fairly small for an appartment (it is actually a hotel room with a small kitchen). Due to the reconstruction of the seaside/harbour of Funchal it is very noisy and for people who are not very mobile it is quite a problem to walk to the town center.
In the period we went there (i.e. end of May) the average age of the guests was around 70 years.
Wifi works fine (you can get free wifi in the public areas and private wifi in the room at a relatively high cost).
Personnel is friendly and speaks good English.

Room Tip: rooms at seaside to be prefered
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank rensvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback about your holiday in madeira.

Allow to inform you that in Porto Mare hotel we do not have apartments but normal hotel rooms, therefore your comments can give an inappropriate image to other hotel reviewers.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in case you need any further assistance on this matter.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel sets itself very high standards and will meet your expectations beyond any doubt. We have stayed once as a family and am returning this October for my wife's birthday. The staff were more than happy to show us around the rooms so we were able to book exactly what we wanted this time around. Breakfast is really good and worth booking the choice of foods is excellent as is the quality. The indoor and outdoor pool areas are well maintained and the choice of facilities and location are very convenient being just a short bus trip from the bustling Funchal centre.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for the feedback about it.

We are really pleased to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience and are already thinking about a future visit.

You will be most welcome.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed for two weeks at the end of May 2014. The gardens are beautifully maintained and
the scent of Jasmine adds to the magic. The pools are very clean and there is a lovely small pool
area for young children. The several restaurants are of a very high standard and Il Basilico has
recently been modernised and extended. The staff are friendly and helpful and public areas are
elegant and spacious.
Cannot fault the hotel although there is some building noise from work at the nearbye Lido
which is being renovated after some years of neglect by the local Government.

Room Tip: Currently away from the Lido noise at the seafront.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madeirafanwhitleybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Porto Mare and happy to learn that overall you had a positive holiday experience.

We sincerely hope to see you around for many future visits to madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just spent four nights in this hotel and what a wonderful experience. We were given one of the best rooms (even the receptionist who was checking us in commented on the room) - but being slightly cynical, I was expecting the usual hotel room. My mistake - we had the largest hotel room I have ever stayed in, with a balcony and a terrace - a separate lounge area and excellent views over the bay and hotel grounds. The hotel gardens were lovely - even had a small aviary which seemed to be of great attraction to the resident falcon - and the main pools were large and rarely busy. The indoor pool was so peaceful that we visited it every day - meaning we didn't get burnt in the outdoor pool whilst doing laps. Breakfast was an incredible spread - one of the best I have ever experienced - and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. There is a free shuttle bus into Funchal several times every day - but it's a pleasant stroll if you feel energetic. The hotel was being decorated for the flower festival which resulted in a very fragrant reception and the whole experience was definitely worth all the other 5 star reviews - it's on my list of hotels to revisit in the future. Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high level room with a sea view!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you for being at our hotel and for your “A wonderful experience!” review shared with so many other people.

We will always be pleased to see you around, whenever you decide to come to madeira.


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,933 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 88 in Funchal
1,398 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 88 in Funchal
1,863 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £110 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing