We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This should be a 5 star hotel!”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“This should be a 5 star hotel!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Having experienced this hotel for 11 days in June 2014, I am surprised that this hotel only sells itself as a 4 star resort. Believe me, I have stayed in many hotels claiming to be 5 star, where the quality of facilities; service; food; care of the grounds; spa & pool facilities; bedrooms & cleanliness do not reach the standards we enjoyed in the Porto Mare Hotel.
The hotel is part of a complex which included the Eden Mar Suites resort and the Residence Apartments. I was worried that this would lead to over-crowding around the pools / restaurants, but this was not the case. Because guests at all three resorts can use the different pools & restaurants in the complex, then there was never a problem finding a pool lounger at one of the outdoor pools; or space at the indoor pools; or at the main restaurant for breakfast and dinner (though the speciality restaurants do need to be pre-booked when they are running "themed" night dinners). The hotel runs a regular (free) courtesy bus down to Funchal, and the "hop-on / hop-off buses stop right outside the hotel (as does public transport)

My only real complaint was that Wi-Fi was only "free" in the public reception areas of the resort. You had to pay to use it in the bedrooms or around the outside facilities. This is just penny-pinching in my view. Wi-Fi is not a luxury item these days to be charged to guests, it is an essential tool if you wish to keep in contact with work and family whist you are away from home. It should be freely available hotel wide to all guests.

Will we return to the Porto Mare - yes. And that cannot be said for all the resorts we have stayed in around the World.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at our hotel and for such a comprehensive review about your recent visit to madeira and our hotel in particular.

So good to know that you had such a positive holiday experience and profited from the different facilities and services of our resort.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to our Island.


Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,542
    388
    55
    13
    6
See reviews for
376
1,304
57
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel and having had a sea view room last time we chose a Garden view room which is a cheaper option to compare. We got a lovely spacious room with a terrace looking out onto extensive gardens which are a feature of this hotel. Room facilities are excellent and as a returning guest the hotel has a free 'Prestige Club' which gives a free basket of fruit and mineral water on arrival. The staff are excellent - we had a small problem with the balcony door lock which was attended to immediately. The hotel has a great location with views over the ocean and a choice of 5 restaurants in the complex. Overall, an excellent hotel which I would recommend to all ages.

Room Tip: Unless you value a sea view Garden view rooms are just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 735RichardB735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the review about your recent second holiday experience at Porto Mare and pleased to know that you enjoyed it.


We will be most pleased to see you around for your third to visit our island.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a wonderful hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would be happy to recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday with good food and excellent facilities all set in beautiful gardens. The staff were very friendly and attentive. One little irritation though was the hefty charge to use the in-room safe. Hotels (of any rating and especially ones like the Porto Mare) who are serious about security should not be making a charge to use this service, a deposit for the key is fair enough.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the wonderful gardens, most do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a short message to thank you for your ” Almost perfect” feedback about your recent visit to our hotel.

We have made good note about the safe charge and promise to discuss it internally.

We sincerely hope to see you around whenever you decide to visit Madeira Island once again,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Tui brochure promised a hotel of quality and this we received as many have said before me rooms, food, gardens (especially the orchid garden) and pools are amazing.
A couple of small points to improve would go a long way if actioned tp make it perfect.
1. Wifi free everywhere, come on it is 2014.
2. Spa has levels of manicure/pedicure and for my money a 45 minute pedicure at 45 euros should be just that not 28 mins for 45 euro. They get around this by using "approx" and just asking whether you did have a good experience. Make no mistake the staff are well qualified and professional but for this treatment I would have expected (like in the UK) a little more time spent on the massage aspects it did feel a bit time pressured and hurried, especially when advised to use the quiet room facilities afterwards to let polish dry for more than 2 mins, make myself a drink and relax on a lounger e.g. then you would appear to have been "in the spa" for 45 mins.

Room Tip: Level 5 (highest) best for reducing noise from bar areas but you won't get the sun on the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AY62014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your holiday experience at Porto Mare hotel.
I have taken good note of your comments mainly about the Spa and will check what went wrong and promise to correct it with my team.

Next time you visit Madeira I would be most pleased to assist you on anything you might need.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Porto mare is a lovely hotel. We stayed in a Junior suite , the room was was great but I was a little disappointed with view as I like to see the sea , you could if you stood up and looked over to the left . We were on the residence side looking directly at another hotel. As we were only staying for 4 nights I chose not to mention it.
I agree that you should not have to pay for safe and I don't like putting a deposit on towels especially as they are not worth that amount !
The grounds are lovely and we enjoyed the pool, very relaxing. I really enjoyed their mojita and happy hour is good at 5pm.
I thought breakfast was good maybe you would get bored after a week but we found it pleasant,they didn't replace much once it got to 10 even though I think it is open to 10.30.
We didn't eat at the hotel as there were so many restaurants around. We particularly like beef and wine about 10 mins from hotel.
All staff at the hotel were friendly and we received a chilled cava for my husbands 50th, would have preferred a nice view !
Would definately recommend porto mare as it is a lovely hotel and it was nice to be away from Funchal but within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your recent stay at the Porto Mare hotel and for your thoughts about it.
Happy to learn that in spite of the "little points", overall you had a positive holiday break.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you whenever you decide to visit us.

Warm regards,

Muto obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Make no mistake this is a lovely Hotel,but for some reason falls down on the little things.
In the day of Technology when everone wants to keep in touch with home,how can this Hotel justify charging 25 euro a week for wi fi in your room,you can avoid this charge by using wi fi in the reception area but I thought four star meant offering good serice.
Then there are the beach towels another 20 euro deposit for each one,refundable on return,do they really think that there clients would be the type to walk off with thier towels which have probably been used a thousand times.
If you want to use the room safe that another 10 euro for a week plus a additional 20 euro deposit for the key,I quite understand taking a deposit for the key but why charge at all for something that is already there and paid for.
Breakast is fairly good but ask for Poached eggs like I did and wait for 20 minutes,the Chef was just not interested.
The pool area is very nice but as usual spoilt by the few who want the best spots by using there towels to reserve the space,the hotel says is monitors this bad practice but that was not evident.
I did not use any of the resturants for lunch or dinner and heard mixed reports from other guests.
I would suggest a high floor with sea view and book independently rather than using Thomson as some of those guests that did paid consideraly more for less

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback about you holiday in madeira and really sorry that we did not meet all your needs and expectations.

In order to have minimum control when we run a resort with so many different facilities, services and daily logistics for more than 800 hundred guests, we need staff to support the different activities, we need tools, we need financial support, we need rules.
Unfortunately sometimes we are not capable to do everything 100% and for those mistakes we deeply apologize and will try to do better.

I would be most pleased to assist you on anything you might need for future visits to Madeira


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Eight ladies from Aberdeen recently travelled to Madeira and a good time was had hopefully by all.
The Porto Mare Hotel was beautiful, as were the grounds, food and pool area. There was nothing
We could fault at all in the Hotel. Staff were very helpful food very varied and we managed to utilise the dine around option on five occasions. On firework night we dined in the Santa Maria at the Harbour and the manager managed to get everyone up dancing, then kindly invited us all up onto a roof terrace where we had fantastic view of the display and were all given glass of champers. We treated ourselves to high tea and glass fiz at Reids Palace which was a lovely way to spend an afternoon. Funchal with its treelined avenues was a lovely place to have coffee or cocktails and people watch. The fish market was worth a visit where the ugly but tasty scabbard
fish could be viewed. Cable car to Monte is a must gorgeous views and lovely gardens. One of our ladies joined a walking group and climbed up to the Peaks well done Ali. Something for everyone in Madeira. Sun worshipers could lie at the pool and the more adventurous could sight see, shop,
Walk etc. a visit to this island is a must and the Porto Mare comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Garden rooms have large outdoor sitting area and overlook beautiful gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maureen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at our hotel and for such a comprehensive review about your recent visit to madeira.

So good to know that you had such a positive holiday experience and profited from the different facilities and services not only of Porto Mare hotel but also from our sister hotel Porto Santa Maria.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to our Island.


Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,354 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
2.0 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 86 in Funchal
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Property: Porto Mare Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing