We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Retreat!”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Retreat!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

A lovely retreat. Helpful staff in this large complex.

A tranquil stay, never rushing for sun beds or having issues to get a table around the pool.

Cleanliness was very high standard in the room and around complex.

A few children were here but this is geared to a adult only resort which suits me just fine!!! Having a decleor spa area to a similar standard as Ragdale hall.

Further to this you walk out the front door and the street is lined with great restaurants.
Prime location with a bus stop also just outside the main reception.

A 4 star rating- I would be more inclined to say 4 star plus.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your recent stay at the Porto Mare hotel and for your thoughts about it.

Happy to learn that you have enjoyed your holiday experience with us.


It will be a pleasure to welcome you whenever you decide to visit us.

Warm regards,

Muto obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,538
    387
    55
    13
    6
See reviews for
376
1,299
57
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

One of the best hotels we have stayed at, with no faults at all. Looked around a few other hotels and the Porto Mare definitely looked the best. Grounds of hotel are idyllic with plenty of sunbeds and parasols for everyone, but not always around the pool. An even mixture of English/German/French which gave it a good atmosphere for us. Extremely clean throughout, and all professional pleasant staff, from cleaners to management. Rooms are very large and spacious, we had two rooms - one was overlooking garden with sea view, and other room was indentical on opposite side of corridor (for 2 sons) overlooking another hotel but with sea & lido views - both excellent, but for me sitting on the balcony looking down at the gardens with the sea as a backdrop was beautiful. Restaurant buffet breakfast and evening meal was exceptional value as a HB booking, it was all of a very high standard which changed each evening. All dishes were always topped up adequately whatever time you arrived. Having meals on the outside terrace overlooking the pool was really lovely - what a treat to eat meals outside in the warmth watching the palm trees sway - but many guests sat inside in the large restaurant. Promenade 30min level walk from outside hotel continuing along Lido area with constant sea views. The walk into Funchal is an unpleasant main road 40 min walk. Many cafes/restaurants/hotels but busy with traffic. As a family to get the real appeal of Madeira we thought car hire was a must, Madeira is literally covered in kilometre after kilometre of tunnels, which are tedious and dark, missing most of the scenery around you, but its a quick safe route for the buses and coaches. With a safe and confident driver take all the small slower roads with tight bends and sheer drops but wonderful views! The islands scenery up in the hills and mountains are spectacular and breathtaking, but not great around the coastal edges - no pretty villages to spend the day walking around. When travelling around the island there are no traditional houses or architecture left to see apart from the odd chapel. Old Funchal Town is lovely with traditional old buildings and cobbled streets, but basically the rest of Funchal is densely built upon and populated. Go to the highest point on the island and look down upon this incredible green lush island. Drive through or walk the valleys which gush with water and see the waterfalls rush off the cliffs. The Levada walks are obviously fantastic and are probably what Madeira is all about, but most are a little too strenuous for the average family. Take the Balcoes Levada Walk for a level 40min easy walk, which gives you an incredible view at the end. A beautiful island with temperate weather and excellent hotels for a laid back holiday, but if you want specific things to do or see this is not the island for you. We are very glad we went though and even our two teenage lads were amazed at the volcanic island scenes. Staying at this hotel definetely made the holiday - its perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HazyLazyDayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at our hotel and for such a comprehensive review about your recent visit to madeira and our hotel in particular.

So good to know that you had such a positive holiday experience and profited from the different facilities and services of our resort.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to our Island.


Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our 6th visit and it was fantastic. The gardens are still as beautiful as ever, rooms are well maintained. We swam in the main pool before breakfast on every day. Then a big breakfast with a massive choice. The staff are all friendly and have a smile on their faces, not something that can be said for a lot of hotels. We ate at Il Basilico and the Med Restaurants within the hotel. The food at Med restaurant was fantastic.

We ate out at several restaurants and all were excellent.

Room Tip: if you request a sea view you will end up facing onto a road and can see the sea at an angle, the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for being at our hotel, for your “TOP HOTEL” review shared with so many other holiday makers and also for staying with us so many times.

Good to know that you also took advantage of our gastronomic opions and enjoyed it.

It will always be a pleasure to see you around, whenever you decide to come to madeira.


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

The Porto Mare Porto Bay and The Residence are all one operation. The staff are excellent, the food good and lots going on in the various bars most nights. We stayed in the Porto Mare the room had a sea view with a spacious balcony. The beds were very comfortable and well appointed with tea coffee etc etc. there was a safe in the room and for a miserly 10 Euros you can rent it's use for the week. They have quality pool towels available for a 20 euro refundable deposit these can be changed whenever you feel the need. There is a kids pool a large mail pool and two indoor/ outdoor pools and at least 5 different bars often with differing entertainment. Wifi is free in all the bars and public areas of the hotel. The gardens are quite spectacular and well laid out. There are plenty of sun beds all in good order and spaced out all with sun umbrellas. We could not fault thus venue and in a lot of country's they would be billed as 5 star. This is somewhere we will return to. This was our first time in Madeira all the locals were friendly and proud of thrift Island, the place was very very clean with no litter or graffiti. No matter what time of day or night the entire place felt 'safe'. In one week we saw one Police car and that was at the airport.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dtSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your support by staying with us for the first time.

Thank you also for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel and happy to learn that you have enjoyed it.

We will be most pleased to welcome you for the second holiday experience.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Having just returned to UK after a fabulous two weeks at this fantastic resort we went straight to our travel agent and booked a further two weeks in three month’s time for our wedding anniversary. Need I say more?
No, but I’m going to. The friendly and efficient staff, the beautiful gardens and the cleanliness are all well documented but there are other things that make this hotel stand out. First there is obviously a continuous maintenance programme that ensures a ‘brand new’ feel. Second the management take their obligations to the environment very seriously – instant hot water, and waste water used for irrigation; room maids with colour-coded waste bins which are also placed around the grounds, and motion sensors to operate the toilet lights. Yes, I know these measures also save on running costs but every business has to make a profit and this hotel is certainly not over-priced for the package on offer.
Just two negatives. I realise that as a 75-year old I have lost much of my youthful flexibility but, sorry I hate your white sunbeds, finding it impossible to lie face down as the raised sides impeded my already reduced mobility. I have returned home with a mahogany front and a light oak back! I suspect I am not the only one to suffer so, as on our frequent walks around the grounds we noticed most people lying on their backs. The second minus is the parsimonious attitude towards refilling the beverage ingredients in our room – we had to catch the maid to get more that two small cartons of milk and sometimes they forgot to supply tea or coffee sachets. On the plus side, it’s nice to find sugar sachets that hold more than a few grains.
It would be invidious to single out any one member of staff for a special mention so thank you all and we look forward to seeing you all again in September.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikansoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the “Fabulous”” review about your recent holiday experience at Porto Mare and pleased to know that overall you enjoyed it. I will certainly share your thoughts with my team.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Having just returned from our 5th visit to the Porto Mare, the standard of the hotel remains excellent. We had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the gardens and the sea. The attention from all the staff remains to the same high standard. Food is excellent and a good variation can be had. I do not understand some adverse comments about the breakfast. You can have virtually any type of breakfast you like. The cleanliness of the hotel is faultless. Overall the Porto Mare is an excellent holiday venue and look forward to returning at end of September.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback about your recent 5th stay with us really happy to know that we were able to provide another positive experience.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you for the 6th stay in our hotel,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Having experienced this hotel for 11 days in June 2014, I am surprised that this hotel only sells itself as a 4 star resort. Believe me, I have stayed in many hotels claiming to be 5 star, where the quality of facilities; service; food; care of the grounds; spa & pool facilities; bedrooms & cleanliness do not reach the standards we enjoyed in the Porto Mare Hotel.
The hotel is part of a complex which included the Eden Mar Suites resort and the Residence Apartments. I was worried that this would lead to over-crowding around the pools / restaurants, but this was not the case. Because guests at all three resorts can use the different pools & restaurants in the complex, then there was never a problem finding a pool lounger at one of the outdoor pools; or space at the indoor pools; or at the main restaurant for breakfast and dinner (though the speciality restaurants do need to be pre-booked when they are running "themed" night dinners). The hotel runs a regular (free) courtesy bus down to Funchal, and the "hop-on / hop-off buses stop right outside the hotel (as does public transport)

My only real complaint was that Wi-Fi was only "free" in the public reception areas of the resort. You had to pay to use it in the bedrooms or around the outside facilities. This is just penny-pinching in my view. Wi-Fi is not a luxury item these days to be charged to guests, it is an essential tool if you wish to keep in contact with work and family whist you are away from home. It should be freely available hotel wide to all guests.

Will we return to the Porto Mare - yes. And that cannot be said for all the resorts we have stayed in around the World.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at our hotel and for such a comprehensive review about your recent visit to madeira and our hotel in particular.

So good to know that you had such a positive holiday experience and profited from the different facilities and services of our resort.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to our Island.


Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 86 in Funchal
1,348 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
2.0 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 86 in Funchal
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Property: Porto Mare Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing