We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay in Porte Mare”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Having never been to Madeira before unsure of what was in store for our 12 night break!

From the minute we arrived we were totally impressed with the great hotel facilities including the lovely gardens, views of the sea and staff.
We thoroughly enjoyed the excellent Happy Hour each evening, entertainment included - beware of the Poncha cocktail!

Breakfast every morning was first class, with a terrific selection to choose from - a brisk walk to the centre of Funchal a good option after.

The various pools, indoor and outdoor cater for all tastes and there is tranquil area for sunbathing over the garden bridge.

The hotel location is superb, with restaurants aplenty along with the Yatch bar - on our final evening we dined in the Hotel Med restaurant - this again was great value and totally delicious!

You will not be disappointed if you stay at the Porte Bay complex at all.

Room Tip: Even though we booked a Garden room - we still had a partial sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank BrendaUK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Superb stay in Porte Mare” review and also for being our guest for the first time..but not the last hopefully!.

Pleased to know that you had such a positive holiday experience.

Sincerely hope to welcome you soon,


Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 2,217 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hotel gardens beautiful and very well kept. The hotel is clean and well run.We had an apartment that was very spacious , we had paid extra for a sea view , this was really disappointing, it was a side sea view so we looked over a road and a car park, it was noisy.(fully booked so not able to change)
The night life in the hotel is dull. There was a Blues band playing one night who were good but it took us 40mins to get served with a drink.One evening we had a drink in the gardens but were served wine in a plastic glass.
The hotel is very quiet, it's seems to lack a soul.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Just to thank you for the review about your recent holiday experience at Porto Mare and regret to know that we were not able to fulfill your needs and expectations.

Apologize for the room assigned to you. We do have some rooms with the location mentioned by you and when the hotel is fully booked we do need all the rooms to be occupied. Some of those rooms do not have a full sea view.

Regarding the plastic glass please understand that due to some bars being near of swimming pools and whenever we can we avoid glass in order to prevent incidents with pool users.

Hope to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We read so many positive comments about the island of Madeira that we were really looking forward to this - our first visit. We chose the Porto Mare based on tripadvisor comments and were not disappointed. The hotel was contained in a fabulous tropical garden. The Porto Mare was one of three hotels sharing the complex - the other two are The Eden Mar and The Residence. We paid for a garden room (2104) on a half board arrangement, which had a massive balcony and the afternoon sun.
We were somewhat surprised though that soon after arrival we received an invitation to view rooms in The Residence - we were advised that it was a Timeshare opportunity which we chose to ignore. To be fair to the hotel - we only had one further low key prompt about the timeshare after which we were left alone - no hard sell here.
We could not fault the hotel, staff, rooms or food in any way. All the rooms were kept spotless, the staff so polite and welcoming and the variety of food on offer in the buffet restaurant more than met our needs.
There are several restaurants to choose from within the complex each offering a different type of dining - some at additional cost to our half board package.
We were able to walk(mainly downhill) into Funchal center in 30 minutes from this hotel, enjoying gardens, shops and a marina along the way - the taxi ride back cost us 6 euros. We also made use of a hop on hop off yellow bus service that cost 12 euros per ticket but giving you 2 days usage - we thought this good value - the ticket also entitled you to a headphone commentary in the language of your choice so that you could appreciate the sights - buildings and history.
We would happily return to this hotel if we could guarantee the same room - a week on this lovely island was much too short - who knows - maybe next year?

Room Tip: West facing rooms will get most afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank SpatanWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you also for the positive feedback regarding your recent first stay at our hotel and happy to learn that overall you have enjoyed it .

Due to our high occupancy we are not able to guarantee a specific room but we can always do our best to at least offer you a similar one in location/view.

We will be most pleased to welcome you for the second holiday experience.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon in a junior suite. The room was very large, clean, luxurious and had a big balcony with a nice sea side view. When we arrived the whole room was decorated with rose petals and we received a bottle of free champagne. We also were (positively) surprised with a decorated table and champagne when we booked a table in the Med restaurant. All very attentive and it did make us feel special.

Although there were a lot of people (high season), we did not feel that it was overcrowded. One of the main reasons for this is that it is a pretty big complex with multiple swimming pools, plenty of places to sit, lay and relax. Also a plus side are the many trees, plants and flowers on the complex, this gives it really a nice and relaxed atmosphere. The porto mare hotel shares its facilities with two other hotels. As a result there are four restaurants on the complex where you can eat. We went to three of them. One of those was the walking buffet restaurant (Atlantida), where also the breakfast is served. The breakfast buffet really did offer a large variety of food and we really liked it. The same applies to the dinner buffet in the evening, where there is a different theme every day of the week. The other restaurants we visited were the Med and Il Basilico. We really enjoyed the food and service here.

It was hard for us to find any negative points. We only noticed a minor one. The free wifi is only available in public areas as the lobby and the Il Basilico restaurant. Next to this the wifi offered here is not always stable (sometimes it took some time to connect to the wifi).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Tvb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at our hotel celebrating such an important event of your life’s. Also thank you for the time you spent sending us feedback about it and happy to learn that you had a good time with us.

We would be most pleased to welcome you for a future visit to Madeira and our hotel.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Very clean even though it is a huge complex. Never appeared busy and could always get a sunbed near to the pool.

Entertainment was a bit hit and miss but it was okay apart from 'Mr Brown' who was very irritating....

There was a 'live' band on the Saturday night and these were excellent....

Over all a very good holiday.

Thank you

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Eggybread69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to say thank you for the time you spent in our hotel and for your thoughts about it.

Good to know that you had a positive holiday experience with us. Regarding the entertainment just to let you know that every day we have two different bars with different entertainment..

We will be most pleased to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed in this particular hotel for the first time from 3rd to 10th July 2014 and the stay was wonderful. Accommodation and staff were first rate. The hotel could not be faulted in any way. The restaurants, are all very good with great food and great service. The grounds are absolutely superb and better than many gardens with all plants labelled. The swimming pools are beautiful. Entertainment could be better but it must be difficult to cater for all tastes.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to say thank you for the time you spent in our hotel and for your thoughts about it.

It is rewarding to know that you had a positive holiday experience with us.

We will be most pleased to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

From the first moment we arrived to the moment we left, the service and attention to detail was impeccable - they really couldn't have been more helpful or more professional. Eg. Our room in The Residence wasn't ready on arrival due to previous guest being unwell so we were offered a different room and half-board to compensate in Vila Porto Mare.

Received lots of advice from staff on best way into town, place to rent a car, bus to town which leaves from outside the hotel (No. 2, €1.95 each way), also free parking at hotel for the hire car and were provided with a room for our last day after checking out so we could shower before flying - no extra cost. They offered to arrange our taxi to airport, same price as on arrival so they didn't add anything for themselves. Occasional cutlery dropped was replaced without prompting, just on hearing the clatter! Their level of English language was brilliant - meant we could chat and joke with the staff at times, ask questions and converse easily. Not expected in the least but lovely and 'stressfree' to be able to make requests and be easily understood - home away from home. Many of the staff had worked there for 6-15 years and confessed to love working here, in a friendly supportive atmosphere at the hotel instead of for a business-centred hotel.

Hadn't planned to eat in the hotel restaurant in the evenings, we prefer to explore and eat out but ate there first night as we were tired - the food was delicious and wait service brilliant - professional and attentive. Learned we could use the half board $17 credit in the a la carte and The Med restaurants - menu divine, we had seared tuna steaks, tender beef, codfish ravioli, melt in the mouth scallops and to-die-for crime brûlée with ginger and melon icecream during the next few days.

On half board, meals in the buffet restaurant are free and food is good too - many of the items being cooked during service to ensure excellence. Had grouper fish, salmon, prawns, oysters limpets and pork over a few days. Good variety of fresh salads, and too many beautiful deserts.

The Basilica Restaurant is downstairs, below The Residence and also very good. We had prawn linguini and a pizza - both very nice, and Grandmas Pudding for dessert. Lovely. Service was a bit slow here when busy but that would be the only negative in the food department here.

Vila Porto Mare is one of three establishments on the complex but they're seamlessly connected and provide a lot of variety. Pool areas were clean and tidy with the pool guys unobtrusively re-tying umbrellas and straightening beds as people left their sun beds. Lots of people there but the range of different sunbed areas, pools and sitting areas meant it didn't feel too busy. Lots of comfy chairs placed here and there around the edge of the buildings under shade so nice to be out at times but not in the sun. The jacuzzi area we used most has a lovely waterfall - easy to tune out a relax. Two indoor-outdoor pools and two outdoor pools.

Gym is air conditioned and has good quality Italian equipment (running, step, cross trainers, weight machines for lats, chest press, thigh curls, leg extensions, squats), plus free weights, three adjustable benches and floor mats. I saw yoga advertised on day at the pool side but didn't go. There's entertainment (eg. bands, singers, magician) and themed events each evening if you're into that.

The resort guests (and visitors to Madeira) seem to be mostly mature couples, 50+ and there's no 'hollering and hooting' at night.

Wifi cost €25 in the room, but was free if sitting and using in reception. Despite buying wifi for the room, the connection was iffy throughout our stay, dropping in and out within minutes. We weren't the only ones having problems and seems typical of a few of the hotels. Staff had the IT guy reboot things to try to improve the situation but remained sketchy.

There's entertainment and themed events each night if you're in to that sort of thing (bands, singers, magician, dancing etc), again good quality and friendly.

Really can't recommend this place enough - had a really brilliant time. Yes it's a thirty min (pleasant) walk to town but really, with the shuttle bus available, a €1.95 bus trip option or a €6 taxi ride it's really not a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Safarinjema2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at our hotel and for the comprehensive feedback about it.

I do apologize for wi.fi service where we made already some changes in order to improve the quality of the signal.
Happy to learn that overall you have enjoyed the facilities and different services we do offer within our property.


It would be a pleasure to welcome you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
869 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 88 in Funchal
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.7 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £123 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing