We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one week at peak time of school holidays. Still so peaceful and relaxing. A spacious room, booked on advice of Trip Advisor reviews. A great choice. Med restaurant is superb particular on meat night.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short message to thank you for the recent stay at Porto Mare hotel and for the positive feedback about it.
We are also happy to learn that you had such a ““Lovely hotel”” holiday experience and also happy that you have enjoyed the Med restaurant

See you, hopefully soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

818 - 824 of 2,124 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our first visit to Madeira. we stayed for 1 week at the Porto Mare Hotel and were not disappointed. We stayed in a junior suite with a sea view which was extremely comfortable and spacious. We found the hotel to be very peaceful and the pool and garden area very relaxing. Maid service excellent. The free courtesy bus into Funchal was very useful but we also walked there which took us about 30 minutes. Whilst the buffet meal service was good we preferred to eat our evening meal at the Italian restaurant called Basilica which was on the promenade down near The Residence which is all part of the same complex. Buffet was fine for breakfast offering a good selection of food. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank 352SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your support by staying with us for the first time.

Thank you also for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel and happy to learn that overall you have enjoyed it .


We will be most pleased to welcome you for the second holiday experience.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just stayed here for a week with my husband and 4 year old son. The hotel grounds and swimming pools are lovely and very well maintained, as is the hotel itself. The decor in the rooms is a little dated but not shabby at all and the rooms are nice and spacious with comfortable beds and good showers. Buffet breakfast was the usual choices and although there is a good variety, you get bored of looking at the same food every morning.
The hotel was full and getting beds by the pool became increasingly difficult throughout our stay, we had to be at the pool getting a bed before 8am otherwise we would have been joining the many other people we seen wandering around with their towels looking for beds. The water in the pool is freezing!
Service was very average throughout our stay.
Lots of people have said in their reviews that they don't know why this hotel isn't 5 star but I don't understand this, there is nothing that makes this hotel anymore than 4 star. We have previously stayed at the Pestana Carlton and Pestana Promenade and both of these hotels had a higher standard of service and rooms. The Pestana Carlton is the best hotel we have stayed at in Madeira and shows the difference between a 4 and 5 star hotel.
Overall this is a good 4 star hotel in a good location and was really good value for money as we only paid a total of £1,400 for 3 of us through Expedia and that included breakfast. We saved £700 on the Thomsons price by doing this.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terri Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your holiday experience at Porto Mare hotel.
Good to know that you consider us a good four star hotel. In fact we are not classified as a five star hotel, we are a four star hotel.
For a five star experience within the Porto Bay in Madeira we have The Cliff Bay hotel.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was our fifth visit to the Porto Mare/Eden Mar. We have always loved the tropical gardens and the high-quality activities. But this time we had a bad experience: on 9th and 10th July, workmen with a chainsaw cut down all the trees and bushes in the garden facing the sea, including the rare dragon tree. The manager told me that this was done because tree roots were damaging the ceilings of the timeshare rooms below. But it means that much of the character of the gardens has been lost. Then, on the Friday night (during the main summer season) there is now a loud, raucous 'pink party' which is totally at odds with the laid-back atmosphere - more like Magaluf than Madeira, but with almost no-one taking part.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Mhlanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your support by staying with us once again.

Regarding this post and as previous explanations the reasons that took us to remove two palm trees and other bushes from our lovely garden were mentioned on the emails sent to you before.

Once again please understand that as a manager we have to decide what is better for the majority of our clients, always keeping in mind that they are the ones who support our operation by staying with us year after year, therefore it would not make any sense to change things “against” our clients.

See you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Having never been to Madeira before unsure of what was in store for our 12 night break!

From the minute we arrived we were totally impressed with the great hotel facilities including the lovely gardens, views of the sea and staff.
We thoroughly enjoyed the excellent Happy Hour each evening, entertainment included - beware of the Poncha cocktail!

Breakfast every morning was first class, with a terrific selection to choose from - a brisk walk to the centre of Funchal a good option after.

The various pools, indoor and outdoor cater for all tastes and there is tranquil area for sunbathing over the garden bridge.

The hotel location is superb, with restaurants aplenty along with the Yatch bar - on our final evening we dined in the Hotel Med restaurant - this again was great value and totally delicious!

You will not be disappointed if you stay at the Porte Bay complex at all.

Room Tip: Even though we booked a Garden room - we still had a partial sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank BrendaUK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Superb stay in Porte Mare” review and also for being our guest for the first time..but not the last hopefully!.

Pleased to know that you had such a positive holiday experience.

Sincerely hope to welcome you soon,


Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hotel gardens beautiful and very well kept. The hotel is clean and well run.We had an apartment that was very spacious , we had paid extra for a sea view , this was really disappointing, it was a side sea view so we looked over a road and a car park, it was noisy.(fully booked so not able to change)
The night life in the hotel is dull. There was a Blues band playing one night who were good but it took us 40mins to get served with a drink.One evening we had a drink in the gardens but were served wine in a plastic glass.
The hotel is very quiet, it's seems to lack a soul.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Just to thank you for the review about your recent holiday experience at Porto Mare and regret to know that we were not able to fulfill your needs and expectations.

Apologize for the room assigned to you. We do have some rooms with the location mentioned by you and when the hotel is fully booked we do need all the rooms to be occupied. Some of those rooms do not have a full sea view.

Regarding the plastic glass please understand that due to some bars being near of swimming pools and whenever we can we avoid glass in order to prevent incidents with pool users.

Hope to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We read so many positive comments about the island of Madeira that we were really looking forward to this - our first visit. We chose the Porto Mare based on tripadvisor comments and were not disappointed. The hotel was contained in a fabulous tropical garden. The Porto Mare was one of three hotels sharing the complex - the other two are The Eden Mar and The Residence. We paid for a garden room (2104) on a half board arrangement, which had a massive balcony and the afternoon sun.
We were somewhat surprised though that soon after arrival we received an invitation to view rooms in The Residence - we were advised that it was a Timeshare opportunity which we chose to ignore. To be fair to the hotel - we only had one further low key prompt about the timeshare after which we were left alone - no hard sell here.
We could not fault the hotel, staff, rooms or food in any way. All the rooms were kept spotless, the staff so polite and welcoming and the variety of food on offer in the buffet restaurant more than met our needs.
There are several restaurants to choose from within the complex each offering a different type of dining - some at additional cost to our half board package.
We were able to walk(mainly downhill) into Funchal center in 30 minutes from this hotel, enjoying gardens, shops and a marina along the way - the taxi ride back cost us 6 euros. We also made use of a hop on hop off yellow bus service that cost 12 euros per ticket but giving you 2 days usage - we thought this good value - the ticket also entitled you to a headphone commentary in the language of your choice so that you could appreciate the sights - buildings and history.
We would happily return to this hotel if we could guarantee the same room - a week on this lovely island was much too short - who knows - maybe next year?

Room Tip: West facing rooms will get most afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank SpatanWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you also for the positive feedback regarding your recent first stay at our hotel and happy to learn that overall you have enjoyed it .

Due to our high occupancy we are not able to guarantee a specific room but we can always do our best to at least offer you a similar one in location/view.

We will be most pleased to welcome you for the second holiday experience.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,961 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 88 in Funchal
1,414 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
916 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £102 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing