We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

amazing hotel wonderful gardens one of the best holidays we have had very friendly staff my husband made good use of the well equipped gym,lovely view from our balcony . did 4 trips money well spent some breathtaking views of the island. going back next year

Room Tip: higher floors for the sea view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short message to thank you for the recent stay at Porto Mare hotel and for the positive feedback about it.

We are also happy to learn that you had such a “great holiday” experience.

See you, hopefully soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,102)
There are newer reviews for Porto Mare Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

794 - 800 of 2,102 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for a week , friends have a time share which they love so thought we'd give it a go. Great room overlooking the gardens/pools and sea, wouldn't want to be on the opposite side of the hotel looking out over the road ,quite busy though the soundproofing is excellent. Lovely large rooms , beautifully clean , large bath towels, clock radio with iPhone charger, useful. Nice bathroom products etc. just nice extra touches. Fridge in the room which was useful , and a safe but you have to pay for that. Air con quite difficult to pitch right for us and quite noisy but fairly effective. BBC1/2 not available, wouldn't normally have bothered us but would have liked to watch some of the Commonwealth Games .Breakfast lovely, lots of fresh fruit and different breads as well as the normal hotel buffet. We had dinner out , plenty of local restaurants with great food so can't comment on half board dinner. Lunch if you want it and bar drinks not cheap .lovely outdoor ice cream parlour. Free wifi in central zone of hotel , lots of nice sofas to do your surfing on. Hubby and daughter used the gym a few times , no problems. All pools lovely never felt crowded. Steps down to the lower pool can be slippy, friends did see one lady fall down them so be careful, a bit strange as rest of surrounding pool surfaces non slip. Approx €20 deposit for each pool towel, they ask you not to use your own towels but people do .The usual sun bed wars at dawn, we never had a problem finding 3 together but that was later on in the afternoon. So glad that they do enforce their 1 1/2 hour ' non usage' rule and I did see this in action so beware ! Vast majority of staff very friendly, a couple maybe need to smile a bit more but everyone works very hard to make your stay good. Plenty of info regarding trips. Regular courtesy bus into Funchal , you have to book going but not for return. Thought it would be an over 50's type of resort but lots of families with babies up to late teens. Do take high factors, pretty cloudy when we were there but still hot. All in all a lovely stay, would recommend.

Room Tip: I emailed to ask for adjoining rooms with sea /gardens view. Didn't get adjoining, next door but...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Cathhughes314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at our hotel and for the time you spent sending us such a comprehensive feedback about it .

We would be most pleased to welcome you for a future visit to Madeira and our hotel.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Good 4* hotel & spa. Great food. Well maintained. Good live music each evening. Sometimes struggles to meet demand for sun beds at peak. Drinks and lunch snacks are 4* prices which is not good if you are looking to make the most of your Euros for a family of four.

Stayed: August 2014
5  Thank AndToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel and happy to learn that you have enjoyed

It will be a pleasure to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful view, room is clean-up everyday plus friendly housekeeping.
The food is excellent! Staff and crew are very approachable.
Lots of space to have sunbathing and pools according to your liking.
The view is superb! Overlooking view towards the Atlantic Ocean is awesome.
Beautiful gardens too!!!

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Kurdapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to say thank you for time you spent in our hotel and for your “Love it!” thoughts about it.
We are most pleased to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience with us.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Well located with stunning sea views from lots of locations within the grounds, bars, restaurants and many bedrooms.
Well spaced out grounds with lots of sunbeds and well maintained lawns and flower beds.
We upgraded our room which was very spacious but given the low floor the sea view was very limited.
Excellent self service restaurant with the best sea food night i've ever seen.
Split your time by using the a la carte and Italian restaurants.
Surprisingly reasonably priced with decent wine at only E 16

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are a must and high floors give you the best views
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to say thank you for time you spent in our hotel and for your thoughts about it.

Good to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience with us.
We will be most pleased to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one week at peak time of school holidays. Still so peaceful and relaxing. A spacious room, booked on advice of Trip Advisor reviews. A great choice. Med restaurant is superb particular on meat night.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short message to thank you for the recent stay at Porto Mare hotel and for the positive feedback about it.
We are also happy to learn that you had such a ““Lovely hotel”” holiday experience and also happy that you have enjoyed the Med restaurant

See you, hopefully soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our first visit to Madeira. we stayed for 1 week at the Porto Mare Hotel and were not disappointed. We stayed in a junior suite with a sea view which was extremely comfortable and spacious. We found the hotel to be very peaceful and the pool and garden area very relaxing. Maid service excellent. The free courtesy bus into Funchal was very useful but we also walked there which took us about 30 minutes. Whilst the buffet meal service was good we preferred to eat our evening meal at the Italian restaurant called Basilica which was on the promenade down near The Residence which is all part of the same complex. Buffet was fine for breakfast offering a good selection of food. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank 352SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your support by staying with us for the first time.

Thank you also for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel and happy to learn that overall you have enjoyed it .


We will be most pleased to welcome you for the second holiday experience.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,933 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 88 in Funchal
1,398 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 88 in Funchal
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 88 in Funchal
1,860 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £110 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing