We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Hotel on Paradise Island”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Heavenly Hotel on Paradise Island”
Reviewed 4 June 2009

My husband and I had booked a one week stay at Eden Mar.
When we arrived, the hotel was full and we had to move to the adjacent but superior Porto Mare, plus we received vouchers for 4 free meals at one of the hotel restaurants.
Our room was the biggest we ever had in our life, and included a large balcony offering a stunning panoramic view of the Atlantic Ocean.
Food, though buffets, was nor repetitive but was just of enormous amounts and very delicious.
The hotel is an enchanting place with several gardens, pools, bars, restaurants, located in the "Lido" complex of Funchal, i.e. there's a supermarket and lots of shops and restaurants around.
To visit Funchal, we used the hotel shuttle (free of charge).
The other days, we explored this island, which actually is a tiny paradise, with lovely landscapes (though no beaches).
Overall, it was the best vacations and the most romantic and relaxing experience we ever had in our life.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Vegcutlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,569
    394
    57
    13
    6
See reviews for
381
1,332
57
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Aside from the resident Duo Harmonia (who have been playing the same caberet act of dodgy songs on synthizer for the past 2 years at least) there is nothing that anyone can say to make this place better.

Gardens are very well maintained. the place is spotless. Rooms are good size, clean, comfortable, quiet and welcoming. Indoor pools are huge and warm. Jacuzzi was nice too.

Good variety of bars - bar in Eden Mar (which is connected to Porto Mare) had a big screen for the footy too!

Staff are great, there is nothing they wont do for you. Free internet and Wi-fi in lobby and you can get broadband in your room too (tho there is a small charge of 10e)

Breakfast is yum, yum, yum! Amazing selection (hot, cold, fried, fresh, whatever you want). Tho they seem to be all out of Earl Grey tea which was a bit disappointing - but the supermarket across the street had some so we just brought our own down for breakfast. My partner is Coeliac and i was almost tempted to say I too was Coeliac as the Gluten Free bread were very tasty. These gluten free buns were on display, so you didnt have the embarassment (and language confusion) of requesting this.
We didnt sample the evening dinners, but we were told that they always have a gluten free dish available.
The Room Service is very resonably priced and also did Gluten free sandwiches for my partner. We provided the bread, but they did Ham and Cheese Toastie for the same price as the Gluten Filled ones - which was a pleasant change from some other hotels.

This is one of the best hotels in Madeira - Defo worth a visit.

And besides Duo Harmonia arent THAT bad, some guests seem to love them, but for me it was nice to just grab a drink in the bar and sit in the wonderful lounge area just in front of the bar.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PD_Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2009

we have just returned from our second visit to the porte mare hotel, our last being april 2008 the weather then was wall to wall sunshine this year although nearly a month later weather was no where near to last year, gladly the hotel maintains it,s excellent standards everywhere is spotless, checkinn was very quick and pleased to be given the same rooms as last time, we had 2 nights dinners include in the price, but have to say presentation of food did seem to lack imgagination although the hotel was full we never felt as if we were in a crowded we hotel we travelled with friends and once again i would say this is a very nice hotel good locationand very restfull, i would not hesitate to retun

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyserena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We booked this hotel after reading reports on Trip Advisor, for this our first visit to Madeira and we were not disappointed. The standards of this hotel are very high and represent excellent value for money. The staff are friendly, helpful and most courteous and the whole place is clean and modern looking.

We booked a Superior room and it was more than adequate with a great view of the well maintained gardens and the sea. I notice another contributor criticised the amount of sun they received on their balcony, I must say our balcony received both sun and shade depending on the position of the sun at any given time. Yes there is a 10 euro per week charge for the safe, but that is about the going rate these days. Note: there is no milk with the in room tea and coffee facilities, but you can buy most things at the supermarket adjoining the hotel complex, including a small case of the local beer “Coral” which is very pleasant, chilled from the fridge, whist sitting on the balcony watching the world go by.

We used the self service buffet restaurant, being on half board terms and the food was of a high standard with plenty of choice, and my wife who is a pudding addict was delighted with the range of sweets on offer.

Time Share Tip – The adjoining “Residence” is a time share facility and they do offer presentations which if you attend give some very healthy discounts off any tours/guided walks that you book through the hotel. They last about 90 minutes and are not hard sell, let’s be honest it is not in their interest to upset their own hotel guests. The lady who did ours was very informative and we were lucky enough to do it on a morning when it hammered down with rain, so little loss of holiday time and we saved well over £100 sterling on the tours that we booked, so worth the 90 mins out of the week.

All in all a great place to stay and we will use this hotel again when we return to Madeira.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Two main things are anoying in this hotel:
1. Extra Fees: it's understandable to have extra charges for specific services like beauty treatment or massages. However, Porto Mare exagerates charging for the most trivial services like the room safe and even the use of sauna (as well as use of tennis court, mini-golf, etc.).
2. Superior Room: it has never happened before with me that the Superior (and most expensive) room is worst than the Standard room. It's bigger but the balcony is smaller and without sun. If this was explained at the hotel homepage, one could even accept it but it's not. It's even worst because it seems that, by the reaction of the staff after my complain, it's a known problem to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marc_Bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlethen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Porto Mare is a fantasic hotel, Room size was massive with two double beds and lots of room for the single put up bed for our 3 year old.

Really big bathroom tiled in lovey sandstone tiles with a disabled shower and a bath with another shower above it.

We reported a fault with the room by hanging a card on the door in the morning and when we returned 3 hours later the repair had been done - super service!

Reception staff friendly and organised a birthday cake for my husband and also delivered a bottle of fizz to the room in the morning - all no charge - which was really great.

Good pool areas and hotel kept super clean. the big inside pool was a bit cold but if you went through the door to swim outside it was a bit warmer.

We found a smaller indoor pool with a glass open topped roof and a proper flight of steps into pool which was much warmer for the liitle one. also had a hot tub next to pool so mum and dad could take turns watching kid and hot tubbing it.

The had a little play room with plastic wendy house and rocking horse toys which was quite good if a little on the young side although our 3 year old still enjoyed it.

the hotel events organsied a magic show which was on at 9pm (bit late for kids) but was a good show well enjoyed by my daughter and all the kids got a animal ballon shape to take away.

Also they did an event 1 hour in the painting room but my daughter was the only child there. room was great aprons, paints paper, lego, play dough and beads for bracelet making and she really enjoyed this event - shame there was not more response from other guests but not that many kids in the resort as I have to say it was more the "older 50 + age group" at this hotel.

Outside playground with climbing frame/ shute plus a couple of cars on springs that rock back and fore which was fine as well.

breakfast buffet had great choice and room service meals nice too.

If we went back to Madeira we would deffinalty go back to the Porto Mare

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

We have just returned from a fantastic, relaxing holiday at the Porto Mare hotel. It took about 20 minutes for the coach transfer from the airport - with Thomson's the cases went separately and we had to wait a few minutes for them to arrive at our room... The hotel is quite large, but doesn't feel it - in the one block there are effectively two adjoining hotels plus the Residence, an area of time-share apartments.

Check-in was quick and painless and we were allocated a room on the first floor not too far from the lifts. The room was much bigger than expected - with effectively two double beds - and a large balcony overlooking the gardens and pool area and with a sea view. The only thing missing was milk for the tea and coffee - maybe single-portion cartons of long-life don't exist on Madeira ?! We found the room quiet and relaxing - and the bathroom had a cracking shower... The girl who cleaned was very pleasant...and really appreciated the odd 'good morning' and 'thank-you' in Portugese. Power is the round 2-pin variety, the hotel did lend us an adaptor so I could charge our phones and my camera, but you may wish to take your own. And do take sun cream - even at Easter the sun is powerful at this longitude - I forgot to pack ours and we found it very expensive to buy.

Breakfast had a huge variety of items to choose from - catering for both traditional British tastes and the more 'continental' type of breakfasts - from cereals, fruits and breads to ham and cheeses to sausage, bacon and egg. Although the restaurant - with the option of eating outside as well as inside - was busy in the mornings we didn't feel rushed at all.

After relaxing during happy hour in the outside bar area, in the evenings we ate each day in the main (self-service) restaurant. The food was very good, plenty of variety with a different theme each evening - well-cooked and good quality. We didn't sample the evening entertainment, preferring to walk into Funchal centre or along the footpaths in the other direction. Note that it isn't really possible to get to the sea in this area - except for the harbour in Funchal itself. Elsewhere there are a number of stony beaches - but we only found one with sand (we were told imported from Morrocco...!).

We hired a car through Economy Car Hire as we had elsewhere before - not the newest of models available - but perfectly good enough for touring the island. Fuel was a tad cheaper than in the UK, roads outside Funchal were quiet at this time of year. Be prepared if you do travel for some very windy roads - the area is mountainous and getting from A to B isn't necessarily in a straight line ! The express route (dual carriageway) is a fast road and has a lot of tunnels - I tended to leave the headlights on all the time on that route. Buy a decent map - the free ones just aren't up to it.

With the exception of Funchal most other town/village destinations are very small and quiet. Parking is mainly free - however some villages had meters and a Euro gave you enough time for sightseeing and a stop for coffee and cake. The island is relatively small and can be well explored in a week.

Overall we had a very relaxing week, and we were both pleasantly impressed with the Porto Mare hotel. If we do return to Madeira we wouldn't look to stay anywhere else.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Car67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 86 in Funchal
1,814 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Property: Porto Mare Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing