We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Without doubt worth visiting over and over again.”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Without doubt worth visiting over and over again.”
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We have just returned from our second stay at the Porto Mare this year and our fourth in the last two years.
We have been very fortunate to travel extensively over the last 25 years but have found that for the convenience of only a few hours flying time, year round fine weather, wondeerful people and excellent sservice Madeira and the Porto Mare make a winning combination.
We have always found the management and their staff to be very welcoming and extremely efficient - including some of the best Reception staff you will ever meet. The hotel's facilities together with the beautifully maintained gardens provide a wonderfully relaxing experience. Whilst the complex of the Porto Mare, the Eden Mare and the Residence covers a huge area it nonetheless seems to absorb people and so there is never any sense of crowding.
The Porto Mare is well situated abour 20 minutes walk from the centre of Funchal but but easily accessible with a luxury coach for a 'shuttle bus' and Madeira's amazingly efficient public bus service. As there is so much to do and see on Madeira and the peaceful haven of the Porto Mare to return to afterwards we will ceertainly not hesitate to be returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter-JulieLud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2010
Dear Sirs,

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Vila Porto Mare and Madeira in general. Also thank you for taking some of your precious time sharing your holiday experience with such a vast audience.

Muito obrigado and hope to see you in a near future.

Best regards,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,517
    386
    55
    13
    6
See reviews for
371
1,285
57
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Having just returned from an eleven night half board stay at the vila porto mare hotel i would like to say how much my wife and i enjoyed our stay. We booked a superior room ( 2514) which had an enormous roof terrace with two sun longers, and fantastic views of mountains and sea. The room was spacious with a large entrance hall ,balcony marble bathroom extra large bed and modern decor. There are four restaurants, of which two are a la carte one is set menu and a buffet restaurant (atlantida) where we had all of our meals, the food was very good and varied.Dining is both inside and outside on a terrace. Guests can sit where they want. The entertainment was ok, always something going on in each of the lounge bars and never overcrowded. Big screens with premiership football showing in each bar. Outside there is a aviary with cockatiels and budgies set in lovely gardens. The pool areas have plenty of sunbeds and parasols and was never crowded. Nice food at the pool bar, better than the local eating places.The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. There is a courtesy bus( reserve you're seat at reception) that runs hourly to Funchal centre, journey takes ten to fifteen minutes. There are just a few negative points that i would like to mention: my wife would have liked a full length mirror in the room. A bottle of water in the room upon arrival would have been appreciated and having booked a superior room i would have expected to have kept the room until departure at 6pm instead of having to vacate the room at 12.00 midday, however we were still welcome to use the hotel's facilities. Summing up i would say the hotel is very well managed and would like to thank management and all staff for making our stay as pleasant as we could have hoped for.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiptoptim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2010
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your comments and for the full description of Vila Porto Mare facilities. I can conclude that you been using the majority of them and hopefully with great pleasure.

I can understand that it is not pleasant to wait on a lobby because of check out time vs late flight departure. Please next time kindly ask reception for a late checkout… we can always check that possibility.

Again many thanks and hope to see you in a near future

Muito obrigado

Best cumpliments,
Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We rented an apartment in Madeira this year having had a wonderful holiday on the island last year. Unfortunately the apartment and location did not live up to expectations so wedecided to move to a hotel for the remainder of our holiday . Having visited a few hotels and not liked the rooms we found the Hotel Porto Mare. Our lovely sea-view room overlooked the pool and the magnificent gardens. Guided tours of the extensive gardens are available for keen gardeners.
Breakfast was good with an excellent selection of food. No problems with waiting for tables.
We ate out each night - the best restaurants are in the old town area of Funchal.
Our room was well furnished with a fridge for keeping wine and snacks. We had deep mattress toppers which were bliss. My only complaint was the hard flat pillow which gave one or two sleepless nights.
We did not enjoy the entertainment and looking at other peoples faces they did not enjoy either. We stayed at the sister Hotel Porto Santa Maria in 2009 (Unfortunately full up for some time yet) as we really enjoyed the entertainment there so on four occasions we went over. The entertainment was as good as last year and the staff there are so friendly.
The staff at the Porto Mare are very helpful and efficient but we prefer the intimacy of the Porto Santa Maria.
Shop around for coach/boat trips as prices vary but are always much cheaper than the tour operators. Packages are available at very good prices.
On the whole a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2010
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments posted on tripadvisor. Thank you for supporting Porto Bay hotels by using different properties to enjoy yourself during your holidays. The fact that we have different products on the island can be suitable for different needs and holiday expectations. You can sleep in Porto Mare, go for a nice afternoon tea or a lovely dinner at The Cliff Bay and enjoy the music entertainment after dinner at Captains Bar in Porto Santa Maria.

Muito obrigado and hope to have you back in a near future.

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Returned to this hotel after 5 years and same great standards and service. Large rooms and really comfy beds.Lovely gardens. Breakfast superb plenty of choice. Really glad of the indoor pools as it rained quite a bit although it was very warm.Lots of good restaurants nearby and reasonably priced.JUst outside of the main town centre which has some nice shops and restaurants worth visiting in the old town. Courtesy bus took us into town so no problems also taxis are quite cheap. Worth going to the casino for meal and show.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EssexPamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2010
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for posting on tripadvisor you comments about your stay. We are happy to learn that you have had a nice time at the Porto Mare Hotel.

Muito Obrigado and please do not wait another 5 years to visit us again!

Best compliments

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Two wonderful weeks just spent with my son's mother in law at Porto Mare Hotel. The cleanest, most welcoming hotel we have ever stayed in and we travel together every September and always 4* - but Porto Mare deserves 5*. Our room, 2331 was huge and had an extra large balcony (thank you Neide) which we really appreciated, facing lush gardens and seafacing. Two most comfortable beds were huge - practically doubles. It was so quiet we slept really well. The fact that most of those staying were "mature" couples (although there were some nice young couples whom we wondered were honeymooners !) leant itself to peace and quiet - no screaming children and no trouble in the pool. Always plenty free sunbeds and lots not only at the pool with free parasols but also dotted around the wonderful gardens. We were half board which I would recommend and always ate in the Atlantido buffet restaurant - what a huge selection of mouthwatering foods. A free courtesy bus went four times in the morning and three times afternoon and left you at the Funchal marina just beside the cable car to Monte and collected you for the return journey at stated times. Lovely white cotton housecoats were in every room and so handy for going to and from the pool. Coffee making equipment in the bedroom (buy your milk at the Spar just to the left outside main door) and if anything like biscuits needed there is also the Pingo Doce supermarket just to the right at front door under the Porto Mare apartments (seperate but adjoined). Just outside to the right and up a small slope is the Monumental shopping centre and a small number of touristy shops. While in Monumental visit Madeira Happy Tours (meet Marco) and book your tours - he uses minibuses so much more suitable for Madeira hills than large tour buses. Seperate review of this tour company will follow as it deserves applause. Entertainment in the evening at Porto Mare is good fun, we won prizes at the Bingo and had great fun at the weekly quiz - thank you Cindy and Jarrko - and there was also a display of Portuguese dance and also "exotic" dance. The two lifts were the best lifts we ever encountered, press and there they are, never had to wait. Only little nitpick - only one computer for guests in reception which limited you to 15 minutes and by the time you deciphered the portuguese keyboard and logged in, time was up !! The portuguese punctuality is awe inspiring, coaches etc arrived on the dot ! The fact that Porto Mare Hotel invites guests to join a tour of the kitchens, of the hotel and of the gardens speaks volumes. Nothing to hide !! Oh Porto Mare these two elderly Irish ladies loved you and long to return, and return we shall we hope. Thank you to everybody who made our holiday in the sun so wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelehenworb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2010
Dear Madams,

Dear "two mature Irish " ladies. Thank you so much for having fun in the Porto Mare hotel. I will proudly share our comments with Jarko, Cindy, Neide and the rest of my team. They all be pleased to know that they have positively contributed to your holiday satisfaction.
Muito obrigado and see you in a near future,


Best regards,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We Chose this Island and hotel for our 15th Wedding anniversary for it's location and based on the pictures and previous seen reviews on Trip Advisor and overall we were not disapointed but this was tehfirst package holiday we have been on for years which was strange!
Arrived late at hotel due to airport delays but were welcomed still at 12pm (night) and we quickly got to our upgraded room (twin superior with sea view) and yes the room was nice although not as clean as expected on closer inspection the next day.
Hotel staff very polite and helpful and the grounds were lovely as we had looked at others with no "Garden" which were higher rated and just had a pool at the back.
Unfortunately we lost over a day as my wife was unwell and could not leave the room but the First Choice Holiday Assistant Cathryn and Marcia Jesus in the Hotel were terrific and looked after us well.
Only issues we really had was the noise levels at night and the constant loud door banging which needs addressing as this caused unrest and broken sleep unfortunately.
We did enjoy the hotel and stay but the disturbance in the late evening was annoying as we chose this quality hotel because we thought we would not experience this at such a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndyhHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2010
dear Sirs,
I regret to know that we were not able to fulfill all your holidays expectations. I have taken good note of your thoughts and do our best to correct what went wrong this time. Also take the opportunity to thank you for taking some of your time giving us feedback about your holidays.

Muito obrigado,

With best regards

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Stayed here for our honeymoon mid-September - and loved every minute! Booked the Porto Mare half board on the basis of its 4 restaurants - so were a little disappointed to discover only buffet restaurant is really included in half board. But we needn't have worried, the buffet was amazing - different theme every night and we love our food but ate here the whole holiday. Also VERY impressed at the gluten-free bread rolls at breakfast buffet - without request.

Lovely staff, very comfortable rooms, beautiful hotel and grounds; nice and quiet which was as we wanted. Beautiful pools, although not sure we agreed the temperature of the outdoor was as high as advertised on the board! Indoor pool was bliss though. Well located hotel, free shuttle to town but not very regular and definitely doesn't hang around waiting for passengers!

Only slight minus points were extra cost of playing games like mini-golf and pool; it wasn't made clear at booking these wouldn't be included, so more of a gripe with our travel agent really. Also, no hot chocolate sachets (on the island apparently?!) and had to buy own milk for tea/coffee (but free at breakfast).

Best bit of holiday was happy hour where we had cocktail of the day or litre of sangria half price every evening! Definitely recommend it, and madeira, to other couples.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavender54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2010
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments about Porto Mare hotel. We are happy to learn that you had a positive holiday experience during your honeymoon in Madeira. I take the opportunity to inform you that all guests can use all the different restaurants at Vila Porto Mare, even when they are on half board basis. On those occasions there is consumption credit. Sorry if we were not clear enough on the information given about it on check-in.

Hope to have you with us in a near future,

With warmest regards,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,771 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Property: Porto Mare Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing