We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Ranked #29 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday.”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed at the Pestana Carlton for a week in September. We were given a lovely room with a large balcony edged with flowers and with a fabulous view of the sea and the pool. (Room211). The room had the most comfortable large bed and a good sized bathroom. The maid service was excellent.
We enjoyed the breakfasts which were plentiful and fresh, and the view from the dining room terrace was amazing! As we were b and b we ate out at night. lots of good restaurants in the area and also in Funchal town.
We found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful, and the hotel facilities first class.
Madeira is a beautiful island, we will certainly return to Madeira and stay again at the Pestana Carlton.

Room Tip: 2nd floor overlooking pool and sea, beautiful view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cat321211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    795
    250
    80
    17
See reviews for
484
1,356
56
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood Essex UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in a party of 6 adults. On arrival everyone was was most helpful and we were offered a upgrade to the sea view room, which we declined, but our room was spotless and airy overlooking the mountains.
On arrival the safe was not attached to the wall, but we told the porter when he bought our cases up and he said that he would get someone up to sort it. Within 10 mins they were there sorting out the problem.
I know that the restaurant has had bad reviews and we were only bed and breakfast, but the Breakfast was excellent. Plenty of lovely fresh fruit every day and everything was plentiful
The facilities were very good around the pool and we used "The Pub" as well.
After coming back from our evening, there was nice music downstairs most nights.
We found everyone very pleasant and helpful.
We would not hesitate to go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed here in September 2011. My initional greeting/welcome was pleasant but during my stay (7 nights) not one of the staff at any time said "good evening/morning how are you today, are you enjoying your stay" ? They seem to avoid talking to you. We stayed in a Junior Suite (8th Floor room 811) The carpet hadnt been fitted properly, the curtains had been hung up straight from the washing machine by the looks of how creased they were, the water from both mixer taps on the sink and bath comes out hot at first when in the cold position ( be careful if children are using these) For a 5* hotel i believe in presentation and friendly staff (all of them not just one or two) This should be down graded to a 4* hotel till it gets its act together. If you are expecting to use the iron in your room as you might expect from a 5* hotel then you will disappointed....you have to hire it from the hotel at 5 Euros an hour, but when it arrives dont think you will be able to fill it with water to steam the creases out of your cloths....No.. it is so basic and the ironing board is something my mum would have used back in the 1960`s. This is a money making sceem that is exploiting their guests.
The Taverna Grill was closed all the time during our stay and the main restaurant buffet dinner was something you might want to avoid if you have the desserts.... The glasses at either end of the desserts section with some form of sweet filling had little flies around and on them with a couple of unwelcoming ants to add to the flavour. I told one of the restaurant staff who promptly took them away but didnt bother to go and check out the other end that had the same thing......we avoided the desserts
The late night bar staff on the 5th floor really didnt seem as if they wanted to be there. No greeting, smile or any other pleasantries.
Its a shame there are a few things that let this hotel down......dont get me wrong i would stay here again but they need to address a few issues. The hotel was clean, the place was nice. the view from my balcony was lovely but sadly lacking a rating of 5*.
PS The steak restaurant ( cant remember the name of it....sorry) was fantastic. (directions...out of the main door to the main road passed the Red Lion Pub...turn right and its over on the left hand side...glass front with a stuffed cow in the doorway lol...honest)

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first before you un-pack
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrustedTruthReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We booked a superior twin with sea view. The room was excellent in every respect as was the hotel and facilties in general. The only disappointment was that the Taverna Grill a la carte restaurant was closed. The main restaurant for dinner was buffet style and apart from the first evening we gave this a miss. A shuttle bus to Funchal would have been a nice touch. Funchal is only about 15-20 minutes walk but coming back includes some heavy uphill walking. However taxis are plentiful and cost 4 - 5 euros one way

Room Tip: go for sea view as a minimum. Think twice about Pool view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bucksventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We opted for a hotel-appartment. 5 times a week our app. was thoroughly cleaned. Twice a week the blankets got changed.
The kitchen was rather basic; you can't prepare elaborate dinners. The app. was spacy, but you could notice some ageing items. Air-conditioning was oké. We had a magnificent view of the ocean right in front of us.
For nice meals we recommend the restaurants in town; the hotel restaurant was average but quite expensive.
Visit Funchal, the old town. It has so much to offer: museums, beautiful scenery, some nice shops as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 814Watchdog814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We found this hotel to be in an excellant position overlooking the sea and within easy walking access to Funchal. The rooms were comfortable, clean and well furnished. The pool area attractive and relaxing. The breakfast was excellent. We did not eat in the hotel other than breakfrast as we found restaurants nearby to be good and a better value. Our room was facing the road which we found to be a little noisey during the day if sitting on the balcony but O.K. at night with the doors closed. If you wanted a quieter room it may be better to have one facing the sea, but I believe these were more expensive and as we were only there for a week did not want the extra expense. Staff were very pleasant. I would definately recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwinorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Well location is superb the suite was superb overlooking both the pool and the ocean,another bonus very few children everything was as expected having stayed before the only surprise was the poor service at breakfast,tables not cleared and in some case the staff not particulary helpful but I am assuming this to be a one off so generally very good.Pool area always clean as with the hotel in general.

Room Tip: Corner junior suites excellent views ,roomy and sunshine all day long
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mervyncutting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
1.5 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,818 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Property: Pestana Carlton Madeira
Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, no 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#28 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Carlton Madeira, one of the most lively hotels in Madeira, enjoys a privileged setting in Funchal, at the top of a slope on the island of Madeira, providing fantastic views over the bay of Funchal and the sea. This luxurious and charismatic hotel in Madeira is a reference point for any visitor to Madeira, due to the excellent conjugation of a family atmosphere with the sophistication of its excellent installations. Once you are in the hotel, you will find at your disposal a wide range of services you can enjoy, including 3 leisure areas. In the Garden Pool, you will find a heated saltwater outdoor pool and a swimming pool for children. In the Atlantic Pool, there is a salt water outdoor pool with access to the sea and an indoor pool with Jacuzzi, relaxation rooms and bar. The Magic Spa offers an indoor heated swimming pool with sauna, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, gym and treatment rooms. To promote the cultural gastronomic diversity of Funchal, this 5 star hotel in Madeira has 3 restaurants and 3 bars, with excellent views of the Atlantic Ocean, with a variety of flavours that will satisfy the most demanding tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Prestigia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing