We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Carlton Madeira
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Madeira(Funchal)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pestana Palms(Funchal)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$521
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$505
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Suite Hotel Eden Mar(Funchal)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,525)
Filter reviews
2,525 results
Traveller rating
1,194
914
300
89
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,194
914
300
89
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatlantic poolgarden poolsea viewbuilding sitelovely hoteltime sharetea and coffeesalt waterold townjunior suitebuilding workbed and breakfastsea watergreat facilitieshalf boardbig hotelpool towels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,141 - 1,146 of 2,525 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

First time at this hotel. we usually stay at the four star pestana village and have always found it great. This is part hotel and part timeshare. We stayed in the timeshare. Rooms not available until 3 which was a bit inconvenient. Had to pay 50 euro's on arrival for utilities, which we did not know about. The rooms are dated compared to the hotel rooms. Views amazing. we stayed in a studio which was a good size. Had breakfast three times in the hotel which were lovely. There is a small shop across the road to purchase provisions, but there is a larger shop if you turn left out of the hotel, past Reids about a ten minute walk. The chalet restaurant opposite is lovely. Not alot of information provided on arrival and hotel and timeshare guests get treated very differently. Timeshare guests have to pay for poolside brollies, no dressing gowns provided which hotel guests do get, charged for gym useage and the list does go on unfortunately. I would return but not on timeshare.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Owner,
Thank you very much for your feedback about your recent stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
All your comments benefited of our best attention and we apologize sincerely for the inconveniences caused. We also take this opportunity to advise you to please establish contact with your representative who will do her/his best to assist you on your next stay.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Its difficult to fault this hotel really, in the sense that it has everything. Its not an intimate hotel and we've been to much more luxurious hotels, but it has everything you need. The most important thing I think is the night's sleep. So, the bed was comfortable, king size with the biggest and softest pillows we'd encountered. Air-conditioning was not intrusive, and there was little noise from outside. So we slept well. The staff weren't intimidating, can be snooty sometimes, not here. Outdoor pool area was beautifully beset with luxuriant flower displays. Pools were very inviting. Lots of other facilities, too many to describe here. If there was a fault, we thought the restaurant resembled a canteen at breakfast, but then what should we expect: lots of people trying to get what they want all from the buffet all at the same time. Mind you that improved as the terrace restaurant became available on dry warm mornings. Super location, nice walk either way to Lido or Funchal town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank King_of_America_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guests,
Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
We were delighted to read your very positive review about your recent stay with us. It gives us a great happiness to read that you have appreciated the services offered. As mentioned it is an enormous benefit to have the opportunity to enjoy the breakfast outside by the veranda, with good weather while enjoying the sunshine and the fantastic views.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here 7th-14th April in the RCI timeshare apartments. We only had a studio but there was plenty space for two of us. The views from the balcony are to kill for (directly over the sea) and possibly better than from the main hotel building. All the hotel buildings are spotless and well maintained. The pools are superb, the top heated pool was preferred in April and on gloomier days the inside pool was fantastic. The cabanas with views out over the sea were very comfortable and the giant jacuzzi was great! The walk to Funchal is 10 minutes downhill from the hotel and is a really nice walk past the casino, parks, restaurants and shops. The area felt really safe with locals still out jogging at midnight. The Lido is about 10 minutes uphill in the other direction and is also a great walk. Don't miss Qasbah restaurant 5 minutes past the Lido, they had the best food we found all week (went twice for dinner), the service was superb and the views are great (right on the water). The hotel is in my opinion in the best location possible between the Lido and Funchal and you can watch the cruise liners docking and departing from your balcony. I have uploaded a load of photos of the room and kitchen facilities including the size of the fridge freezer as I couldn't find any before I left. One last thing, there's a Spar 20 seconds from the front door of the hotel that is well stocked. If you want to do a bigger shop, walk into Funchal turn left then right when you see H&M (at the bottom of the hill) and you will find a big shopping centre, there is a proper supermarket on the ground floor, stock up for the week there and you'll save a fortune!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cameron8595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Owners,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your superb review.
We are delighted to read that you have had a wonderful stay with us enjoying all the facilities and one of the best locations in Funchal.
The detail of your review provides a very accurate feedback giving other travelers the opportunity to choose this hotel also for their future stays.
We look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Staff are friendly and helpful. Hotel is very relaxing and comfortable. Rooms need attention to the "high-level" cleaning - there was dust on the shelves/ledges
The shower is pitiful with little pressure - they tried to adjust it but it wasn't much improvement.
Pools are lovely - would be good if lower pool was restricted to adults only - after all there is a kids' pool at the top area.
Sunbed "reservation" needs STOPPING. People were putting towels down in the morning and then disappearing until mid-afternoon!
People attending the restaurant at breakfast time need to be properly dressed - no men in vests!! It is disgusting that the hotel standards are being lowered by some people dressing inappropriately. Nobody wants to see hairy armpits over breakfast - and no football t-shirts either! FFS it's not Benidorm!
The hotel needs to have a dress code and ensure people adhere to it!
Restaurant is too expensive so under utilised - I never saw anyone in it at all
Pool bars are too expensive too

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shakespeare076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your review in Tripadvisor.
Firstly, we would like to apologize for falling shortly and for the faults mentioned on your report.
Thank you for your warning about the sunbed "reservation", the pool assistants do their best to prevent it from happening but it is sometimes more difficult to succeed. Regarding the clothing the hotel directory includes a point about this subject specifically and there are also flyers inside the lifts to advice our dear guests about the clothing as well.
We have also read your opinion about the pricing in the bars and restaurant and we are very sorry for your disappointment.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Recently got back from a weeks stay at this hotel. Firstly do not go expecting a 5* it is more a 4*. Having said that the staff were friendly and welcoming. The hotel is clean. We paid extra for a sea view room which I'm glad we did otherwise we would be looking out at the road. The bed was a king size bed and had a good bathroom. A big plus was the tea & coffee facilities in the room, free on arrival but a small charge for a top up. There are 4 pools of a good quality, 2 indoors and 2 out. There is a spa and gym. I had 2 spa treatments which I enjoyed, they do have special offers on some days for set treatments so do ask before booking.
Food.... Breakfast, the usual buffet, nice except they never quite get the bacon right do they!
We went half board for ease but were very disappointed! the first night we ate in the buffet restaurant, asked to be moved as we were sat right next to the dirty plates and sound of plates being scraped! They were happy to move us, the food was just ok but not really enjoyable. If you are half board you can always choose to eat in The Pub, the food here is freshly cooked and much nicer. Other options are The Tavern a la carte, nice but it is the same menu every night, it was also quite dark. The pool bar serves lunch, you can swop and eat here if you wish, again cooked fresh and tasty.
Wi Fi is free but you can only connect on the Reception floor, the one above and below, not ideal if you want to catch up by the pool, I think you can upgrade at a cost, cables can be used in the room but no good for tablets.
All in all this is a nice hotel in a good position but I would probably go just B& B. There are restaurants nearby.
A little note about the sunbeds, we went at Easter and they were always plentiful even if you went down later in the day:) not sure what it would be like in the summer.
The local wine according to my hubby is excellent! Forgot to say the TV in rooms were of very poor quality.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a sea view. Other rooms face the road.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear guests,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review. Achieving quality and or guests' satisfaction is our daily goal, therefore it was with great concern that we understood that we did not manage to fulfill your expectations.
Good notice of all your comments has been taken in consideration and we will do our best to improve.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews