We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Ranked #29 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I just returned from a tour of Portugal, with a three day stay in Madeira. We had a room on the 9th floor, overlooking ocean. Room was beautiful and large. Bathroom was really nice and great amenities. It is a bit of a walk to town, but very doable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foodieoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guests,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind contribution in Tripadvisor.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again, possibly for a longer stay giving you the chance to benefit of all the facilities that the hotel has to offer.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,072
    797
    250
    80
    18
See reviews for
486
1,358
57
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Good hotel, good location, friendly staff but...the maids who clean the rooms and the turn diwn service always seem to be banging on your door. Turn down is nice but at 6pm when ur getting ready for dinner or relaxing after a busy day sightseeing u just want peace to enjoy ur room! In the morning u get wakened at 8.30 by the maids wanting in to clean. When u ask for them to come back later they mutter under their breath. Strangely they left us with no toilet roll one day and took away the glasses that were in the room and replaced with a mis matched pair. Weird. ... The food is excellent breakfast us so relaxed. We're b&b but ate one night in the dining room. It was adequate. Beware the 'options' sellers tho they will take 2 hrs of ur life ull never get back. It is timeshare and they will try and get u to part with £5300 for 91 nights over 10 yrs. The new bit is nice but cmon its not necessary to pressure ur guests who've paid for their hols into time share options that u may or may not get ti use! Hotel is lovely but a choice of the carleton anf the cliff bay which is similar price and has nucer rooms ans IS 5 STAR stay at the cliff bay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TwinkleyToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guests,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guests’ satisfaction is our daily goal, therefore with was with great sadness that we acknowledged that we did not manage to fulfill your expectations totally. Good notice of your remarks has been taken in good consideration for improvement and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Good location, good service, clean room and bathroom, a safe free of charge. But very disappointing is a fact, that they charge the clients for using hotel car park (between 50 and 80 cents depend on time of the day). I think that 5 stars hotel should not do that. We were using parking places on the street near hotel free of charge between 8 pm and 8 am. During the stay we had only one dinner in hotel restaurant. The food was good but we were put off by the prices of the drinks (1 pint of beer + 1 glass of white wine – 10 euro).

Rooms seem to have paper thin walls. We heard neighbours talking and snoring.

Overall it was not unpleasant stay thanks to very friendly and helpful staff, but we expected more from 5-star hotel. If we come back to Madeira we will probably try to find something else for the money.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view room (bit more pricey, though) as the mountain view ones are exposed to very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
We always try to keep our hotel up to the standards expected by our dear guests, sadly we did not manage to fulfill your expectations, for which we apologize sincerely.
We hope sincerely to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future and manage to make it better.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland united kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

First visit to Madeira and loved it.We had a front pool and sea view on 3rd floor which was just perfect.Large bedroom and exceptional loungers on balcony.Staff very helpful especially Lisbeth who showed us round the hotel on first day and seemed to be there when you needed her .Restuarants on the doorstep or a stroll round the corner.Short walk to the town.Breakfast was really good.Sunbathing on the lower ground was so quiet and peaceful.
We hope to visit this hotel again and have recommended it to family.

Room Tip: would upgrade to seaview most definately,well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizsib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guests,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel thanks you very much for your excellent report.
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and your feedback is for us very important. We are sure that your review will also help other travelers considering coming to Madeira to enjoy a nice holiday.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Where do I start this is an old folks home.everything shuts at 6pm table tennis can't get to gate closed to games room tennis shut even tho floodlit gym shut pool shut . you can get a drink if you want to pay extorinate prices 4 pound for a bottle water. The reception staff are rude pick up phone when talking to them totally indifferent and unhelpful. The place is massive impersonal and a maze not for those with bad legs. Good things. Clean, spacious that is about it. They want to charge for every extra however small. Choice of restaurants if you pay extra, top up the and coffee supplies in room for 6 euros per day the list goes on. We were given a room on front which is noisy from traffic too noisy to sit out even on 14th floor. We tried to move but were told would be 50 Euros per day no apology or sorry. The reception staff have no idea what customer service means and need educating big time. However will say food is good up to now but no doubt that could change.
Sorry about this as the pool is lovely and views from the pool overlooking the sea are lovely. Just the staff which spoil it

Room Tip: Seaview a must def not at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your recent stay with us.
We feel very sorry for not being able to fulfill totally your expectations.
Good notice of your remarks about the pricing and the staff has been taken and we will do our best to improve.
If you plan to visit Madeira again, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Lovely hotel with panoramic views of the sea and the famous Reid's Hotel.
Upper floors are very high up so if you have Vertigo or have problems with heights I suggest you request lower floors...on our balcony on the 17th floor was scary!
Hotel a little dated but has all the facilities and is a very good standard and very clean
Well positioned within walking distance of Funchal,but beware it is an upward climb back!
Fortunately taxis are everywhere and reasonable.
Disappointed that hotel did not provide a courtesy bus.

Madeira we found to be beautiful and the flowers and jacaranda trees gorgeous.
The climate is sub tropical but very comfortable.
Funchal itself provides shopping,lovely cafés to people watch and a harbour.
The cable car and tobaggon ride is a great experience

Good places to eat..
Mamma Mia.....Italian
Solar da ajuga.....steaks cooked by yourself on a stone,3course meal...excellent value
Resteraunt chalet right opposite hotel
Would definatley go back to the hotel and the resort,temperatures apparently do not go below 15 even in Jan/Feb!

Room Tip: Lower floors if have problems with heights
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cheryl j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback about your recent stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel. We are very glad to read that you have appreciated the wonderful views that we have to offer. Sadly we did not know about your sensitiveness to highs and you have been given a room high up. We feel very sorry because if we had known we would have given you a room on a lower floor, or we could have changed you during your stay. Please let us know before hand of your return so that we can organize everything accordingly.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at the Pestana Carlton for a week over Easter 2014. Although I believe this hotel is the oldest of the Pestana Group you would never know it from its condition. The hotel was spotless, the room, which overlooked the pool and sea, was large with a huge double bed, settee and very long dressing table, plenty of storage, the balcony wasn't large, but certainly was adequate and the bathroom very well equipped.

Our week was bed and breakfast so I can't comment on the lunches or dinners, but the breakfast was very good with a wide choice of food. The location is ideal as it is only a relatively short walk into the centre of Funchal, downhill going and uphill coming back! Lots of public transport and taxis everywhere, so even if the hills get the better of you there is always the easy option of bus or cab.

The staff were very good and always willing to help, we were always greeted with a smile and a helpful response to any questions we asked. The room maid always left the room immaculate and replenished what ever was necessary, although disappointingly, for a five star hotel, if you required further supplies of milk, tea, coffee or sugar, you were expected to pay extra for it.

The only real irritation was the Pestana Holiday Club sales pitch, we listened to a session on our first day and on the way back from a hotel, they asked us to visit, we were approached twice more and nearly three times until the young lady realised we had "been done"! Most days we saw couples being escorted to a round hall where the pitch was made and within the grounds potential members were being shown around. It was annoying to hear our part of the hotel referred by the salespeople as not the best part, considering we had paid to stay there it wasn't what we wanted to hear.

We might have been interested, but we never really found out the true cost of a week's holiday and the big turn off was to be told that membership was £7,500 on that day, but if a later decision was made, on another day having thought it through, the price rose to £8,400! This kind of pressure selling is not really what one wants on holiday. It might be a good scheme, but we were switched off.

Overall it was a good holiday in a nice well maintained hotel, convenient location, a good sea view and very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RK987654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your review in Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed a nice stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
We take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenienced caused by the Vacation club, that feeling it is not at all what we want to transmit to our dear guests and we were very happy with your rewarding words addressing the staff which are very much appreciated and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
1.5 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,821 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Property: Pestana Carlton Madeira
Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, no 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#28 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Carlton Madeira, one of the most lively hotels in Madeira, enjoys a privileged setting in Funchal, at the top of a slope on the island of Madeira, providing fantastic views over the bay of Funchal and the sea. This luxurious and charismatic hotel in Madeira is a reference point for any visitor to Madeira, due to the excellent conjugation of a family atmosphere with the sophistication of its excellent installations. Once you are in the hotel, you will find at your disposal a wide range of services you can enjoy, including 3 leisure areas. In the Garden Pool, you will find a heated saltwater outdoor pool and a swimming pool for children. In the Atlantic Pool, there is a salt water outdoor pool with access to the sea and an indoor pool with Jacuzzi, relaxation rooms and bar. The Magic Spa offers an indoor heated swimming pool with sauna, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, gym and treatment rooms. To promote the cultural gastronomic diversity of Funchal, this 5 star hotel in Madeira has 3 restaurants and 3 bars, with excellent views of the Atlantic Ocean, with a variety of flavours that will satisfy the most demanding tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing